Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2003
Once again a fantastic source of information.
Just about every brewery in the UK that produces real ale in a bottle is here with details about the brewery and the beers in an easy to read format. The writing is informative without being anorak-y, a good size and a hardback cover means that this will remain a useful book.... until the next edition.
A real "must-have" for anyone interested in beer.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2004
This book makes you feel like a kiddie in a sweetie shop - so many fantastic beers and the only questions is "Where can I buy them?"
Written by Jeff Evans - an expert on real ale in a bottle - this book has the authority lacking from some other tomes on the subject.
It's only a year since I bought the last edition and the amount of change in the marketplace is phenomenal which made it well worth buying this one.
If you are looking for a present for someone who likes beer this is just the thing. The writing is clear and authoritative and takes the reader gently through the 600+ real ales available in bottle in Britain today.
Buy this book - you won't be disappointed.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2004
I wish I could get half the beers described in this new book from my local off-licence.
It's like reading a good cookbook - your mouth starts watering as you realise quite how many bottle conditioned beers there are available.
Another fantastic book from a really knowledgeable author.
Put that together with the fact it's from CAMRA and you know it's going to be good.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2004
Having bought and currently owning 4 years worth of these guides, I know what to expect in the new edition, but I got much, much more.
It's a fatter book, having good information about new programs that CAMRA have for bottled beers, and as usual, information about storage, and good tasting notes for most of the beers.
But, it also now features a proper international real beers section, albeit most of them are Witbiers(wheat beers), but there are a good number of other types thrown in too.
All in all, it's really triumphed over any other issue I own!
A Must buy for anyone either starting out in exploring Real Ale, or for any long time real ale enthusiast likewise.
PROST!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2001
Have you ever seen those funny bottle conditioned beers on the shelves? Fancied trying them, but know nothing about them? Well then, this is the book for you. Jeff Evans lists all the bottle conditioned beers available and gives detailed instructions on storage and serving temperature.
The book also gives an explination of how beer is bottled and the different tastes you can expect to meet. For a long time, beer has been neglected, while wine books are common place. This handy, pocket sized, volume aims to address the balance. Buy it, put it in your pocket and shopping for beer will never be the same again.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
A nicely written guide book this, with plenty of photos to tantalise the taste buds! (It's a shame you can't reach into the page and grab a bottle!) The book itself it a good size, not too big and fairly compact, and reviews are well written and balanced. I recommend this as a great asset for any budding beer collector!

A solid 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2009
This book runs through all the major "bottle fermented" beers, by type ,by brewery; and awards a number with a commentation.

Pictures of the lables appeared next to about 20% of entries, it would be better if this was 100%, but the size of the book ( and price )would go up.

Your main problem will be your inability to source all these beers that now look so appealing, as most are only available locally to the brewery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2010
Bought this, on request, for a bottled-beer enthusiast and serious officianado. He is not disappointed as it gives him a guide to beers worth considering going out of his way for. He may not always agree fully with the comments in the book but values its ability to 'guide', as the title suggests.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2005
I would really like to be able to recommend this book, as CAMRA does a lot of good work. However, I am disappointed by it for 2 reasons:
1) It covers only bottle-conditioned beers which (so we learn - one of the good features of the book) have yeast added after bottling (but before the tops are put on!). This means that many fantastic bottled beers (for example, those by St Peters) aren't included. CAMRA knows far more about beer than I do, but I think to exclude all cask-conditioned bottled beers out of principle means many excellent beers are being neglected. It also means the beers included all have sediment at the bottom, which I'm sure I'm not alone in finding difficult to pour.
2) The book includes all 600 bottle-conditioned beers brewed in the UK, so it can't really be called a guide. After all, it is extremely unlikely that all 600 are excellent and worth drinking. There are tasting notes, but they are too vague and generally too positive to be useful. I know taste is subjective, but I was expecting and hoping to be guided rather more.
11 comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
I was very pleased with the comprehensive coverage that this book gave me. It helped me learn more of what was on offer in the market and where to find it as well. The index is very good and I cannot wait for the eighth edition to be published.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)