Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2015
More of an interesting or curious read rather than a good one - although it certainly isn't a bad book. The plot moves along at pace but it really isn't a convincing story. The pivotal moment when Goldfinger chooses not to kill Bond just makes no sense.

What makes it interesting is trying to fathom out what Bond is really all about as well as the added dimension of seeing how the book varies from the film. What makes it curious is trying to make sense of the sometimes subtle, sometimes blatant homophobia, racism and misogyny in the book.

It's the sort of thing that could make a good book club read; a good story and plenty to spark a lively debate. I think I'll propose it for the next Glasgow book club meeting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
The famous golf scene apart, which is a masterclass in sporting tension for those with even no understanding of the game, this is one of my favourites so far as I work my way through Fleming’s Bond adventures.

A truly unlikable villain, really well brought to life in all of his coldness, with some superb scenes of a criminal mind at sinister work and great descriptive writing of scenes and places.

This is gilt-edged Bond magic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
This happens to be one of my favourite Bond book. I don not normally read this type of fiction but the Bond character is s well present by Fleming that you get sucked into the world of super villains ploting to take over the world or hold it ransom. The thing about Bond is that he is larger than life and the story is also about a fantastic adventure that is larger than life so it works for all round.
He survives attacks that would normally kill any soilder and walk away with witty phase or joke. It all escapism as well fast paced writing that pulls you like river current so be warned do not dive in to Bond.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Being a great fan of the Bond movies, I decided to read through the novels in date order.
There is a big difference in the character portrayed on screen as to the character on the pages of his books. James is less self assured and does have his doubts to his self belief.
The story in this book is near enough the same as in the film, which might seem obvious, but in many of the books in the series all they have in common with the film is the title!
The writing style is a bit dated compared to modern writers, but that is no bad thing. The books pack in a lot of action in what turns out to be quite short books.
well worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Bond film fans should get around to reading these originals. It is easy to see why they were so successful. They move along at a fantastic fast pace. They must have been doubly engrossing in the fifties, before the huge technological advances of the last twenty years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
An absolute classic. This is where the books and the films seem to merge although this is still very different. The arc of the story of Pussy Galore may inflame a lot of people, however, it's important to remember when this tale was written. Not that it makes it right! That aside, some brilliant characters and situations combine to make a classic novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
If you haven't read the original books, then you are missing out.

Easy to see why they became such a success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
I am currently reading all of the Bond books enjoying every single one. There are two things that have made the books a joy, firstly they are absolutely of their time, unlike the films we are stuck in the 50's with everything good and bad about the era bought vividly to life. Secondly the plots are much more believable than the films with none of that space laser nonsense (Moonraker is a must read if just to compare to the rather bizarre film). Goldfinger has proved the only exception, the key crime at the heart of the book is so ridiculous that it takes the edge off the rest of the book.
Like a delicious meal with relatives you don't really like, phase out the conversation and just enjoy the atmosphere and the food.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Having seen the film over a dozen times, I looked forward to reading the e book. Fleming is an engaging author, plenty of detail and excitement, balanced against a good plot. Bond isn't as self assured in the print version of this story as Connery played him on film. The film makers made a few changes to the story, which make the book even more interesting to read. I will definitely read more Fleming, having dipped my toe in the water with this one. Highly recommended!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2016
Read this years ago and recently re read. Still as good and far more entertaining than the daft films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here