Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
30
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
28
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2016
I met Keith Jessop in Spain many years ago an became firm friends with the tough Yorkshire man and his wife Debby, but my opinion of the book isn't effected by this. It's a wonderful story, told in an open style that's very easy to read, and every bit as gripping as the title suggests, with plenty of twists and turns to keep the pages turning. The intrigue of Keith and the brave men who dived in the freezing waters of the Barents sea caught the attention of National Geographic who made a film about it. Don't miss out, do yourself a favour and buy this gem of a read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Really enjoyed reading this true like adventure story. Would like to meet Keith I was brought up just like him. Recommend this book to anyone !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
A fantastic read, you couldn't make it up! Hard times early on then diving for GOLD!! A really entertaining story, Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
Could not put this book down,written really well a must read .must find out if there's a follow up to see how certain people ended up,,
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2017
In the late 90s there were a number of epic scuba diving books around and Goldfinder was right up there at the top. I managed to get my hands on a hardback copy and still have it on my shelf. What a read, both above and below the surface and I am delighted to see that it is now a Kindle book too. Don't be put off by the low number of reviews. If Amazon was around when this timeless classic was published in 1998 it would have hundreds. This is a real blood and guts story that brilliantly captures that era and the remarkable deep water salvage attempt of the gold bullion carrying HMS Edinburgh. Highly recommended.

John Kean Author and Diver
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2001
As a diver, I had an immediate interest in the topic of this book and actually found it quite informative as to the ways of serious commercial diving. Keith manages to give a good humoured account of his life and indeed it made me laugh to myself on many occasions, there are some excellent anecdotes in here as well as a detailed and gripping retelling of the salvage of the Edinburgh gold. Some of the underwater potential incidents had me truly sweating with horror. Keith Jessop is a truly awesome fellow and I just hope he has managed to make his fortune with this book too.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 21 October 2002
an amazing book, Keith Jessops passion of diving and particuliarly wreck salvage, leave indelible memories.
the books balance is great, enough early details to establish his character, the book really picks up pace with the various wreck salvages leading up to the edinburgh, the background and research is well documented, as are the details of setting up expeditions for locating and then salvaging the wrecks.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2001
This book is a must for anyone with a love of adventure, the sea, or deep sea diving. It captures the hardships and the triumphs of a penniless Yorkshire boy who rose to achieve unimaginable success in marine salvage.

This book is well written, easy to read, and simply makes you want to keep on reading. I found it hard to put down. The ending cannot help but stir the emotions. Like a tale of fiction, this story has a twist to its tail.

Highly amusing and funny in places, but also with a serious side, it's clear why this book needed to be written. Read it and you'll see why.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/pdp/profile/A3O9V9SUYCKDX3/ref=cm_aya_pdp_profile
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2000
Yup, this book is a pretty good read.
I was in the dive biz for a long time (my wife tells me toooo long), and I bailed out of the offshore scene some 5 years ago. I've got a fair selection of books on Commercial/Offshore Diving and also Salvage Diving and I'm pleased to add Goldfinder to my collection.
I bought the original book on the Edinburgh salvage: "Stalin's Gold" which was an OK read, but after reading it, Mr Jessop didn't come over looking too good ..... and that is an understatement. The writer of that book (a Times' hack called Barry Penrose) clearly had a problem with Mr Jessop, and also some of the divers, and the Ship itself, and the rest of the ship's crew. Not forgetting the sinister Russians etc, etc... and it showed in what he wrote.
Anyone in the dive business at the time of the salvage couldn't help but pick up bits and pieces about this king of salvage ops. It was a really big deal. I knew just three of the dozen or so divers who were involved in the operation, and over 2-3 years following the salvage I got to hear what they had to say about it all. And it was quite a different setup to that written up in "Stalin's Gold".
Reading Keith Jessop's "Goldfinder" was a real pleasure, and sets the record straight on a number of points. Also Keith's earlier career makes for interesting, and occasionally very funny reading. His story-telling ability is a good as it comes when telling "sea-stories" about "the good-old-days" of the diving industry: when the North Sea diving business was very young and new, and every dive job was a bit "hit-and-miss", with work progressing in the usual "making it up as you go along" mode. For me, his stories about this particular time in the dive industry bring back some wonderful memories. Scary memories, but good memories...
And never forget what the guys on the Edinburgh salvage did: 850ft down in the Barents sea, diving from a very small, and by today's standards, very primitive Dive vessel, using oxy-arc cutting torches to burn their way into the Gold room that was full of unexploded ordnance ....
Hmmm, good stuff methinks. Just a touch hairy... just a touch.
The Edinburgh salvage was then, and remains now, the Ultimate deep-diving salvage attempt ever. And they succeeded. Heroes all...
Anyone interested in commercial diving, saturation diving, or salvage diving really should buy and read this book. It's a thumping good read written by a fellow who's done just about all you can do in the commercial diving arena.
It doesn't appear to be ghost-written either. So well done Keith.
Excellent book.
Dennis
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 1999
Keith Jessop started diving in a rock pool in North Yorkshire, and ended up salvaging millions of pounds worth of gold bullion from HMS Edinburgh, sunk during WW2 with 5 tons of Russian gold aboard, to pay the British for armaments. Compelling reading, I was bought it for my birthday without knowing anything about the man or the story, but I still enjoy this excellent book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)