Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
8
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2017
great cd great service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2008
Justin Townes Earle may be following in his illustrious father's footsteps in becoming a country troubadour, but a copyist he is not. Opening this record, 'Hard Living' rather harks back to an earlier simpler era in country music history. The same might be said of 'The Good Life' 'What Do You Do When You're Lonesome' and 'Ain't Glad I'm Leaving'. Country the way Hank done it. Elsewhere, on 'Who Am I To Say' 'Lone Pine Hill' and Turn Out My Lights' for example, JTE adopts a more modern, Americana approach: lonesome, melancholy, plaintive. More in the vein of Jeffrey Foucault. He may not yet be the finished article, with a truly distinctive vision yet to emerge, but with 'The Good Life' Earle has made a thoroughly enjoyable start.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
JTE sings a variety of styles. From traditional hank williams style feel good songs,, with fiddles and pedal steel, to strong well crafted ballads in the steve earle/townes van zandt mould -whose influences are clear in his music. His voice isn't the strongest in the world, more jimmy dale gilmore. As townes would have said 'It's a delight'
Recommended if you are looking to try somebody new.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
I first heard of Justin Townes Earle from my son. Having heard him on Youtube I thought that Country wise this was as good as it gets. I'm a great fan of 'real' country i.e not rhinestone and along with Chris Richards it's good to hear new artists coming out with viable, thoughtful and interesting music in this genre.A beautifull and well crafted album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2010
Justin Townes Earle has great genes - not jeans - for music. As a career long follower of Steve Earle, I reluctantly sampled his son, expecting little. Brother, was I wrong. JT Earle is, like Dad, the real deal. He has had the advantage of the great father WHO ABANDONED HIM - so not only does he enjoy the genetic inheritance, he gets the real anger based on paternal rejection to fuel the fire inside.

I now have all three of his CDs and this debut is pretty damn good. It owes as much to Hank Williams and George Jones as it does to Dad or Townes Van Zant (his middle namesake), with standout traditional (in the best old school sense of the word) arrangements and production. Most of the tunes are competent, some are much better than that - like The Good Life, Lone Pine Hill (pure Van Zant), Lonesome and You and What Do You Do When You're Lonesome? In fact, lonesome is mentioned more than any other word on this record.

Justin's voice is lower and more powerful than his Dad's, but is strangely poor on a couple of tracks. Who knows? Maybe this recording was done in a rush? All in all, promises are made here and the rest of his limited canon deliver on at least some of these.

Not as great as Dad's opener, Guitar Town, but all in all, proper country stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2008
I really enjoyed this. It is full of well crafted, intelligent country songs, which establish the artist in his own right. Play it again and again, and it remains a great listen.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2011
Bought this after buying Harlem River Blues, this record seems much more basic and traditional folk. I really like it, and coming with a voucher for digital download is nice too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
Justin Townes Earle (JTE) has big shoe's to fill following in his Dad's footsteps and he fills those shoe's with ease! This album, his first full length is a real country gem. His voice is so suited to the music and his song writing ability is fantastic, great story song with "Lone Pine Hill" about the American Civil War, it wouldnt go a miss from any of his Dad's albums, in fact many of these songs wouldnt go a miss from a Steve Earle album! Being all of 26 years old when this album was released he's showing a lot of promise! Any country music fans who want something new check JTE out you wont be disappointed.

Highlights for me:

Hard Livin'
Who Am I to Say?
Lone Pine Hill
What do you do when you're lonesome?
Turn Out My Lights
Aint Glad I'm Leavin'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£13.59
£11.03
£10.67

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)