Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
48
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2016
I had great expectations about this book, they weren't disappointed. Over 40 of London's most beautiful palaces, mansions and town houses in a 300+ page book. Great paper quality, excellent photos, a must for any exterior and interior architecture lover and discerning connoisseur of London.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Great Houses isn't just about the great houses of Lomdon it includes noteworthy houses of the professional classes too. Great palaces and mansions of the aristocracy and the nouveau riche yes, and the more domestic houses of artists, architects etc. This book addresses a gap in the literature, their country bretheren and well documented but the houses of London have been strangeley neglected.
The history appearance of each house is briefly described the illustrations are gorgeous If you enjoy interior design magazines or just riffling throught the property pages of Country life, you'll enjoy this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
I recently bought this book for an Australian girlfriend of mine who was visiting the UK. I loved it so much that I bought a copy for myself as well. It makes me proud to be British!

The book has been very well researched with beautiful photographs. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading about some of our lesser known buildings within the capital.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Our company Luxus Häuser Group uses the book to get information about great houses and the book is fantastic. Some of the images may have been over cropped, but everything else is fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2016
Fantastic read, the pictures are beautiful, it's made me want to go and visit some of these homes that are open to the public. Some don't look that hugely spectacular from the outside but what treasurers within! Perfect book to dip in and out of when you have time. Well worth the money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
I used to live in London in Kensington high street and one of the houses featured was actually right across the street from my flat and I,ve always wondered what the inside of these beautiful houses around the city would look like.Thanks to this wonderful and informative book we get to see beautiful and imposing architecture dotted around London as well as a glimpse of their equally beautiful interiors.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
This is an expensive book but well worth the money if you are interested in great houses. The photographs are brilliant and the text throws a fascinating light on the history of each house. It is surprising how many great houses there are in London and this book allows us to see inside many houses which are never open to the public.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
Utterly brilliant. If you have ever looked up at some terraced façade on a dark London afternoon and seen through its first floor windows the ceiling of a mighty chamber - and wondered who lived there, and who built it, and what paintings hung there - this book gives you your answer; Great Houses of London opens up those locked double doors and guides you around with scholarly comment and underplayed wit.
Everyone will have their favourites, but I especially loved the dwellings of the Duchess of Marlborough, the Italian Ambassador, Richard Rogers and Jimmy Page. There are scores more, including a magnificent Nazi creation on the Mall, the Archbishop's hammer-beamed palace in Lambeth, and the achingly lovely Whitehall rotunda (now a government office) where Byron seduced Lady Caroline Lamb. This book is - in every sense - a tour de force.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
A magnificent volume, by far the best of its kind I've seen (and I've seen a lot o them) with several unexpected gems as well as the usual ones which have already been covered well enough. Engaging, informative text and really superb photography by the best man there is for this kind of thing. A coffee table book which deserves to be read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
It's a great book but giving 3 stars because it arrived with one of the cover corner bent, really annoying when I have to see it on the coffee table..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)