Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.29

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2013
Firstly, there are numerous reviews of this book in comparison to volume one(Brightest Day, Volume One) By Johns, Geoff (Author) Hardcover on 07-Dec-2010 and two Brightest Day HC Vol 02 here, and mostly non-favourable, but I think they're a bit harsh. This event works much better as one book split into three volumes than three seperate books. I don't think you can review it properly as three different items. I would say volume one rates a 5, volume two a 4 and this one, volume three, a 3 - but that makes the whole 'event' a 4!!
Yes, the set ups are flawed, yes it's annoying that all those characters ressurrected don't seem to have a purpose or even feature here but there is alot here that you don't get everywhere else. There is good characterisation, Deadman, Aquaman, and Mera especially. ( I didn't want to like the new Aqualad - as I was a Garth fan - but the background works well and enriches Aquaman's backstory.) The artwork is glorious throughout.
No, it's not panel for panel greatness and by the abrupt ending there seems little point in alot of the storyline but it is very enagaging and I'd be quite happy to recommend the entire tale to anyone who likes what can and should be done with super-hero comics these days, but buy all three volumes and read them together!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
arrived super quick and as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This volume reprints Green Lantern issues #53-62, and is a continuous story guest starring Sinestro, Star Sapphire, Lobo, the Flash, the Justice League, the Spectre, the Red and Orange Lanterns, various Blue and Indigo Lanterns, and Dexter the cat. Not all at the same time, I hasten to add. Basically, Sinestro returns to Earth looking for the White Lantern revealed at the end of the Blackest Night, and teams up with Hal Jordan and Carol Ferris to search for it. They discover that there is a new player in the War of Light, and he is collecting the Forces powering the various Lanterns, Parallax, Ion et al. Hal is taking part in this search without notifying the Guardians, who he no longer trusts, a feeling they reciprocate, and there is a trailer at the end of the volume for the next one - War of the Green Lanterns. I don't know how this all ties in with the Brightest Day event itself, as I have not yet read it. However, this is an excellent stand-alone Green Lantern volume with a well-connected story and superb artwork.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
...(see what I did there?!) can't help but feel alot of readers may be disregarding the 'pre-New 52' DC stories as there was such a sea-change, but, the GL mythos haven't really changed that much and all of this continuity still stands (I think?).
Regardless - these are fantastic issues, a grandiose plotline, a huge cast of well-defined characters and a coherent story. (Although I'm not sure the link with the 'Brightest Day' event is actually that strong.)
The spectrum of lanterns and characters are one of the greatest developments in comics for decades and although I keep wondering if they can keep things fresh - they do!!
Credit should also go to the production of these trades - if they were Marvel they'd be in at least two, if not more, collections, - there are loads of reprinted issues here so a good lengthy tale to be immersed in.
The preview of the next volume Green Lantern War Of The Green Lanterns TP (Green Lantern Graphic Novels)is blatent - but welcome. Get it. Then go on to the 'new 52' stuff. Recomended.
33 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
This novel takes place after the events of the Blackest Night and it probably my second favourite GL novel after the Sinestro Corps War. First of all, you do not need to read the main Brightest Day books to understand this one. Hal Jordan is once again forced to work with the leaders of the other corps to try and find out who is capturing the different emotional entities. Whilst this book contains less action than the previous GL novel, the story is fast paced and there is still plenty of action to go around. The events of this book continue in War Of The Green Lanterns. I recommend this novel to any and all GL fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
This book is definetly worth a try, the storyline is great, very enjoyable, the characters are likable and funny when needed, the art is fantastic, it’s good to look at. I recommend this book to anyone who loves comics or just interested in getting to know the genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
Awesome comic with some captivating stories and fantastically drawn scenes that any dc comic fan would appreciate and happily spend the money on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Good read, great illustrations. Good read for all green lantern fans. Recommended. Has re read value as well. A+ awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
Great read bringing in some exciting characters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
This book is definetly worth a try, the storyline is great, very enjoyable, the characters are likable and funny when needed, the art is fantastic, it’s good to look at. I recommend this book to anyone who loves comics or just interested in getting to know the genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here