Glazunov: Orchestral Work... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Glazunov: Orchestral Works Vol.19 (Ruses D'Amour (Ballet)) CD

3.7 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

Price: £9.98 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, CD, 4 Jan 2010
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
10 new from £7.77

Frequently bought together

  • Glazunov: Orchestral Works Vol.19 (Ruses D'Amour (Ballet))
  • +
  • Glazunov: Orchestral Works Vol.18
  • +
  • Glazunov: The Kremlin / From the Middle Ages / Poeme lyrique / Poeme epique
Total price: £27.12
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Conductor: Horia Andreescu
  • Composer: Glazunov
  • Audio CD (4 Jan. 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Naxos
  • ASIN: B002WEC73A
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 78,955 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Introduction Et Scene I
  2. Recitatif Mimique
  3. Sarabande
  4. Farandole Et Scene II
  5. Danse Des Marionettes
  6. Scene III
  7. Scenes IV Et V
  8. Variation
  9. Scene VI, Marcia
  10. Scene VII, Grande Valse
  11. Scenes VIII - XI
  12. Ballabile Des Paysans Et Des Paysannes
  13. Grand Pas Des Fiances
  14. Variation
  15. La Fricassee

Product description

Product Description

Glazunov's ballet Les Ruses d'amour (also known as The Trial of Damis), is a charming choreographic realization of the French rococo, with a strong element of pastiche. Although the music is thoroughly Russian in its orchestral colouring and language, Glazunov makes imaginative use of earlier French dance melodies, and the score was praised by his former teacher Rimsky-Korsakov for its 'unusual mastery of writing and extremely pictorial beauty'. The scenario concerns a duchess's daughter, Isabella, who tests the Marquis Damis's love by disguising herself as a maid servant.


''Glazunov's ballet Les Ruses d'Amour may not be particularly well-known but it's full of cracking tunes as this new disc proves.'' --Classic FM

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 4 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

28 January 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
26 June 2012
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
3 February 2018
Format: Audio CD
1 March 2010
Format: Audio CD
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on 4.0 out of 5 stars 1 reviews
J Scott Morrison
4.0 out of 5 starsYet More Expert Glazunov Ballet Music
1 March 2010 - Published on
Format: Audio CD
4 people found this helpful.

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?