Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
23
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2013
This book's magical, really enjoyed it. all the old fashioned fire brigade stuff and the camaraderies is great. But the other bits are fun too. love the way malcolm gets into part-time building work by telling his new boss he knows what he's doing when in fact he is just reading a Readers Digest building book and giving it a go. Hilarious!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
Having already read Great Bales of Fire I was keen to read this follow up and it doesn't disappoint. It picks up more or less where the first book finished, time has moved on a bit, new girlfriend for example, but all the other characters are still there. It really does give an insight into the life of a fireman and he does a pretty good job of selling Shrewsbury as a good place to visit. Hoping for another book soon...l
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
I adored this book. I kept turning the pages and couldn't put it down, and yet I didn't want to read it too fast and get to the end. I read Malcolms first book "All fired up" twice through and will probably read this one again quite soon. These two books are the best and most amusing I've read for a long time, whilst giving an insight into the dangerous, gruelling work the fire fighters do. Well worth reading. Thank you Malcolm, keep them coming.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
As with "All Fired Up" this tells the story of life in a county fire service of the day.
They got on with the job and applied experience, compassion and humour as and when it was required; some times in equal measures.
If you want to know how firemen extended a helping hand to those who needed it most, this is a book to read........
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
This was an excellent follow up read from the first book " All Fired Up " Not only was it amusing,but also moving in parts and conveyed a picture of the times and area where Malcolm Castle spent and worked for so many years. Will there be another in the series ? I hope so.
Danbury.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Amusing andwell written. Not my normal type of book but it kept me amused after a life partly spent chasing fire engines as a reporter
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Great book , enjoyable reading ! Hope he brings another one out , I'm sure he will !
Could relate to it being ex fire service .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
A really true to life well written book. A must read for anyone interested or associated with the Fire Service. Well done Michael.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2016
This is the third in the series and I have enjoyed every one! Absolute page turners. There is a great mixture of humour and wit coupled with interesting snippets on the workings of the fire service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Absolutely brilliant, hilariously funny, one of the best books I've read for a long time. Come on Winsor, we want more books!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)