Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
77
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 28 September 2017
Great all the way through. All the hits
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2017
Granddaughter loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
Love this cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
good cd.great songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2017
hot very
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 9 February 2016
INTRODUCTION:

English-Irish recording girl group, The Saturdays, have released five studio albums, one compilation album, two extended plays and eighteen singles. The Saturdays were formed in 2007, consisting of Frankie Sandford, Rochelle Humes, Una Healy, Mollie King and Vanessa White.

CONTENT:

This Greatest Hits CD, released on August 11, 2014, reached #10 in UK Album Chart. There are 20 songs (with 3 new tracks). I have compiled a detailed song listing (with label & number, chart position & album source):

01 What About Us (featuring Sean Paul)(Polydor 3731842)(UK 1/2012)*from album Living For The Weekend.
02 Higher (featuring Flo Rida)(Fascination)(UK 10/2010)*from album Headlines!
03 Ego (Fascination 2727784)(UK 9/2010)*from album Wordshaker.
04 All Fired Up (Polydor)(UK 3/2011)*from album On Your Radar.
05 What Are You Waiting For (Polydor)(UK 38/2014)*new
06 Up (Single Mix)(Fascination 1785660)(UK 5/2008)*from album Chasing Lights.
07 Forever Is Over (Fascination 2720426)(UK 2/2009)*from album Wordshaker.
08 Issues (Radio Mix)(Fascination 1794029)(UK 4/2009)*from album Chasing Lights.
09 Disco Love (Polydor)(UK 5/2013)*from album Living For The Weekend.
10 Notorious (Polydor 2773938)(UK 8/2011)*from album On Your Radar.
11 Missing You (Fascination)(UK 3/2010)*from album Headlines!
12 Work (Radio Mix)(Fascination 2707835)(UK 22/2009)*from album Chasing Lights.
13 Not Giving Up (Radio Mix)(Polydor)(UK 19/2014)*from album Living For The Weekend.
14 30 Days (Fascination 3701596)(UK 7/2012)*from album Living For The Weekend.
15 808*new
16 Gentleman (Polydor)(UK 14/2013)*from album Living For The Weekend.
17 If This Is Love (Radio Edit)(Fascination 1771961)(UK 8/2008)*from album Chasing Lights.
18 Walking Through The Desert*new
19 My Heart Takes Over (Universal)(UK 15/2011)*from album On Your Radar.
20 Just Can’t Get Enough (Radio Mix)(Fascination 1799707)(UK 2/2009)*from album Chasing Lights.

POSITIVE POINTS:

1 This is a great collection of Sats charted hits, plus 3 new songs.
2 The song is wonderfully produced and remastered: crisp, vibrant vocals with good instrumental backing tracks; good bass.
3 There is a nice 12-page booklet, with one page dedicated to each member, with their original signatures. There are also many beautiful colourful pictures of the group.

NEGATIVE POINT:

1 No lyrics.
2 I was hoping all the songs are Single Mix. Just a personal preference.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

This is a fine collection of pop songs by the Saturdays. The songs are catchy and all charted hits. The sound is wonderfully produced. This set is recommended to all Sats fans. The last line in the booklet by the girls is “Up is where we go from here!” Let’s hope so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
EXCELLENT GR8EST HITS CD - NOT A BAD TRACK ON IT.! WOW THESE LADIES ARE SOMETHING SPECIAL AND THEY CAN SING AS WELL - MY FAVOURITE BEING RACHELLE WHO HAS A VERY DEEP IN YOUR BOOTS VOICE.!
FROM HIGHER - UP.! THIS REALLY IS AN EXCELLENT GR8EST HITS CD.!
AND THE ACCOMPANYING DVD (TOUR EDITION) IS TRULY ACE.!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 March 2016
Since their debut in 2008 The Saturdays have released 18 singles, 13 of which have hit the Top 10, and 5 albums. Their latest album Living For The Weekend was released last autumn and peaked at number 10 in the charts. Now less than a year later the group are releasing their first greatest hits collection Finest Selection: The Greatest Hits which was preceded by new single What Are You Waiting For?

The Saturdays have turned out some strong pop hits in their time and Finest Selection is actually a pretty cohesive and poptastic collection of songs. Opening with the group’s only number 1 single so far What About Us featuring Sean Paul, the collection cycles through all of their singles and throws in a handful of new tracks too.

As a singles band The Saturdays have been pretty consistent with each song matching the quality of their last. Over the past 6 years the band has discovered that their fans don’t really care for ballads instead preferring more uptempo numbers that marry electronic-beats with shimmering pop melodies. Highlights on the collection include the mighty Up, the chunky dancefloor sound of Notorious and the futuristic pop of All Fired Up.

For a while it looked like The Saturdays were going to be the next big girl band and natural successors to Girls Aloud. Their 2008 debut album Chasing Lights hit platinum but every album after that has struggled to make much of an impact. The girls have opted to enter into the world of celebrity rather than concentrating on their music with brand endorsements and celebrity boyfriends getting more column inches than their music.

I love this CD - just proves what an under-rated band they are
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
So The Saturdays, arguably one of the most underrated pop acts of our time, release their greatest hits, and as a fan who has been there from the very beginning, to see them this far down their career really makes me feel proud to be part of Team Sats. This album has all 18 of the girls singles and, say what you like, you can't deny that some of these tracks really are an integral part of British pop music. Here's my track by track review of each song...

"What About Us" - To this day i still don't know why this is their best selling track, yes its a good song but by no means is this their best track. However i do have to say that the last 30 seconds or so of this song fill me with euphoria each time i hear it. Sean Paul really fits in well with this track, i give it a 7/10

"Higher" - This is the song most people regard as The Saturdays best song, and i have to agree. Although for me its not THE best single, its definitely up there. From this song the wider public learnt each of the girls names through Flo Rida's verse, and the song in general is just completely pop. Also for me, this song probably has one of the best opening lines to a song; 'I'm doing nothing' - love it! - 9/10

"Ego" - This is another pop classic, one of their best selling songs and the chorus is probably one of their catchiest yet. From one of the most underrated pop albums ever 'Wordshaker', this song, along with the first 2 tracks on here, is what The Saturdays are going to be remembered by. = 10/10

"All Fired Up" - Produced by the powerhouse that gave us pretty much all of Girls Aloud's tracks, Xenomania really work their magic on this song; so catchy, so dance-able, so everything- a real gem. = 10/10.

"What Are You Waiting For" - Now this song just baffles me. At the time of writing this the song has had a peak of #38 in the charts which is a complete and utter crime - i just don't understand why so many people hate this song! Yes it uses a lot of auto tune and yes the girls lack individual identity in it, but to me i just think its brilliant. I understand that this is a pretty generic song but its not meant to be game changing- its just meant to be a good dance song. I truly love this song and its probably my 3rd favourite Saturdays song, a well deserved 10 out of 10.

"Up" - Their second single and another absolute classic. Annoyingly catchy but undeniably good, this song also gets a 10/10 for me.

"Forever Is Over" - Although this song nearly got to number one, i feel like this song is where it all started to go wrong for the Sats - they became a mismanaged mess after this song which is why i feel they haven't reached their full success. A good song at the time but after a few years just sounds a bit naff now. 5/10

"Issues" - Rejected from radio at first after they thought 'slap' sounded like 'stab', but after a radio mix that tweaked a few lyrics and gave a bit more oomph to the song, its another catchy classic. Also, Una's middle 8 in this song is one of her best performances vocally. a solid 8/10 for me.

"Disco Love" - thankfully this song was adored by a lot of radio stations, this is one of the girls latest hits and rightfully makes its mark in the girls discography. Although this video is a bit cringe i liked the idea of what they were trying to do with it, again an 8/10.

"Notorious" - With one of the best dance beats, and probably the girls best lyrics, this song really is one of my favourites - well done girls - 10/10 well and truly.

"Missing You" - I don't know why i just really am not a fan of this song. My least favourite song from the girls - although a lot of fans and the wider public like this song, it just doesn't do it for me. Also Frankies voice is butchered at the beginning of this song - was going to give is a 3 out of 10 but i'll be a bit generous with it, 4/10.

"Work" - My. Favourite. Song. i love it. i just love it. Its so good, so catchy, so powerful and so so so criminally underrated. Thankfully the girls know this is a fan favourite so they don't just forget about it. Not even just my favourite Saturdays song, this is one of my favourite songs of all time, cant get enough of it. 100/10.

"Not Giving Up" - It seems to be a trend that the best Saturdays songs chart awfully, but this song is my 2nd favourite. Accompanied by probably the best video the girls have made, this one is a proper dance floor number. so good. so blooming good. 10/10.

"30 Days" - An oddball in the girls discography as it came so soon after "On Your Radar" but so far away from "Living For The Weekend", but none the less a great club track. With great lyrics that i think the girls can actually relate to. This one also has a great video and all the girls look stunning in it. another 10/10.

"808" - Is the second new song on the album after 'WAYWF' and, although its a bit generic, i still like it. it has a bit of an anthemic feel to it and i really love Rochelle's slight rap verse after the first chorus. A good, solid track - 8/10.

"Gentleman" - Such a love/hate relationship with this song. Half of me loves it and half of me hates it. the first 2 and a half minutes are great but the rap section towards the end of the song is just a bit unnecessary and a bit cheesy to be honest. I still think this song was such a random song for the girls to release after the success of 'What About Us', but i do respect them for actually being bold with releasing this song as the follow up single. Despite my love/hate relationship, this song has one of the best lyrics ever; "he already had the milk so why would he go buy the cow" Been debating on what to give this song, but i'm going to settle with 7/10.

"If This Is Love" - The debut single. Loads of fans love this song but to me its just a bit average. Not much to say on this song but a respectable 6/10 for me.

"Walking Through The Desert" the last new song on here and wow, its such a good song. Such a different direction for the girl and again this one is really anthemic - i hope this is a direction the girls with delve deeper into on their next album. 9/10.

"My Heart Takes Over" - Sigh - again a brilliant song that was underrated. Probably the girls best vocal harmonies on the chorus and such a powerful ballad. i hope the girls respect this song as much as the fans do - 10/10.

"Just Cant Get Enough" - The girls first cover and, although its not amazing, its a fun, bouncy song that is a great way to close the album. Also one of their best selling songs. just a catchy little pop song, andi give it a 8/10.

So there we have it, The Saturdays thus far. At the time of writing this the girls have stated they have a new album coming out later in the year, and with Frankie taking part in this years Strictly i really hope they get some good promotion and success from her appearing on the show. Nearly 8 years down the line and i know the end of the group is probably in sight by now, but i really do hope these girls go on for quite a few more years as i do love them.

Thanks for the music Sats.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 September 2014
Looking back on my review that I did on here for The Saturdays' first album, 'Chasing Lights', back in 2008 - and indeed a lot of their other singles and albums since then - is a revelation. Not least because at each new release, there's been something of a question mark at each new milestone in their career.

When they first started out, it was whether the public would want them with Girls Aloud and Sugababes already releasing records and being adored by all (which they did). After 'Just Can't Get Enough', their 2009 Comic Relief cover of Depeche Mode's classic and post rave ballad 'Missing You' failed to reach the top, it was 'Will they ever get a #1 single?' (which they finally did with last year's record breaking and brilliant Sean Paul collaboration 'What About Us').

And with each new album - which for them, sales wise have always sold faithfully to their devoted fans like me but precisely few else - it was 'Will they ever have a greatest hits album?'. Well, it's now 7 years on and that, ladies and gentlemen, is what we have here with 'Finest Selection'.

Their critics like the snotty reviewer above have often looked down on the ladies for being so utterly poptastic as they are, and for continuing to do such straight ahead pop music, but they say that as if it's a bad thing. To suggest therefore, this collection is a fluke is a massive insult when really, they've sustained a long career in a music world that sees 'The X Factor' make idols and chart topping singles overnight, with everyone else Twerking and being 'controversial' for controversy's sake to shift the most albums.

With all their singles here for the first time on this album, you realise not only how superb their canon of hits are, having evolved from the bouncy infectiousness of 'Up' and 'Higher' through to the sophisticated dancefloor thump of 'All Fired Up', but how very consistent they've actually remained.

Even with diverges off into rock ('Forever Is Over'), acoustic ballads ('Issues') and even Neneh Cherry style tongue twisting raps (last year's blinding and vastly underrated 'Gentleman'), they have always kept their pop sensibilities about them. Continuity is what has kept them going for as long as they have.

As I've often said time and again, they know they're not the cool kids on the block. They know what they are and they never pretend to be anything else. It would perhaps do their detractors the world of good to get hold of this album and realise this.

The Saturdays have achieved and continue to achieve more than they will ever probably get credit for, pretty much off their own backs. This greatest hits is a testament to that. Long may our weekends continue to start early!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Ten
£5.74
Wordshaker
£3.71

Need customer service? Click here