Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
114
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 2 March 2014
Suspend reality and dive into this series... Milton is a flawed hero seeking redemption and some peace. I purchased number 1 a couple of weeks ago and was hooked. Since Vince flynn's demise I have been looking for a hero that you can empathise with but is more than the two dimensional 'super hero'

Do we have men and women like this working for 'us' who knows, the important thing is that if you want to dive in and enjoy a thoroughly good read then I would strongly recommend this series... I was particulalry pleased to get an e mail from the author , thanking me for my feedback... Wow , humility from a published writer...whatever next.

mr Dawson advised that there will be a Beatrix Rose trilogy coming up soon...(dive in to find out more about this character)

can't wait !!!!!!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 January 2015
The story follows a man called Milton.
He used to be the number one of an assassins group
run by the English Government.
Now he is the number one fugitive wanted by the government.
He wanted to leave the group but no one gets to leave.
You only leave group fifteen one way.
He is arrested in Texas after a bar fight but he is
released by a Russian agent who wants him to work for them.
He now has to play everyone against themselves so that
he can save his friend.
His friend is being held by the Russian's and if he
doesn't save him soon he is likely to die.

I really enjoyed the twists and turns in the story.
The characters are well written and have
a deep meaning to them and there personalities.
I would highly recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Why do I feel sympathy for a retired super assassin with over one hundred victims? I can only blame the skill of Mark Dawson in creating such a flawed character, crippled with guilt at what he once was and the harm that he has done, that you actually find yourself hoping that John Milton does find the peace and salvation that he seeks.
As Milton journeys through the world in an effort to find peace, always pursued by the colleagues that he left behind, he attracts the kind of trouble that only one of the world's elite killers (ex) can attract and inevitably deal with.
A simple formula that's rises above most of the genre's competition due to Mark Dawson's entertaining writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
What on earth have you been doing??? - get started today!
I guarantee you will not be disappointed, in the slightest....
Get hold of '1000 Yards', the first in this particular series. I cannot praise that book enough - it will set you on the road that will meander across the globe, leaving you desperate for the next installment.

Book #5, Ghosts, ensures continued success for Mark Dawson in the John Milton series.
The introduction of erstwhile mentor, Beatrix Rose, provides another rich vein to open and expand upon. That alone will be enthralling-aside from 'Control' having gone on the missing list - bound to provide Milton with plenty with which to contend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
This is the latest instalment in the series of books featuring the main character of John Milton and continues in the same exciting style as the previous books. Great story, fast moving and introducing some new characters which adds to the interest. This time Milton comes back to London and has a chance to seek justice against the kill order placed upon him by the corrupt head of Group Fifteen where he previously worked as an assassin. However before this he has to work with the Russians in order to achieve this end and this leads to an eventful and exciting part of the book.

The author continues to develop the character along interesting lines and we discover more about him and his previous life as killer working for the British Secret Service. All in all this is a great read and you will not be able to put it down, that is for sure. If you are new to these stories then I suggest you start at the beginning to fully appreciate the story and the character of John Milton. Cannot wait for the next instalment..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2017
These are good books. Although John Milton is another example of the ex-SAS superhero breed, he is saved from the weaknesses sometimes found in books of this type by the excellent writing, the reasonably believable stories, and the vulnerabilities he oftens shows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Think of a British " Grey Man" (sacked secret service killer with a conscience being hunted by hus ex-employers) and combine him with Jack Reacher (wandering around, falling upon unfortunates and helping them out.)
Good read, good plots, a bit if human touch thrown in and altogether worth pursuing the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
This series gets better and better, another great addition to the John Milton series as gripping and fast paced as ever, great writing from Mark Dawson again
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
Very leasing read, definatly a resemblance of jack Reacher I've read all of Jack Reachers and Milton is every bit as good,IMO I'm currently on book Severn, the head hunters and enjoying every page. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
Wow!
Not just another brilliant John Milton episode, the best yet!!!
The only thing I'm disappointed about is that I've finished it and have to wait for the next in the series. There is going to be a next, right? Please say there's going to be a next!!!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse