Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
11
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2001
If you haven't got any Stevie Ray Vaughan's albums and are considering buying something by him, then this album is a very good place to start. Stevie Ray's vocals and playing shine throughout this eleven track cd. Stevie had the amazing ability to play solo and rhythm guitar virtually at the same time; he could play a few notes and hit the spot way down deep compared to some guitarists who couldn't achieve the same effect with a thousand notes! His depth of passion in his playing and singing brought new life to blues music, for a good example listen to 'Change It' then go out and buy the cd. I'm quite sure that having listened to this album you will want more of Stevie Ray Vaughan. Recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
Its almost 23 years since Stevie Ray Vaughan was tragically killed. I am sure were he still alive everyone would know him and he'd be the legend he should have been. All of these tracks are sheer class, everyone of them shows his brilliance, as a singer (and WHAT a fabulous voice), an amazing guitarist, blues guy and musician. Double Trouble his band are equally admirable. This is blues and guitar as it should be, played with soul, feeling, emotion and abilility. None of these tracks are turkeys, they are great, whether they would have remained his greatest, I doubt, he was destined for much bigger and certainly would have produced even more greatest hits. As he's gone, this is what we have. This album and Volume 2. Just enjoy them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2000
For many, this CD will be a SRV "taster" one thing you can gaurantee, buy this and you *will* come back for more.
The ledgend that is Stevie Ray Vaughan just keeps getting stronger, we lost him just as he was headed for big things but the legacy he left behind is as powerful, tender, emotional and touching as it was when he left us 10 years ago.
The CD opens with his larger than life take on the Beatles Taxman, this is the only track which doesn't appear on any of his other CD's.
From the soul touching "Life Without You", the footstompin' "House Is A Rockin'" or Stevies trademark classic Texas shuffle "Pride & Joy" you have a fantastic taster of his wide range of material.
Buy it now!
If you've never heard him play, buy this CD, then when you've listened to it, go and buy Live At The ElMacambo (DVD or Video) and experience what it's like to get goosebumps when a little guy from Texas gives all he can for his art.
(Okay, so I like the guy!)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
For a beginner to the music of SRV & Double Trouble, you could do no worse than buying this CD of some essential tracks.
Personally, in this age of extra tracks on a CD, the record company could/should have included more music on the disc.
In todays world, Greatest Hits CDs are knocked out regularly from 'here today, forgotten tomorrow' artists. Stevie Ray deserves the respect and admiration he was afforded in life and tragic death, and I think the record company should have a long look at themselves and re-release this excellent album with some extra tracks.
Its no less than the great player deserved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2008
I have only recently started listening to Stevie R V and all I can say is that I've so been missing out. If anyone is unsure which album to buy of his I can highly recommend this one as he is at his peak on this album. His musicianship is brilliant and his voice is oh so sexy!! The world is a poorer place without him but at least his music lives on. Joe Bonamassa is a close second to this guy but I'm sure Joe would agree with that too. Every track is fantastic but for me he excels on Pride and Joy, he uplifts the soul and for me that is the purpose of music:)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
Really? Everyone else said it. This is a great intro into this man's music. Great album. Great guitarist. Great music. Crank it up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
What more can you say....it's Stevie Ray Vaughan! How could anyone not be impressed by this. Good value for money too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Can do no wrong for me..great music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
blues rock great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Good stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£2.99
£4.38

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)