Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2002
An album often maligned for not being as raw as her debut, or as melodic as 'Pearl', it really is far better than given credit for.
Great tracks like 'Try' and 'Maybe' are excellent pieces of songwriting, and her voice conveys more emotion than either of the other albums. You really feel that this is a low point in her life, but a high point in her career.
Big Brother guitarist Sam Andrew stayed around for this album, and gives a more raw edge to it than the other more polished musicians.
If you've been told that 'Cheap Thrills' or 'Pearl' are better albums, don't believe it - all 3 albums stand on their individual merits, and this one can certainly stand with its head held high beside the other two.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2000
Whenever people talk of Janis's three studio albums this one always gets its wrists slapped. It is such a departure from Cheap Thrills that the purists/snobs were never going to give it a chance.
However, this record is packed with great, sassy songs and in the change of style you can hear her transition from the early Janis into the later Pearl.
If Aretha Franklin or Tina Turner had put this record out it would have been hailed as a classic, but because it was straight-ahead funk/soul it's unsurprising that it disappointed the psychedelic crowd who had given her her first break.
Good As You've Been To This World is amongst the best things Joplin ever recorded, and Little Girl Blue is potentially her very finest work.
It's different, yes. But it's a stunning soul record in its own right.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2002
This album is full of brilliant, passionate heartwrenching songs. I especially like the fact that there are different musical styles used (blues, stax, straight ballad, rock etc). The first track sets the mood.....'Try a little bit harder' rocks with the best of them!! The band catch fire and so does Janis - big time (Play it loud!!)- vocals that send shivers down yer spine..The next track 'Maybe' is just as good (for anyone who doesn't believe Janis was a great singer, should listen to this - it showcases her dynamic vocal range perfectly)..The same can be said for Kosmic Blues, Little Boy Blue and Work Me Lord..
I'm not keen on the bonus tracks but they don't count really for me(I like to hear albums the way they were meant to be)..
What's very strange is that I've never read a good review on the Kosmic Blues album, apart from the customer reviews on this website (which are very encouraging). I understand that Rolling Stone panned it when released in 1969, mainly because of the 'intruding' brass section? Even though 'Rock bands + Brass' were fashionable that year (Doors/Soft Parade, Stones/Let it Bleed etc)...
Truly representative of the best of Janis Joplin, I would make 'I've got dem ol' kosmic blues again mama' your first purchase if you don't already own a Janis Joplin CD....
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Joplin's debut may perhaps be described as a glorious marriage of bluesand soul. Don't be mislead by the original psychedelic album cover - thisis not the acid-rock Janis. She turns the Bee Gees' To Love Somebody intoa wrenching torch song, an at times restrained, at times desperate, butalways brilliant rendition. The arrangements impress throughout,especially in the complex and moving As Good As You've Been and KozmicBlues. Another favorite of mine is Maybe, where she out-souls ArethaFranklin. It may not be as accessible as "Pearl," but this albumnevertheless amply rewards the listener and reveals another aspect of thismistress of the desperation blues.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
this lady got some lungs on her this album was for me the truist of her three studio albums maybe is such a great track to love somebody is awesome the base on that is mouth watering little girl blue could be singing about herself? work me lord at the end just so amazing all three studio albums should be part of anyone music collection but this piece of music is the best its just so blues so soul god bless you janis!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Listen to this album and then tell me that JJ couldn't move you to your soul! I think that 'Little Girl Blue' is the finest performance Janis ever put on record, it's so deep and beautiful. 'Try (Just a little bit harder)' swings and rocks like crazy. 'Maybe' features some of Janis's most magical flights into her high-register. 'Work Me, Lord' is the record to put on when you're feeling like you're having a 'Long Dark Night of the Soul', the closing moments are absolutely wrenching. JJ might have been having some of her hardest battles with drink and heroin at the time, but on this album she pulled out performances any singer would have been proud of.

Rolling Stone repeatedly panned Janis throughout her brief career, then eulogised her to the clouds when she died. The review of 'Pearl' was respectful, whereas 'Kozmic Blues' got a huge thumbs-down.

But come on and give it a spin. I think you'll want to keep it and replay it. Let Janis tell it to you like it is - she still moves me to my soul!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Five stars say it all. If there were more stars to put a price on Joplin music there wouldn't be enough in the universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
everything went smooth !..cheers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2008
Slammed at the time by dopes like Ralph Gleason, Joplin is utterly brilliant throughout and the band smokes too. Unmissable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Excellent album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)