Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
7


on 11 January 2018
This is a clear, concise and easy to follow rejection of what Matthew Vines tries to argue in his book ‘God and the gay Christian.’ Vines argument is laboured because he tries to draw on a variety of sources to prove his point whilst the authors of this book draw on one infallible source: the bible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2014
Having recently read the book - Can you be Gay & Christian by Dr Michael Brown (incidentally I found it to be a very topical and crucially important issue of homosexuality and the view the bible has - I thought that it was both very well written and researched with what feels like a balanced yet uncompromising view), I became aware of the book by Matthew Vines which was referred to on various occasions and which is the topic of this review.

I've not read Vines' book, however I'm considering doing so to help "encourage" a balanced view in my mind but in the interim I found this cumulative work most useful in highlighting the obvious flaws employed by folk who identify as gay.

It seems to me that the overwhelming need is for all of us to approach our lives with "bible tinted glasses on" and not the other way round!

I certainly recommend this short yet worthwhile read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2015
This is an excellent short book which sets itself the task of refuting Matthew Vines, "God and the Gay Christian."

In summary, it succeeds in showing from the Bible that the historic understanding of same-sex attraction and practice as consistently sinful, and opposed to God's moral character and "natural, created order," is the only consistent and true understanding.

It also proves that Matthew Vines' approach is fundamentally flawed, as it essentially places experience and personal happiness (good fruit) over the authority of God's word. In essence, it does the painful, yet vital role of showing that Vine's method is fatally flawed. Vines uses a flawed hermenteutic of Matthew 7v15-16 (You will know them by their fruits) to argue that "since the traditional biblical understanding of homosexuality makes me, and other homosexuals, unhappy, it must be a false view!") This book makes the honest and helpful conclusion that "It is no exaggeration to say that Vines' reading of Scripture is an agenda in search of an interpretation. Hermeneutically speaking, the tail is wagging the dog."

It is written in a generous style, not overly bombastic or condemnatory. It is written clearly, sensitively and (most importantly) is patently faithful to Scripture.

Recommended for anyone who honestly wants to see why Vines' work, despite being full of human pathos, is ultimately dishonest and deceptive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2017
I READ THIS BOOK WITH AN OPEN MIND..IT LEFT ME THINKING WHY ANYONE WOULD WANT TO WORSHIP SOME MAN WHO LIVE A MIDDLE EAST COUNTRY 2017 YEARS AGO.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2016
Complete and utter demolition of Vines' silly book. Shows the importance of seeing through the spin and deliberate faux-emotionalism that marks homosexual apologists generally. Little stuff on the horrid bigotry of the pro-homosexual lobby, but then we see that so much that we all ought to know about it already.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2015
Briefly responds to one of the people who is trying to revise our understanding of Scripture. The brevity is helpful. Clear arguments are put forward, and the true position of Scripture set forth, leaving no doubt that the revisionists are very mistaken, and therefore very dangerous. A most helpful publication.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2014
This book engages thoughtfully with current arguments from those who propose a gay-affirming interpretation of the Bible. This includes the more traditional areas of debate:
- The 6 "clobber" passages from Scripture
- Which Old Testament laws still apply to Christians
- Jesus' apparent 'silence' on homosexuality
- Whether the homosexual behaviour outlawed was because of the context of idolatry or pederasty
- Analogies with slavery, racial segregation and the emancipation of women

He also refutes more recent assertions, which signal a more aggressive attack on those holding to a traditional biblical understanding, such as the following:
- "The traditional teaching of the church has harmed LGBT people"
- "Homophobia in the church has led to suicides of young LGBT people"
- "Gay Christianity produces good fruit and therefore must be good in itself"

Brown helpfully looks to broaden the focus away from just the 6 "clobber" passages in Scripture, which address homosexual behaviour explicitly, to the consistent thrust of the whole Bible affirming opposite-sex marriage exclusively as the place for sexual expression.

He also reflects on our self-centred, sex-obsessed, relativistic society and shows how such a society (and increasingly parts of the church) will naturally want to reinvent the teachings of the Bible to suit an increasingly unbiblical worldview.

Brown has written a well-timed book. "Can you be Gay and Christian?" is a useful and up-to-date resource for Christians feeling increasingly on the defensive about the issue of what the Bible says about homosexual behaviour. It is written for an American audience, so some of the statistics quoted are less relevant to a UK audience, but most of the trends are broadly similar. Brown helpfully cites various research studies that bring into question many of the assumptions behind the arguments that he is examining.

Although he did not see Matthew Vines' book while writing, Brown's book engages well with the content of "God and the Gay Christian" and actually shows that Vines brings no new arguments to the debate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse