Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2004
Fantastic new album from one of the best rock n' roll bands on the planet. The Donnas have come up with a really powerful, super-sassy, satisfying rawk album. They succeed at moving their sound forward and keeping things fresh, and also in sounding a little more 'mature' without losing any of their charm and fun. This is a proper rock album: ideal for sticking on before hitting the town, shouting along to in the car, air-guitaring in front of the mirror or just grinning along to on your headphones. The Donnas clearly have their sights on becoming a real world- conquering rock band now since outgrowing the garage. With this more 'stadium' sounding album and the current feeble competition from most popular (and male) retro bore rock bands around right now the world should be their oyster.
All their stuff is great, but for me this is their finest release since 'Get Skintight'.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2006
As far as female rock bands go, The Donnas seem to be vastly superior to their counterparts. Allison Robertson's guitar work is terrific; interesting, complex and catchy, and she is certainly one of the best female guitarists I've heard (her name is one you must remember). Brett's vocal work is lovely and melodic, although at times lacks any sort of attitude, coming across as being a bit blah. Torry's drum work is very good, and although simplistic, works very well in this context. The only complaint instrumentally is Maya Ford's bass playing - it is uninteresting and sticks to a generic rock formula. Nonetheless, this is a minor, subtle complaint.
All the songs stick to a catchy, upbeat, straight rock style, with (surprisingly) no ballads. Some lovely vocal harmonies provide a girly undertone to the album. The lyrics are good, but not excellent (again, a minor complaint, for with this type of music, you don't really listen out for the lyrics).
Stand-out tracks include the terrific album opener "I don't want to know", with a great syncopated rhythm on the guitar and drums; the happy, upbeat "It's so hard"; and the darker, angry "Fall Behind Me", all of which showcase Allison's brilliant guitar skills.

If you're only going to buy one album by this band, I would highly recommend Gold Medal.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2004
The Donnas have grown up, and if you need evidence of this you just have to listen to the tempo of the songs, gone are the days of the headlong rush.. Catchy tunes coupled with lyrics that seam simple but will have you triping over your tounge the first time you try and sing along.
The DVD has all the songs reworked for listening to in 5.1 Surround and both the video for Fall behind me which is enjoyable to watch with a rather retro feel at times, though some might call it trippy. The making of the video is a nice touch and interesting from start to end.
I Don't Want To Know (If You Don't Want Me),
Very nice tune sort of happy and cheery, with lyrics that contrast nicely while not being depressing either. A comical take on a one sided relationship.
It Takes One To Know One,
This track harks back to earler Donnas materials, while keeping the more relaxed pace.
All in all a nice selection, not the same as their early stuff but it'd be boring to hear the same old songs over again. If you like The Donnas you'll probably like this CD/DVD set.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2004
I've always thought The Donnas were pretty amazing based on their albums 'Turn 21' and 'Spend The Night' but this album just sent my opinion of them through the roof. This album is a more polished & varied group of songs compared with their older stuff but they have pulled it off without losing what made them so appealling to begin with - different, but the same & better - if that makes any sense!! Oh, and the DVD just confirms that lead guitarist Allison is the hottest girl on planet rock n roll too!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
I heard the Donnas on Radio 2 a while back and only heard part of the tune which was "Don't break me down" off this album. I thought it sounded pretty good but I'm not generally a huge fan of female rock and roll bands. Nonetheless I bought this album on the strength of that tune and haven't taken it out of the car CD player since I got it.
It's a proper rock and roll album with great guitar and vocals backed up by a good solid rythmn section. Some of the chorus have fantastic hooks and are very catchy. It reminds me a lot of early 80's rock with a modern feel to it. It's nicely produced and has a gritty raw edge to it which suits the attitude of the music well. Theres not a bad song on the CD Highly recommended. Can't wait to get a copy of "Bitchin" when it's released.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
I bought this CD after liking their 'Spend the night' album.
I didn't find this album as rocky at that one, but never-the-less it is not bad at all.

The stand out track of the album is definitely 'Fall behind me'.
If you're a fan of the Donnas, or a fan of guitarist Ace Frehley - you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
Didn't enjoy this one as much as previous albums. Perhaps they tried a bit too hard. Again, many parallels to other bands such as the Hives. Still think the Donnas are a superb rock outfit, but this is not their best (for me at least!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
Good easy listening rock from this all female band. Easy to listen to and fun. Nice riffs, sexy and flirty lyrics well worth a listen to. Is that all you got for me is the stand out track for me, but the rest are all good enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
this is a good introduction to the donnas who are an all female rock band that really rock
. so buy it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
Yes is so good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse