Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2013
This book is stunning.

Ok so I'm not necessarily going to be able to complete more than a handful of the adventures in my lifetime, but the inspiration to just travel to the places is enough. The photography makes my mouth water and my feet itch.

I bought this for someone else for Christmas....I ended up selfishly keeping it...it is that spectacular.

For those drizzly days when you're lying in bed wondering what to do next.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 January 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a beautiful coffee table book but to me it was little else.
I love Lonely Planet's guides but I think they have horribly missed the mark with this one.
I get that it had to be visually stunning - which it is, and the photographer side of me loves it, but the adventurer side was left disappointed.
The author really cannot be serious in suggesting most of these trips to joe public. I think anyone would be immensely lucky to achieve any of these let alone trying to achieve all.
It is a shame but at least the photography makes up for it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 December 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you're interested in travel and/or travel photography you'll love this book - printed on high quality paper it is a large "coffee table" type book.
There are 9 chapters - Hike, Dive, Bike, Above and Below, Climb, Ice & Snow, Animals, Water and Drive all with suggestions for the armchair traveller.
There are the easily do-able* (for the UK resident) such as "Amble England's South West Coast" from "Hike", "Mountain Bike Coed y Brenin" from "Bike"and "Row the Thames" from "Water" right up to the real wilderness exploits such as "Walk with Wolves in Yellowstone" from "Animals" and "Climb Volcanoes in Kamchatka" from, you guessed it, "Climb".
What makes this a bit different from other, similar, books is that at the end of each piece of writing there is an "armchair" suggestion which gives further reading or viewing suggestions. There are also suggestions on what time of year to go and essential tips on survival in some of the more inhospitable regions of our world
This would make an ideal Christmas present for anyone interested in travel and photography (the photos are amazing)especially as Amazon are currently selling it for half the recommended price.
Five stars without a doubt

*perhaps that should really read "easy to get to"!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Lonely Planet's Great Adventures is a sumptuous and one of the most exciting travel books in print that I have managed to see. The pictorial plates are vivid, colourful and grand and you get over 300 large sized pages, almost all of which are breath-taking. However, some of the places depicted are of some of the most difficult places to get to in the world.

Those of you who are budding athletes this is probably the ultimate bucket list. There are hill-walking, diving, biking, mountaineering, boating, wild rafting, rowing, and driving adventures and much more. The images here are some of the most beautiful in the world, it makes any non -couch potato want to try every single one of these adventures. But don't be intimidated by these temptations, which few in some cases are costly or physically impossible, this terrific book also has a list of books for your further enjoyment for each of these adventures peoples. This book is not just for the coffee table, to impress visitors but rather pure eye and mind `candy'. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
When I started to unwrap this book I wasn't sure what to expect - an expedition guide or a pictorial travel book. In my opinion this is the sort of book you could use to whet your appetite for a particular type of expedition (it is arranged into chapters - Hike, Dive, Bike, Above and Below, Climb, Ice & Snow, Animals, Water and Drive). The coup for Lonely Planet is that once you've got your inspiration from this book, then, you'd probably buy one of their more detailed guides to the region concerned. Great Adventures caters for a wide range of possible ambitions from an "amble" in the UK to climbing volcanoes in Russia. The book covers a spectrum of "realistic" trips as well as the sort of the expeditions you'd mount if you are a fit lottery winner.

However, even for those who can't, or, don't want to travel, this book represents a real experience in itself - the photographs, locations and information/advice are blended into a universally appealing cocktail. I struggle to think of who wouldn't treasure this book.

Few books I have opened have left me with such an immediate sense of awe and a realisation that some volumes will always triumph in printed form (even over a Kindle HD version) - this is one of those books! Great Adventures is an ideal gift book for a wide variety of recipients, or alternatively, a self indulgence and who knows where it may lead you? A real credit to the Lonely Planet brand and highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 November 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a sensational book that is a delight to behold. It would make a fabulous Christmas present for just about anyone. The large format sets off the inviting text, tantalising subject matter and the amazing photographs to perfection: for each character and image looks as if it has been painstakingly placed. The fine printing, gorgeous paper and quality binding make this not only a book to treasure, but also one to display with a wonderful tactile feel and permanence that no tablet could hope to match. Several of the hundreds of fantastic photos it contains are worth the cover price alone. One tiny niggle is that a book of this size and weight should have cardboard corner protectors in transit.

The promise in the introduction of a lifetime of adventures is not a hollow one and there is a vast array of types of activity, of destinations - both near and far - as well as a cornucopia of helpful suggestions; that it would indeed take a lifetime to even dip into. More than this, however, the book is a window or a placeholder for exciting and imaginative trips that will move many irrevocably from their usual 2 weeks on a sandy beach. Even more than this - the book encourages us in the expectation that such trips are perfectly feasible - even if our surnames are not Fogle or Attenborough! Indeed many of the trips are offered with a 15% discount on the accompanying website.

Crucially, just leafing through is an adventure in itself and its pages will not only inspire you, but also amaze: even if you are not able to afford a holiday. Still more precious than any of these things is the fact that the book demonstrates the vast array of delights, of beautiful places, of wildlife and of experiences that await in often quite near and unassuming places, without spending a fortune in order to bring it about: for, ultimately, once we begin this pathway we can see what delights there are, available to everyone, and all we have to do is to open our eyes in order to see them. A book like this is a perfect first step in showing us how. With many thanks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 December 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Lonely Planet have a knack for producing great coffee table books that make your feet itch and your wallet worry. With 'Great Adventures' this wasn't the case for me. 'Climb Mount Everest' is one of the suggestions of the LP team - an adventure that would require a great deal of risk, would require a great deal of preparation and which only a handfull of people acheive around the world. Many of the adventure follow suit, with suggestions that hardly seem achievable much less affordable. Unfortunately, for me, this book is more about fantastical daydreaming than inspiration.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 March 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Having already owned Great Journeys, Great Adventures follows much in a similar vein covering Hiking, Biking, Above & Below (covering canyoning, paragliding, caving and hot air ballooning), Climbing, Ice & Snow (skiing, ice climbing etc), Animals, Water (white water rafting, windsurfing etc) and Driving through the world. Each adventure fills 4 pages with map, experience needed to be able to take part, details on length/heights, when you're best to go and tips. There are full page pictures which of course from Lonely Planet are absolutely stunning.

From the Armchair section it gives information on books or films that the destination has been used. Similar to Great Journeys I would say it's not practical enough to rely on the information given alone to organise a trip but it does introduce you to places you may not have considered making this a great coffee table book. The animal section isn't enough for a wildlife lover to consider buying for this alone but for someone who likes to travel and take part in more thrilling experiences then this is a great introduction to make the most of the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 November 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A large glossy coffee table guide to 75 "Great Adventures". These range from the easily do-able , "Caving in England's Peak District" and "Amble England's South West Coast" to "Find the Source of the Oxus" in the remote northern corner of Afghanistan and "Climb Mount Everest", which will probably not be done by many readers of this book. About 4 pages are devoted to each of the 75 adventures, with a map and an "Ideal Time Commitment" to give you a realistic idea of how long the adventure will take. There is a "Best Time of Year" advice section as well as some boxed text titled "Essential Experiences". There are also lots of lovely Lonely Travel photographs. This book is aimed at a more adventurous traveller than most of these glossy coffee table travel books. A lot of the places in the book will be hard to get to, and will involve roughing it when you are there, but there are a lot of ideas for anyone who wants an active holiday far away from anyone else. The book covers most of the planet, and all the usual activities, so there should be something for everyone - providing they are prepared to be adventurous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 January 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Hike
Dive
Bike
Above & Below
Climb
Ice & Snow
Animals
Water
Drive

Do any of these pursuits appeal to you? Then this is the book for you, as Lonely Planet continue to expand their coffee table range of books with another sumptuously beautiful publication. As with previous titles, this has the capacity to take both the armchair traveler on a wonderful adventure while at the same time giving inspiration for those that can afford to make their dreams a reality. A large sturdy publication that gives a wonderful overview, this like other titles in the range, will not give you all the gritty details that the "pocket sized" LP's will but certainly does an awful lot to make you want to get up and go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)