Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2008
Everyone seems to have reviewed the Steelbook Amazon Exclusive version of this. I actually prefer this version and it is the one I bought. For one thing I feel that cramming all the discs into one small case means that it gets lost on the shelf. A substatntial box means that it has more of a presence up there, and also it's not AS big as the original 2001 release due to the slimline individual cases, which I prefer than having all discs in one case because each story gets its own front image and synopsis on the back. The combination of shiny black outer-box with blood splattering gives a very stylish finish to the collection.
My only complaint would be that the box itself is probably the least durable out of the three (ie. this one, the 2001 release and the steelbook), but not if you take good care of it.

This is probably my number one film saga. Beautiful, dark, stylish. And not only that but compared to the 2001 release you are provided with the ultimate picture & sound quality and colour giving you the ultimate film-viewing experience. Truly the films could not have been more restored than they are here, and the Supplements Disc goes into detail on how this was achieved. Also Part II is on only one disc, which avoids the need to get up half-way through to switch discs, although it's worth noting that even though it's on one disc the word 'Intermission' appears for a brief moment in between where the the two dics would have to have been swapped. Presumably that's how it was shown in the cinema.

People always slate Part III but I think that when taking the three films as an entity it serves it purpose superbly. I love all three, and take them as one story - so trying to single one out is like saying I prefer the beginning or the middle or the end of the story. Parts I and II form the bulk of the Godfather story, and Part III serves as the epilogue. Part I begins with the introductions and then chronicles the end of Vito Corleone (Marlon Brando) and the rise of Michael (Al Pacino) as the new Godfather, as well as his transformation from someone who wants nothing to do with his father's business, to being far more ruthless than his father ever was. Part II serves as prequel and sequel showing the beginnings of Vito (Robert De Niro) and how he arrived at the beginning of Part I, as well as Michael at the height of his powers, his continued descent deeper into corruption as he takes the path he began in Part I to its inevitable end. Part III then is all about the guilt, regret and pain Michael feels because of his past sins and the man he became. The 9-hour long epic that is "The Godfather" then culminates in one of the most powerful film endings ever.

The ultimate film trilogy and restoration, with 4 hours of special features, provide the ultimate DVD collection.
1010 Comments| 190 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 August 2007
Disc 1 The Godfather
Disc 2 & 3 The Godfather Part II
Disc 4 The Godfather Part III
Disc 5 Bonus Materials

For those perhaps too young, and for those who just haven't had the pleasure yet, this is the film box set above all others you should own. The first two films are two of greatest films ever made. Indeed The Godfather is ranked No.1 and The Godfather II is ranked No.3 in the IMDB.com rankings as of today. Bare in mind that these films were made over 30 years ago and that is some achievement.

Part 3 is not a bad film, and by normal film standards is pretty good. However in comparison with the first two its not in the same class, and doesn't merit repeated viewings in the same way as 1 & 2.

The bonus disc contains a lot of interesting stuff:
Behind the Scenes (on location, music, screenwriting, auditions, storyboards, cinematography etc),
Additional Scenes
Family Trees
Trailers
Academy Award speeches!
Biographies.

If that doesn't convince you that you're getting good value for money, then perhaps when I tell you the total running time of all 5 discs is 710mins will (thats almost 12hours). Unlike some boxed sets the box itself is not made of thin card, and is quite sturdy - looks good on the shelf as well.

Think I'll start from the beginning again now...
77 Comments| 126 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2008
I won't bore anyone by rehashing any of the scenes in the films. I'll simply state these things: the quality of the picture is superlative. I'm old enough to have seen these all as first-release films, and they not only look 100%, they SOUND 110% better than the originals. For collectors, this set is outrageously under-priced. The quality of the restoration is simply so good, it renders me speechless - as it seems Coppola is as well on viewing the final work.

I have the 5 disc Blade Runner restoration set. This film, however, is so deeply ingrained in the Western World's movie-going psyche, that the restoration is something which will inure itself to modern-day mythology, and the psyche concerning Italian Americans/Gangsters. It a few words, it's fiercely beautiful.

Note that Godfather 1 is in Digital Surround sound now - for the first time. It looks and sounds perfect. This is definitely a work of love for those who did it, and a supreme pleasure for me, who bought it. The technology involved promises for a revolution in the restoration of damaged classics.

Any fan of these films MUST have this set.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Soundtracks are in English, French and German for the film discs; English only for the Bonus Disc.
Film sub-titles are English, English SDH, French, German, Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, Finnish, Dutch and Turkish.
Commentary sub-titles are: English, French and German.
Bonus disc sub-titles are: Greek, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Polish and Hungarian.

There are 4 discs enclosed, "including all three films and over four hours of supplemental materials".
0Comment| 119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2001
The Godfather Trilogy is, as a whole, the best achievement in filmmaking that's ever happened.
Brilliant stories, brilliant performances (Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, Diane Keaton, Robert Duvall and Robert De Niro stand out as excellent leads) and top class cinematography coupled with great scripts make Part I and Part II so compelling to watch.
The same should be said for Part III. I don't know why people criticise it so much. Granted it's not as good as the other two, and the casting of Coppola's daughter as Mary Corleone was a stupid mistake, but as a whole I think the film is excellent, especially the climactic finale. So why people hate it so much is a mystery to me too.
As for the DVD, well the picture is vastly improved. Having seen most variations of the VHS versions, I can say that they've worked hard to improve the picture and sound for the films.
The extras are amazing. With many lengthy featurettes, well over an hour's worth of deleted scenes for the first two films (and an alternate beginning for Part III) plus more, it'll take ages to watch fully.
So, let's see - 9 hours of the best film saga ever, with a whole host of extras - this is a DVD you can't refuse.
44 Comments| 109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
After a careful restoration of the first two films, The Godfather series were released on DVD and Blu-ray Disc on September 23, 2008, under the title The Godfather: The Coppola Restoration. The work was done by Robert A. Harris of Film Preserve. The Blu-ray Disc box set (four discs) includes high-definition extra features on the restoration and film. They are included on Disc 5 of the DVD box set (five discs).
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2008
I've owned the previous 5-Disc Set of the Godfather (2001 Release), and I can safely say that the Coppola Restoration is well worth getting, especially at this price, and even better in this limited steelbook package.

I've compared the pictures of the two sets on a Plasma, and there is a huge difference between the two, the print on this new dvd set is far better than the other, a huge differnce in the brightness of the picture, enables the viewer to see clearly and slightly more of the picture.

In addition, Part 2 is in one Disc as opposed to two, which is great, as now we don't need to change the DVD mid-way through. Instead, they've devoted the extra 5th Disc on New Bonus Features which talk about the restoration, along with the original special features, from the previous set, being on Disc 4.

This is surely a great buy at this price at the minute; even if you have the previous set - this one is still worth getting!
22 Comments| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2003
The Godfather (1972) was a landmark picture in mafia movies, which broke the "Hollywood mould" in that its sequel, The Godfather Part Two, was arguably better than the film that spawned it. The Godfather also played a major role in propelling its young star, the unknown Al Pacino, to heights from which he has never descended. Pacino joined an experienced and big named cast including Academy Award Winner Marlon Brando, James Caan, and Robert Duvall, an award-winning musical score by Carmine Coppola and veteran Hollywood director Francis Ford Coppola in the making of the films that have now become known as The Godfather Trilogy. The films have been re-released on DVD to mark the 30th Anniversary of Part One's production and come in a 5-disc box set that includes a 187-minute bonus disc with features such as a "Behind The Godfather Family" documentary. The bonus disc also shows never before seen footage, out-takes and interviews with the cast and crew that spans the production of all three films from 1972 - 1990. The bonus disc, through these interviews, helps to tell the story of the Corleone Crime Family through the eyes of the actors who portrayed those memorable characters and seems to give the story a greater depth, after all "murder, as they say, was a serious business!" All discs are presented in Dolby Surround Sound, with Parts 2, 3 and the bonus materials disc available in 5.1. The picture quality is greatly improved from the VHS version, with Part 3 looking the sharpest and clearest.
The Godfather (1972)
Where it all began - The Godfather charts the loss of innocence as a young,clean-cut, Sicilian Michael Corleone (Pacino) transcends, seemingly against his own will, into the family crime business. Helped by his father, the masterful, mumbling Don Vito Corleone (Brando) Michael soon becomes involved in the world he once shunned in favour of a highly decorated career in the American Army. Supported by his half-brother Tom Hagen (Duvall) his brother Sonny (Caan) his sister Connie (Talia Shire) and long-suffering girlfriend Kay (Diane Keaton), Michael inherits his father's power and respect, but also his enemies. This moving tale of power and corruption tells the story of the rise and rise of the most influential mob-family in New York - The Corleones, and shows that in the serious business of murder, you should keep your enemies closest because you have no friends. "Never take sides with anyone against the family"
The Godfather Part Two (1974)
Arguably better than the first, Godfather Two tells the story of two men, half a century apart, as they try to build on their criminal empire by executing their enemies but at he same time watching their loved ones cut down before them. It tells the story of Michael's even greater acquisition of power and his further transition into the murderous corrupt thug he once swore never to become. But it is told in contrast to his father's early years, from an eight year old Vito seeing his father and mother murdered to the young Don Vito Corleone (Robert DeNiro) as he tries to make a name for himself in 1920's Hells' Kitchen, New York. The film moves remarkably well through the different generations and utilises the backdrop of 1900's New York, Sicily, 1950's New York and Havana. Duvall once again makes an appearance as Michael's stepbrother and lawyer Tom Hagen and also features classic performances from Diane Keaton and Talia Shire.

The Godfather Part Three (1990)
Often labelled an 'attempted cash-in' by critics and fans, Francis Ford Coppola re-united most of the cast and crew to make, not so much of a continuation of the saga, but more of a conclusion, and epilogue. None the less, Part Three is a fine film, perhaps not in comparison with the first two, as it doesn't have the same 'sweeping fluency' or strength in plot. It does, however (true to form) feature a dazzling array of actors including Pacino, Keaton and newcomer Andy Garcia. It tells the story of an ageing Don Michael Corleone as he tries to legitimise the family business he so violently protected in his younger days. After a serious illness, Michael, now in his sixties, starts to wonder whether he has wasted his chance on life and if it is too late to turn it all around and make something good come out of the Corleone Family. But 'old acquaintances' and his violent, disrespectful nephew Vincent Mancini (Garcia) seem to keep him involved in the life he so badly wants to leave behind. Inevitably, you see that 'real power can never be given, it must be taken'. The film, to an extent, seems to answer all the questions asked by the first two films and makes for a fine conclusion to what is argued by many as the greatest trilogy ever made.
Conclusion
The Godfather Trilogy is a must see for every film fan out there. Now available in this DVD box-set, it gives fans both old and new a deeper insight into the men and women behind the most infamous, feared and influential family in Cinematic History, The Corleones.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2008
The movies speak for themselves; Part I & II are classics, and the much maligned part III is still good in it's own right but obviously not in the same league as the first two. However get this limited "steelbook" edition while you can as it's very cool. I wondered how they were going to get all 5 discs into a slimline case but they managed it! Discs 1-3 are the movies. It's worth noting that Part II is now all on 1 disc (and it's all on one side, it isn't a "flipper"), whereas previously the film was spread across 2 discs. Disc 4 is all of the extras from the last boxset, and disc 5 is the all-new supplementary material. I already owned the previous boxset so wasn't sure if it was worth "double-dipping" for this release. However if you factor in the restored prints, new extras, Part 2 on being on 1 disc, the cool steelbook design, and a very reasonable price I'd say it's worth getting.
66 Comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2009
I've read a few reviews now from people complaining about the transfer and while I can understand why they are saying what they are saying it is a lack of understanding that is behind this opinion.
The transfer on these discs is EXCEPTIONAL and it cannot get any better than this. The grain and muted colours that have displeased some people, were deliberate choices of the directer and cinematographer at the time of filming. They are as much a part of the Godfather as Brando's speech; They may not be to your taste but they are what the directer wanted.
I can understand that people see blu-ray and expect crisp, saturated visuals but that is not what the format is about. It is allowing film makers the opportunity to present their films to the home audience they way that they always wanted them to be.
The actual Transfer is outstanding and looks Exactly as it was always meant to look.
If you are a Godfather fanatic then don't hesitate to pick up this box set.
88 Comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)