Ghetto Bass 2 has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 3 million feedback ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: Amazon
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £7.99

Ghetto Bass 2 Double CD

Price: £10.80 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 2 left in stock - order soon.
Sold by westworld- and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
9 new from £3.94 8 used from £2.11
£10.80 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 2 left in stock - order soon. Sold by westworld- and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Frequently Bought Together

  • Ghetto Bass 2
  • +
  • Ghetto Bass
Total price: £15.74
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (19 April 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Double CD
  • Label: Music response
  • ASIN: B0039P5LLG
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 231,954 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Passion Pit-Little Secrets (Jack Beats Remix)
  2. The Glamour-Love Burn (Max Morrell Remix)
  3. The Count & Sinden-Elephant 1234 (Reset! remix)
  4. Kill Light-The Sound
  5. His Majesty Andre-Peep Thong (The Mane Thing Remix)
  6. Voodoo Chilli-Check Out Our Groove (Ghetto Bass Remix)
  7. Fake Blood-I Think I Like It
  8. Cassius-Youth, Speed, Trouble, Cigarettes (Reset Remix)
  9. Hot City-Hot City Bass "Tropical Edit"
  10. L-Vis 1990-United Groove (MJ Cole Remix)
  11. Max Morrell-Murder Sound
  12. The Warrior Project (Herve and Stanton Warriors present)-Don\x{2019}t Bring Me Down
  13. Tim Deluxe-Ripgroove (The Count Remix)
  14. Herve-Hot! Drum Attack
  15. Yolanda Be Cool-Afronuts (Douster remix)
  16. Herve-Zombies
  17. Orbital-Lush (Herve's Tree and Leaf Remix)
  18. Herve-Avenging Angel

Disc: 2

  1. A Made Up Sound-Rework
  2. Four Tet-Love Cry (Joy Orbison remix)
  3. Joy Orbison-Hyph Mngo (Original Mix)
  4. Herve-No Sleep
  5. Mele-Dancer
  6. R1 Ryders-Rubberband (Funkitek Mix)
  7. The Others-King Pin
  8. Sukh Knight-Diesel Not Petrol
  9. Steve Aoki -In The House (Herves Burning Down Your House Remix)
  10. High Rankin-Occupation Pimp And Gambler
  11. The Temper Trap-Science Of Fear (The Count (aka Herve) Remix)
  12. Nneka-Heartbeat (Chase & Status We Just Bought A Guitar Mix)
  13. Redlight-Feel So Good
  14. Herve-Blaze It
  15. High Rankin-Apocolypse How
  16. Sub Focus-Last Jungle

Product Description

BBC Review

Musical Marmite: Ghetto Bass 2 is either going to make you want to dance as if you're being electrocuted by the particularly sexy people of the world, or make you feel old and very sad about the state of modern music.

Joshua Harvey, one of the recent leading lights of British club culture, keeps himself busy with recordings under various monikers beyond his Hervé guise: Count of Monte Cristal, Voodoo Chilli, Action Man, Dead Soul Brothers, Speaker Junk and Young Lovers.

Here Harvey hammers 34 current club bangers into a double mix album that serves to highlight the frantic pace and attention deficient disorder of contemporary dancefloors. Pitched as "ghetto bass, house, electro, nu-jungle, future garage & dubstep", it's an overly modern snapshot of the raved up take on house music characterised by a delirium of chopped up vocals, insane 16-bar snare rolls and fat bass drops designed to cause maximum rowdiness in confined spaces.

The first CD witnesses more remixes, more collaborations and generally more material from Hervé, but amongst his wares we see UK funky starlet L-Vis 1990 bring some metallic dubstep via his United Groove, Hot City brings a tasty garage vibe with Hot City Bass and the effervescent Fake Blood drops a chart-bothering house anthem with I Think I Like It.

The second disc allows the tracks to breathe more, with fewer edits. Four Tet and Joy Orbison see recent cuts deployed effectively as the mix moves towards a halcyon finale where High Rankin's Apocolypse How peaks in its penultimate position, all old-skool breakbeats and narcotically adjusted piano. It's a fitting swan song that's sung as an appropriate ode to the rave-indebted journey to that point.

Dance music is by name and nature utilitarian. It requires a certain dumbness to work on the drunken, heaving masses and in the cold light of day this compilation may irritate through its relentless tone. But spin any of these songs through loud soundsystems to a crowd of hedonistic humans and the results will deafen any critical analysis wrought by day. Press play only after dark for a jacking journey through the record box of a modern muse. --Matthew Bennett

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category