Ginastera: Orchestral Wor... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.03 delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by WeBuyBooks
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: UK Expedited shipping available on this item for 4.99. Fast shipping. Excellent Customer Feedback.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Ginastera: Orchestral Works Vol.3 [Xiayin Wang; BBC Philarmonic Orchestra; Juanjo Mena] [Chandos: CHAN 10949]

Price: £13.23 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 1 Jun 2018
£11.05 £7.81
Only 10 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Frequently bought together

  • Ginastera: Orchestral Works Vol.3 [Xiayin Wang; BBC Philarmonic Orchestra; Juanjo Mena] [Chandos: CHAN 10949]
  • +
  • Sir Edward Elgar: Symphony No. 2 [BBC Symphony Orchestra; Edward Gardner] [Chandos: CHSA 5197]
Total price: £26.09
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Conductor: Juanjo Mena
  • Composer: Alberto Ginastera
  • Audio CD (1 Jun. 2018)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Chandos
  • ASIN: B07C5HMXF2
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 22,803 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Cadenza E Varianti - Xiayin Wang/BBC Philharmonic
  2. Scherzo Allucinante - Xiayin Wang/BBC Philharmonic
  3. Adagissimo - Xiayin Wang/BBC Philharmonic
  4. Toccata Concertata - Xiayin Wang/BBC Philharmonic
  5. Tema Per Violoncello Ed Arpa - BBC Philharmonic
  6. Interludio Per Corde - BBC Philharmonic
  7. Variazione Giocosa Per Flauto - BBC Philharmonic
  8. Variazione in Modo Di Scherzo Per Clarinetto - BBC Philharmonic
  9. Variazione Drammatica Per Viola - BBC Philharmonic
  10. Variazione Canonica Per Oboe E Fagotto - BBC Philharmonic
  11. Variazione Ritmica Per Trombe E Trombone - BBC Philharmonic
  12. Variazione in Modo Di Moto Perpetuo Per Violino - BBC Philharmonic
  13. Variazione Pastorale Per Corno - BBC Philharmonic
  14. Interludio Per Fiati - BBC Philharmonic
  15. Ripresa Dal Tema Per Contrabasso - BBC Philharmonic
  16. Variazione Finale in Modo Di Rondo Per Orchestra - BBC Philharmonic
  17. I. Allegretto Cantabile - Xiayin Wang/BBC Philharmonic
  18. II. Adagietto Poético - Xiayin Wang/BBC Philharmonic
  19. III. Allegro Rústico - Xiayin Wang/BBC Philharmonic

Product description

Product Description

In his final year as BBC Philharmonics Chief Conductor, Juanjo Mena completes a highly acclaimed Ginastera series with this third volume. Like in his previous series La Musica de España, Mena brings the composers creative genius to a more deserved fame, showcasing here three works that belonged to three different period of his compositional life. While the Concierto Argentino is the most significant score of his early years, drawing directly on Argentinian folk music and full of youthful exuberance, the Variaciones Concertantes (more a concerto for orchestra than a set of variations) assumes a more personal and abstract form in accordance with the development of his harmonic ideas in the later stage of his life. The rhythmic energy and magic scoring of the neoexpressionist piano concerto (as Ginastera defined the third phase of his life) is faithfully expressed by the highly technical and virtuosic playing of Xiayin Wang, widely praised for her recent solo recording of piano works by Enrique Granados.

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 reviews
Dean Frey
5.0 out of 5 starsMasterworks from the Ginastera year and beyond
3 June 2018 - Published on
4 people found this helpful.

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?