Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Brit-Books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Simply Brit: We have dispatched from our UK warehouse books of good condition to over 1 million satisfied customers worldwide. We are committed to providing you with a reliable and efficient service at all times.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Golf and the Spirit: Lessons for the Journey Paperback – Illustrated, 27 Jan 2001

3.5 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
£0.01
Paperback, Illustrated
£12.50 £0.01
Audio CD
£108.00
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



60 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Pocket Books; New edition edition (27 Jan. 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0671037749
  • ISBN-13: 978-0671037741
  • Package Dimensions: 19.4 x 12.8 x 2.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,433,599 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Amazon Review

It is human nature to try and hit a golf ball as hard as you can and to look up while doing so. It is also human nature to be jealous, possessive, greedy, selfish, thoughtless and eager to the point of violence.

Part sport, part open-air struggle against the baser instincts, golf enchants and torments our sense of self like no other leisure activity--how often a gentle round mutates into a 18-hole prosecution of the soul.

Step forward, M Scott Peck--author of the bestselling self-help book of all time The Road Less Travelled--to offer a few pointers on your mental attitude. Resist the urge to beat him briskly about the face and neck with a lofted wood, because his Golf and the Spirit could change the way you think about the game forever.

Set over an imaginary round at Exotica Country Club--golf course of the mind--the book explores the mental machinations that lay behind your 10-yard drives and those occasional belters, finding ways to approach the sport that will have old hands and non-golfers alike eager to tee-off.

Long on developing the mental muscles to enjoy the game, and mercifully short on Americanised psycho-drivel, Scott Peck is a witty, insightful student of his own golfing strengths and weaknesses. If you're looking for advice on adjusting your swing plane for the short irons, look elsewhere. But if your most common post-shot reaction is an expletive-laden cry of anguish then this book could help put the fun back into golf.--Alex Hankin --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From the Publisher

THE FAIRWAY LESS TRAVELLED
THE FAIRWAY LESS TRAVELLED
In 1967 M. Scott Peck first took to the greens and picked up his putter. As he played golf over the next thirty years he grew to realise that the game was a spiritual discipline – an opportunity to learn about himself, his journey through life and one of the most wonderful, maddening, rewarding and inspiring games created by man.

In Golf and the Spirit, M. Scott Peck takes the reader round an imaginary golf course of his own devising – comprised of many of the world’s greatest fairways – while playing the greens he explores the history, lore and skills required of golf. Yet, he also explores the deeper issues behind the game, issues that colour and influence everyone’s life, golfer and non-golfer alike.

The front nine holes primarily explore the more physical and external challenges of golf, the back nine look at the internal, psychological and spiritual challenges of the game. The ability to understand anger and how to move beyond it. The capacity to accept and benefit from teachers. The need for competition if we are to thrive. The encouragement of civility to others and ourselves. The realisation that life, like golf, is not linear. Above all else that to experience the blessings of golf and life fully, we must accept the power of divinity that underlies all things.

Golf and the Spirit, celebrates the lessons that golf can teach everyone and makes a lasting contribution to the literature of golf and life in the tradition of Harvey Penick and Michael Murphy, creating an opportunity for transformation both on and off the fairway.

M. Scott Peck is an internationally renowned author, psychiatrist and lecturer on the relationship between religion and psychology. He is the author of the internationally acclaimed The Road Less Travelled, which has spent more than twelve years on the New York Times best-seller list, as well as twelve other works of spirituality, psychology and fiction. In his spare time he has played the fairways and greens of some of the world’s greatest courses. He lives in Connecticut, with his wife Lily. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 4 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 5 June 2001
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2008
Format: Hardcover
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2001
Format: Hardcover
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?