Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
139
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2003
As much a fan as I am of the great man, I think that it's hard to justify record companies continually releasing 'new' material years after Tupac's death.
The standard has dropped, there are no doubts about it, so to remember the man best, this is the greatest single purchase rap fans can make - especially those new to Tupac Shakur.
Surely the greatest rapper ever, this double album contains almost all of his best songs to form a greatest hits album that blows away all those pretenders to his throne.
Lyrically, he's never been bettered, but it's the range of emotion in his music that really sets him apart from the rest.
Whether he be mourning the loss of a friend in 'How Long Will they Mourn Me?' or singing about his love for his Mama (old softy at heart) he conveys real feelings throughout.
This is exemplified no where better than in the closing track of disc one 'Hit em Up.' This startlingly charged rant aimed at former friend Biggie Smalls has more genuine menacing hatred in five minutes than Eminem has come up with in three albums.
All his crowd pleasing favourites are here, including 'California Love,' 'To Live and Die in LA' and the sublime 'Changes.'
Even devout Biggie and Puffy fans, if they're honest, will have to agree that this is trememndous stuff.
11 comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
I had to send this album back because I've had this album before years ago and gave it away and never replaced it so when it came and found out the swear words censored out which found frustrating it's only this country who have albums like this censored so I've reordered it Imported from Japan on amazon and every word 2pac chats about is on there
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2001
2Pac's Greatest Hits is a 25 track collection of songs recorded between 1990 and Tupac Shakur's untimely death in September 1996. All the good ones are in there, all the way from his early days at Amaru Records right the way through to his title of 'biggest selling name in rap'at the infamous Death Row Records. From the balladic 'Brenda's Got A Baby','Keep Ya Head Up', and the US number 1 'Dear Mama', which express the slain rapper's more caring and sensitive sides, to the more aggressive and controversial 'Hit Em Up'(a personal tirade of abuse on Biggie Smalls, a man whom he believed had him set up for a shooting a year before he recorded the song with the Outlawz), and '2 Of Amerikaz Most Wanted'(a flamboyant and cocky collaboration with fellow Death Row associate Snoop Doggy Dogg), the album shows constant lyrical brilliance and backbeat flow. Although most of these tracks are indeed the greatest hits, i feel there are a couple missing. Both the rebellious 'Holler If Ya Hear Me', and the reminiscant 'Pour Out A Little Liquor'are missing from the selection, which have made way for suspect non-released material such as 'God Bless The Dead', and 'Unconditional Love'. But minus the somewhat questionable track selection from the Amaru/Death Row production, they do have the classics. The collaborations with KC and Jojo in 'How Do You Want It'and 'Toss It Up'are superb, as are the two possibly most popular works of his, 'California Love'with Dr Dre, and 'Changes', which are all included. Perhaps another arguable addition to the double-CD compilation, is 'Heartz Of Men', a track produced by DJ Quik which to me fails to meet the standards of the other cuts on the album. 2Pac : Greatest Hits would be a 5-star album if some of the track selection was slightly altered, and the constant posthumous releases such as 'R U Still Down (Remember Me?)'and 'Until The End Of Time'had not contained songs which may have overshadowed some of those on the greatest hits. But overall, Greatest Hits is brilliant and brings onto one collection the greats from the albums '2Pacalypse Now', 'Strictly 4 My N.I.G.G.A.Z', 'Thug Life'(the superb self-entitled album from Tupac's first group, from this album, the emotional 'How Long Will They Mourn Me?', a heart-felt tribute to his deceased best friend Kato, and group collaboration with Mack 10, Warren G, and Nate Dogg, was lifted onto the Greatest Hits), 'Me Against The World', 'All Eyez On Me'(Tupac's first Death Row album and the album from which the most tracks are lifted), and 'Makaveli Tha Don Killuminati : The 7 Day Theory'. This album far surpasses the Notorious B.I.G's 'Life After Death'effort, and is a must for all Tupac Shakur fans and rap fans in general
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2003
Ok maybe not EXACTLY because how can you fit the best of pac on just 2 cds! This is the album that made me buy all of his albums,
i already owned all eyez on me but this album showed me pacs range and how there was no limits on his ability as an artist.
With unreleased tracks from the deathrow period and some of the best of his early work this album is a true gem, it got me hooked and ive never looked back.
Take my advice, if you dont own it, buy it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2003
2Pac is an extraordinary rapper, but also a very versatile one. His albums range from deep (The 7 Day Theory, Better Days) to gangsta (Still I rise)
To get the best 2Pac experience, you should buy this CD first. It has a whole range of songs, so you can see which style of Pac you like best, and then go out and buy the other album that fits in with that style.
The best 5 songs on this album are:
Life Goes On
Hit em Up
Brenda's Got a Baby
Changes
All about U
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2001
This cd is a must have for any 2pac fan, westcoast rap fan or just an overall rap fan. This cd lives up to its name because it DOES have 2pacs greatest hits. The first, slightly milder cd (until hit em up) contains all the moving, meaningful tracks such as Unconditional Love and Life Goes On. After listenin to these great moving tracks there is the Bad Hit Em Up song which is 1 of the best on the album. After this, on the 2nd cd, it starts with the unreleased ''Troublesome '96'' which is a real gangsta track. this is followed by such classic 2pac tracks like ''Brendas Got A Baby'' and probably the most famous ''Changes'' These songs show 2pacs softer side which is great. There are the other unmissable tracks on this album suchas ''How Long Will They Mourn Me?'' and ''heartz of men''. Overall I think this album is great for any rap fan, apart from if you like Notorius BIG and Puff Daddy - U might get a little offended. Anyhow, BUY THIS CD NOW!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
I always fancied some Tupac, so thought I would try this greatest hits package. Not disappointed in the slightest. He was right up there years ago. Possibly the best artiste of his genre. The commercial stuff never sounds like a sellout. Good stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2001
probably the greatest collection of tupac's finest works.the album isn't just a collection of tunes made so Suge Knight can put a bit more money into his own pocket from the "shakur estate", but it shows the times,trials and tribulations of the worlds biggest martyr.his good sides with "dear mama" and "unconditional love" and his bad-ass side with "hit'em up", probably the best tune on the rack. R.I.P. Pac, watch'ya back Suge Knight 'cos Pac is back for ya'ass !!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Everything came as ordered no problems but the rating goes to the cd not the seller the seller send it off perfectly just its more of compilation album some lovely tracks however I am a Tupac fan but do sometimes skip tracks listen other ones on other days
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2006
i bought this album a few years back and i still love it to death. what could be better than tupacs greatest songs on one album?he was the ultimate rapper that everyone would like to be today (ja rule for one). greatest songs on here are hit em up feat. outlawz (this is the ultimate diss song, cant get better than this), troublesome 96, life goes on (i want this played at my funeral) and 2 of americas most wanted. tupac didnt need the best production and flashy features his unique style, lyrics and flow were enough! R.I.P.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)