Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
48
3.4 out of 5 stars
Travel Chess Set
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 March 2017
Overpriced and poor quality, worse still, there was a white pawn missing and as it was a gift it was a complete letdown.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
I bought this as a present for someone who wants to use it to help with chess problems - as found in The Times puzzle pages. It is a really cute set with pegs to hold the pieces and the wood is nicely finished on the box. As a previous reviewer had already said, the pieces themselves are a little rougher, but in such small items I wouldn't expect anything else, especially at the price. Anyway, you could always give them a rub with sandpaper or customise them with little dots of nail varnish if they need a bit more definition (King from Queen, say) My friend loved his gift and that is the best part. I would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
This is a very good travel chess set. I feel it could do with a lid to put the pieces in whilst playing. In addition I feel there could be an improvement with the bishops and pawns, as they look very slightly similar.
All in all though, a very good buy and I am very pleased with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2016
Product totally unsuitable for purpose as "Travel Chess Set". Lid of box containing pieces falls open and pieces fall out if box is tilted. No catch or clasp to keep the box closed. That would be a basic requirement for a travel set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
Not great. bought to play with my 8 year old and the pieces were too fiddly. Pieces also don't stay in their position that well. Left at the holiday rental.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
Very handy when you traveling. Not taking much space in a bag and quite solid so you don't have to worry the you'll squash it etc. Kings and Queens very similar to each other. Overall good product althought the price is slightly too high. I would recommend anyway ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
Poorly made and the pieces fall out all the time. Therefore hopeless as a travel set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2017
Bought as a present, recipient liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2016
This is great for travel chess games but the pieces are very small and somewhat fiddly. They insert into holes on the board and whilst most of them fit well, a couple get stuck and are hard to move around. The board opens up to store the pieces inside but there is no cling feature and several times the pieces have gone flying around as a result
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Bought these for when we were on holidays. Firstly, I found it difficult to see the pieces, also they were unweildy. Shame. Probably ok for younger people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)