Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
11
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 11 August 2017
some torn but overall it's good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2000
Like Wood's book, Old Turtle, this story is more for adults than for the children they'll read it too - the illustrations (a different illustrator) are beautiful, using soft autumn watercolor tones to illustrate grandfather as he speaks with his grandchild about nature, spirit and the connection all people have to one another.
Essentially this is a book about loss, dying and eternal life. It can be a beginning point for a discussion with older children (ages 8 - 16 or so) who have experienced a loss of any beloved friend or family member.
If I had grandchildren, I'd want to have the hardcover book available for them to read. The book is written to offer room for people of nearly any faith (even agnostics) to begin a discussion the meaning of life and dying.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2000
I read this book five times in the first week I borrowed it from a library. It has a lot of depth and is appealing to different ages. My 9 year old read it out loud and really enjoyed it. I run a junior church and the way it explains prayer in all it's different guises was one of the best I've read. Also how the grandson is helped to cope with the loss of his grandad is beautifully explained. The illustrations are very special too. This is definitely a book to buy and would be a lovely gift.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2000
This book is truly one of a kind. The illustrations alone are worth buying it for - they are immediate enough to appeal to young children and detailed enough to appeal to older children and adults. The book explores the relationship between a boy and his grandfather as they discuss prayer in its many forms. It is a book to appeal to all religous traditions as it is ecumenical. It also sensitively explores the subject of death and rememberance. I found the book deeply moving - yet it was simple enough for my 4 year old son to enjoy. Worth ordering even if you don't have any children to read it to!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Beautiful illustrations and touching story just right for those special moments with the grandchildren.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 1999
This beautifully illustrated short story for children conveys the thoughts and feelings of a young boy exploring the subject of prayer with his grandfather. The subject is approached in an ecumenical way and, despite being an atheist, I found it profoundly moving.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
A beautiful, thoughtful book - a place to think about prayer that connects with nature, and deals with loss.
Gentle,simple,liberating. I don't know of many books like it.
For those with traditional faith, or not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2017
I ordered Granddad's Prayer of the Earth because I knew it and passed on information to two others who were equally impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
i got this for my friend as she had lost her copy. Came on time and was very much appreciated. Its a lovely book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
A beautiful book. Helpful for those (especially children) who have suffered bereavement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse