Kindle Price: £4.68
includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
The Great Disruption by [Fukuyama, Francis]

The Great Disruption Kindle Edition

3.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£4.68

Length: 368 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Kindle Monthly Deal
Browse a new selection of discounted Kindle Books each month. Shop now


Product description

Amazon Review

Francis Fukuyama cements his reputation as a wide-ranging public intellectual with this big-think book on social order and human nature. Following his earlier successes (The End of History and the Last Man and Trust), Fukuyama argues that civilisation is in the midst of a revolution on par with hunter-gatherers learning how to farm or agricultural societies turning industrial. He finds much to celebrate in this cultural, economic and technological transformation, but "with all the blessings that flow from a more complex, information-based economy, certain bad things also happened to our social and moral life." Individualism, for example, fuels innovation and prosperity, but has also "corroded virtually all forms of authority and weakened the bonds holding families, neighbourhoods and nations together." Yet this is not a pessimistic book: "Social order, once disrupted, tends to get remade again" because humans are built for life in a civil society governed by moral rules.

We're on the tail end of the "great disruption," says Fukuyama, and signs suggest a coming era of much-needed social reordering. He handles complex ideas from diverse fields with ease (this is certainly the first book whose acknowledgements thank both science-fiction novelist Neal Stephenson and social critic James Q. Wilson), and he writes with laser-sharp clarity. Fans of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel and David Landes's The Wealth and Poverty of Nations will appreciate The Great Disruption, as will just about any reader curious about what the new millennium may bring. This is simply one of the best non-fiction books of 1999. --John J. Miller, Amazon.com

Book Description

This is a book about social values in an information age.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 4188 KB
  • Print Length: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Profile Books; Main edition (15 Jun. 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0711M5BWW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #919,099 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


2 customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

28 September 2000
Format: Paperback
8 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
17 January 2000
Format: Hardcover
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.5 out of 5 stars 22 reviews
Rion
2.0 out of 5 starscontradictions
18 January 2002 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful.
David Thomson
5.0 out of 5 starsFrancis Fukuyama Seems To Have One Hand Tied Behind His Back
9 October 2000 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful.
Kindle Customer
4.0 out of 5 starsFukuyama does it again!
3 June 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?