Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
107
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£15.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2017
'Gold' is such a wonderful album and one of my favorite albums ever. Ryan Adams is one of those rarities who stay highly productive from the beginning to the end and don't get captivated by the work they've done in the past. His latest album 'Prisoner' proves that. Even though it's an unusually long record (17 songs, over 70 minutes) it doesn't have any 'filler' tracks and includes some of his best lyrics to date, note that it's a self-written album, which is a great detail. Definitely suggest it to anyone who's reading this and on the fence about buying it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2016
This is brilliant, and I can't get La Cienega Just Smiled out of my head! Would recommend buying the UK version if you're buying it digitally - two quid cheaper and you get an extra track!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Excellent album recommend to all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
5 star music one of Ryan's best Albums but can only agree with another reviewer this Vinyl is a poor pressing hence the 2 stars have just received my 2nd copy and unfortunately it's going back to Amazon.Pops, Clicks, distortion and first copy was mispressed off centre. Really disappointed as wanted this on Vinyl.Have made Amazon aware of the problems so will have to stick with my CD copy for now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
Poor quality pressing- CD (sadly) better
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Gold' was the first album from Ryan Adams that I bought when I was beginning to rediscover his music and become a fan seriously. With sixteen songs, it's a long album, and one might suspect that it consists of some great songs surrounded by largely forgettable filler - but you would be mistaken. The whole album is largely perfect, and it soon got me hooked on everything else he has recorded. So be warned, Ryan has prolifically released CDs, so if 'Gold' has the same impact on you as it did me, you'll have to buy a lot of albums, but it will be well worth it.

I laughed at the tongue-in-cheek rip off of the iconic Bruce Springsteen album cover, perhaps the similarities might have been unintentional - but it was the first thing I thought of when I saw it for the first time.

Ryan is a wonderfully versatile artist and a real songwriting talent. The variety of styles on 'Gold' make for an interesting, ambitious and fresh sounding record. The opening, upbeat track 'New York New York' has a brilliant melody and rocks, the latter word also applies to 'Firecracker', another highlight that you'll find yourself playing repeatedly.

On the strength of it's cover, you might expect the whole of 'Gold' to be rocking and upbeat, but you'll be mistaken again. However, this is no bad thing, as some of the best music on here are the slow, emotional ballads. The perfect example is the haunting track 'La Cienega Just Smiled', which is a beautiful, acoustical composition with Ryan's songwriting and voice at it's emotional best. Other stand outs in the balladry category include 'When The Stars Go Blue' and 'Nobody Girl'.

Even though Ryan Adams might just well be one of the of most prolific artists alive today, I still eagerly await his future work, and 'Gold', his second solo album which was released merely a year after his much acclaimed debut 'Heartbreaker', and subsequent buys was the reason for this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2011
Ryan Adams output is immense over the years. I mean the guy must spend every waking hour writing,recording and touring his material.The only problem with being so productive is that the quality control radar slips at times.There can't be many artists if any at all that have an entirely flawless output and Ryan is no exception.Subsequent releases definately had their moments but as an album from end to end Gold(and I have the 2CD version) is awesome.yes there are many influences here-The Rolling Stones,Bob Dylan,Neil Young, to name but three but there is certainly a spark of originality as well. The opening track New York New York is familiar to some but should have been a massive hit single as well as the follow up Answering Bell. But the album is about more than two individual tracks.Firecracker,The Rescue Blues,Nobody Girl,Enemy Fire,Tina Toledo's Street Walking Blues,Rosalie Come and Go are all top notch while Goodnight Hollywood Boulevard is beautiful but the remainder are all well worth anybodys time. Special mention must also go to the way too talented Ethan Johns who seemed to do just about everything on this recording project that Adams didnt do himself with few exceptions.Do yourself a favour and buy this or if you can track one down get the double CD with bonus tracks.Its only taken you 10 years,what are you waiting for?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2001
Venturing into a solo career in 2000 with the tremendous tenderhearted ballads of 'Heartbreaker', Ryan Adams displayed an all-too-seldom-seen touch of musical genius, leading to mass critical acclaim. Now in 2001, with the release of 'Gold', he has progressed still further from the alt.country roots of his 'Whiskeytown' days, and assembled a truly stunning follow-up.
This album has an enhanced polished feel to it that his previous outing lacked, which is in part due to him being signed up by the artist-driven Lost Highway label. Also evident here is a much broader scope of emotion. Yes, there's the ever present laid-back lamenting prevalent throughout 'Heartbreaker', but this time that's accompanied by some resounding rock tunes ("Firecracker", "Gonna Make You Love Me"). And with Ethan Jones producing it's no wonder he's sounding better than ever. His star is certainly in the ascendancy!
There are echoes here of some of the greatest musical giants of the 20th century. The opening song, "New York, New York" is pure Dylan, and its poignancy is all too apparent following recent events. "The Rescue Blues" and the epic "Nobody Girl" have strong undertones of the Stones, while "Answering Bell" could well have been written by Van Morrison. His solemn, soulful singing encountered in "La Cienega Just Smiled" and "Goodnight, Hollywood Blvd" is moodily beautiful. What a voice! Believe me, there is absolutely no filler during this entire 70-minute journey from New York to LA.
This album will definitely generate a much bigger, broader following for him, and it can't come soon enough. When you discover Ryan Adams, you'll find it hard to let go. His passionate style is so irresistibly contagious. Buy it, play it, love it! You won't regret it.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Feels like a Greatest Hits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)