£17.51 + £1.26 UK delivery
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by Bully-Boy-Music
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 3 million feedback ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Sold by: KAOZI168 Classical_ ''Dispatch From London within 1 day ''
Add to Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Sold by: WORLD WIDE MEDIA MARKET (12-24 Days for Delivery from California)
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Glazunov: The Seasons, Scarlatti-Tommasini: The Good-Humored Ladies, Bach-Walton: The Wise Virgins Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £17.51
Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Bully-Boy-Music.
3 new from £17.51 8 used from £6.99

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Conductor: Robert Irving
  • Composer: Glazunov
  • Audio CD (23 April 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: EMI
  • ASIN: B000002S74
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 377,800 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. The Seasons - Complete Ballet, Op. 67: Winter: Introduction (Andante)
  2. The Seasons - Complete Ballet, Op. 67: Winter: Variation 1: The Frost (Allegro)
  3. The Seasons - Complete Ballet, Op. 67: Winter: Variation 2: The Ice (Andantino)
  4. The Seasons - Complete Ballet, Op. 67: Winter: Variation 3: The Hail (Allegro moderato)
  5. The Seasons - Complete Ballet, Op. 67: Winter: Variation 4: The Snow (Allegretto)
  6. The Seasons - Complete Ballet, Op. 67: Winter: Gnomes
  7. The Seasons - Complete Ballet, Op. 67: Spring: The Zephyr, The Roses, A Bird
  8. The Seasons - Complete Ballet, Op. 67: Summer: Introduction (Andantino)
  9. The Seasons - Complete Ballet, Op. 67: Summer: Waltz of the Cornflowers and Poppies (Allegretto)
  10. The Seasons - Complete Ballet, Op. 67: Summer: Barcarolle (Andante)
  11. The Seasons - Complete Ballet, Op. 67: Summer: Variation (Allegretto)
  12. The Seasons - Complete Ballet, Op. 67: Summer: Coda (Allegro)
  13. The Seasons - Complete Ballet, Op. 67: Autumn: Bacchanal (Presto)
  14. Petit Adagio (Andante mosso)
  15. Les Bacchantes (Allegro)
  16. Apotheosis
  17. The Good-Humored Ladies: Presto (from Sonata in G, L. 388)
  18. The Good-Humored Ladies: Allegro (Sonata in D, L. 361)
  19. The Good-Humored Ladies: Andante (Sonata in B Minor, L. 33)
  20. The Good-Humored Ladies: Non presto, in tempo di ballo (Sonata in D-Flat, L. 468)
  21. The Good-Humored Ladies: Presto (Sonata in G, L. 209)
  22. The Wise Virgins: What God Hath Done, Is Rightly Done (Cantata No. 99: Opening Chorus - Vivace assai)
  23. The Wise Virgins: Lord, HEar My Longing (Chorale Prelude - Adagio)
  24. The Wise Virgins: See What His Love Can Do (Cantata No. 85 - Tranquillo)
  25. The Wise Virgins: Ah! How Ephemeral (Cantata No. 26: OPening Chorus - Vivace)
  26. The Wise Virgins: Sheep May Safely Graze (Cantata No. 208 - Adagio)
  27. The Wise Virgins: Praise Be To God (Cantata No. 129 - Moderato)

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

I cannot recommend this CD too highly. The best known work is the Glazunov. This is the best performance I've ever heard. The other two ballets are arrangements of old music, dressed up in bright modern clothes. Once again, I've never heard them done better. British-born Robert Irving was long a famous ballet conductor on both sides of the Atlantic. The recordings were made in New York in 1960-61, by the Concert Arts Orchestra, which had been founded by Felix Slatkin, and still sound well. Enjoy!
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9177b834) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x91b5ab90) out of 5 stars Beat me to it 1 Aug. 2000
By Mark McCue - Published on Amazon.com
Two well-informed reviewers got here before me, but I'll add just a few things.
Irving was one of the ballet podium's greats and it shows to full effect here. The star is the Glazounov, richly, rythmically detailed--you can almost hear all the on-stage hoofing. The playing is razor sharp, yet full, the sound engineering of usual Capitol excellence. Other great "Seasons" have come to us--Ansermet, Wolff, Desormiere--but none of them have such good sound or quite as good orchestral execution. I'm not throwing out my vinyl issue of Irving, though--I'm getting some silky overtones on violins that are definitely missing here in the CD.
The fillers show equal attention but we won't get so excited about them because there's a lot less to get excited about. But they're old ballet standards that Irving presided over countless times in the pit, so we might as well have them here, done to a "T."
When it comes to ballet, it's probably best to stick to the old pros in most things. And Irving is probably Chariman of the Board for a lot of listeners. If you can scare up his Prokofiev "Cinderella" on old Angel/EMI vinyl, you'll get some of the most beautiful ballet sounds that ever came out of a pair of speakers.
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x92a3d2ac) out of 5 stars Unsurpassed Seasonal delight 6 Oct. 1999
By Jerry White - Published on Amazon.com
There have been a number of recordings of Glazunov's ever-fresh ballet over the years, but I don't think this one has been surpassed. Irving was a specialist ballet conductor, and the judgement of tempi seemed to come naturally to him, rather more than (say) Svetlanov and Ashkenazy, who tend to over-luxuriate. There is no shortage of either warmth or excitement. For the latter, try the end of "Summer" or the famous beginning of "Autumn". I don't know who the Concert Arts Orchestra were, but in the Manhattan Centre NY they could well have been the NYPO, such is the polish of the playing. The other two works are brightly performed as well. Sound quality is pretty good for its age (very early 60s), with the venue's spaciousness captured far more effectively than some more recent recordings.
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9261aaa4) out of 5 stars Glazunov's "The Seasons" is a miniature masterpiece 20 Oct. 1999
By D. R. Schryer - Published on Amazon.com
"The Seasons" is a short ballet score by Glazunov. It is a colorful, melodic little masterpiece and Robert Irving's performance of it is superb.The other two works are pleasant and well performed, but "The Seasons" is the star of this collection. If you like lyrical ballet scores --- or Russian Romanticism -- treat yourself to this CD.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions