FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Going Gently has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Brit-Books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Simply Brit: We have dispatched from our UK warehouse books of good condition to over 1 million satisfied customers worldwide. We are committed to providing you with a reliable and efficient service at all times.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Going Gently Paperback – 25 Jan 2001

4.4 out of 5 stars 31 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£0.01
Paperback
£8.99
£5.82 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£8.99 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. Only 6 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • Going Gently
  • +
  • Obstacles to Young Love
Total price: £17.98
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



60 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Arrow; New Ed edition (25 Jan. 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0099414651
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099414650
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 2.5 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 31 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 453,118 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"A funny, touching and reflective study of life and love that not only reinforces his status as one of Britain's finest comic novelists, but also lays claim for him to be considered as one of our shrewdest and most compassionate writers ... A wonderful novel, mature in its handling of life's triumphs and tragedies, warm-hearted and witty in its insight into the nature of love" (Yorkshire Post)

"Going Gently, like all the best comic novels, mixes sadness with laughter to great effect ... probably Nobbs's finest work" (Independent)

"An extraordinary rich and satisfying novel ... I laughed constantly"

"Spellbinding ... Enormously entertaining and extremely funny" (Guardian)

"We should be thankful for the continued brilliance of David Nobbs" (Mail on Sunday)

Book Description

A wonderfully funny book from one of Britain's best comedy writers and most astute observers of human nature. In the immortal words of Welsh poet Dylan Thomas, 'Do not go gentle into that good night.' A must-buy for fans of Nobbs' Reginald Perrin and Henry Pratt comedy series', this is a touching and funny story of a rollercoaster life, from the master of comedy books.

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?


Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 26 March 2014
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 April 2006
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2000
Format: Hardcover
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2001
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
Format: Paperback
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?