Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
11
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Map|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2012
A very detailed map with helpful scaled ruler to measure distances. It shows all roads and was very useful for navigating in the car. It also shows walking paths but do beware, Kompass maps in this area can be a bit random with their hiking trails. Some are very accurate but some that are marked just don't seem to exist. We spent quite a while looking for one and have seen this on other islands so do use in conjuntion with a local senderos trail guide that you can get from tourist information offices. Nevertheless, lots of other details are shown like contours, swimming places and so on so it is very useful and I would always have a detailed map for hiking and general specific navigating. There is an information pack on the island that comes with it but only a German version so only passing use if your German is not up to scratch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
I use this for hiking on Gran Canaria. The map is pretty good for roads, moderately good for footpaths - I would rather rely on GPX tracks - but tends to fall apart with use. Mine is now covered in Sellotape repairs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
Seems to be a very handy and useful map to have showing all the topography and routes on the island. Hopefully will come in to its own when we start our walking trip in a couple of weeks but has been a useful reference to have in planning our walks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
It arrived in good time. The map is well detailed but is on quite fragile paper. After a week it was starting to tear. The accompanying guide was probably good but was only in German.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2017
Not detailed enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2011
This is the only 1:50,000 map currently available in the UK for walking holidays on Gran Canaria, and I don't think there's anything larger scale anywhere.
It is recommended by Rambling Roger in his most excellent online walks guidebook.
It's a lovely clear map, nicely presented, too, in a plastic wallet with a separate ruler card for estimating distances, and a nice little pocket guide book...in German.
I think the map is ideal. The place names on the map are in Spanish of course, and the Map Legend is in five languages including English, so you won't get lost!
Why can't the publishers make an English version, with an English guide book, though? That would be the icing on the cake.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
The Latitude markings are incorrect. From 27 Deg 48 Mins they rise by one instead of 2 minutes per mark.
The manufacturers are aware and may correct this with the next edition.

Also - the latitude marks on each side of the map do not match exactly - a problem if you are hiking.
The map is nice and clear - but beware if you are using GPS for accurate navigation.
The datum used on this map is very unusual and the map may well not be North-up!
If you value accuracy give this one a miss!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2010
The map was the only one I could get to use with my gps for walking around the island. The english ver being impossible to get hold of. Once gps set up to the units used there it was excellent. No prblem finding the tracks with it but the road signs (or lack of them)in Gran Canary are the main problem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2010
This map is very useful for walking in Gran Canaria. All the trails in Gran Canaria are well marked with signs and the map highlights most of these. I would recommend the sunflower Walsk iin Gran Canaria. There is a short guide to gran canaria that comes with the map but it is all in German.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2011
Best Map I've seen of the island. Mountain bike routes and walking trails are clearly marked which is a big bonus. Watch out for some of the cycling routes that are marked on the coast road which is very busy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)