Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
93
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 4 November 2009
Get Smart is a spy spoof very much in the vein of an Americanised Johnny English. Steve Carrell plays Agent 86, a desk agent who is thrown into the field when headquarters is attacked by KAOS, an evil terrorist organisation. Anne Hathaway partners him as Agent 99 as they try to save the world.

It is a fun to watch and well put together comedy and never taxes the brain too hard, though it ultimately feels a little repetitive as Steve Carrell effectively plays the same character as all his previous films. The other actors, especially Alan Arkin and Bill Murray look like they had a great time playing their parts; and Anne Hathaway puts in yet another great performance showing how diverse her acting talents are.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2009
I wasn't expecting much from this film, but was very pleasantly surprised. The format is extremely clever, and I can't immediately think of another film which is primarily a comedy but also has such exciting action scenes, a lot of which are more gripping than some dedicated thrillers.

Steve Carell is excellent as usual, and makes a believable spy, the twist being that he good one who lacks the confidence of his colleagues. Dwayne Johnson was a surprise comedy success in Be Cool, in fact his performance was the best thing in it, and he's brilliant here too, he may be one of the best "crossover" talents out there. Alan Arkin and James Caan also deliver some memorably funny lines, although Terence Stamp disappoints; he behaves as though he's making a commercial. Anne Hathaway plays her part as Carell's sparring partner and love interest admirably too.

The blu-ray presentation is also successful, great detail and colours, and the sound is punchy with an nicely enveloping soundtrack. Very impressive all round.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2009
I'm old enough that I watched repeats of the original series. I do know what you are thinking though....Do you remember what they did to 'The Avengers'?

This is a film you can watch with your whole family and no-one will feel offended and everyone will Laugh Out Loud - really, not just in the Internet kind of way.

Carell Plays 'Smart' and Anne Hathaway plays Agent 99. Good casting has helped this film loads. There is also a 'blink and you'd miss it' cameo from Bill Murrey which made both me and Mrs. AR laugh as there is no reason for him to appear like he did!

What the film does well.

Good use of special affects.
Great Script.
Great Story.
Gives 'The Rock' another acting job.
Q-esque gadgets.
Hiro from Heroes is in it.

What the film does badly.

A little 'cheesy' and although the story is great, if you are an adult you may see some of the jokes coming from a mile off.

Summary

Is it wrong to enjoy a film which is aimed at a younger audience? I think not. When you strip away peoples desire to appear more educated and knowledgeable than everyone else you'll find we all share a primal desire to laugh in the company of others. This films allows you to do just that. You even get a quick glimps of Anne Hathaway in her undies...another 'blink and you'd miss it' moment.

AR's Review Score

Get Smart gets an 8/10 - A great 'All Rounder' of a film. Brilliant for a rainy afternoon with the kids or a film to watch in the evening with your better half.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
Most reviews here seemed to be pointlessly based in assumption circling around the attributes of the original series.
Not this one, I never knew a series existed.

I bought this on a whim, It looked funny, the cast looked good, the story sounded amusing as a spy spoof.
And I was most pleased with my purchase!

It's essentially Johnny English by the Americans, and they did it very well in my opinion. I won't run the storyline down as you can all read that above. What this film sets out to do it does very well indeed, it's a spy spoof. It's full of slapstick humour, prat-falls, and some pretty good action, stunts, and special effects.

It's not a serious film so there are incongruities in direction, character building, and continuity. But that's not why you buy a comedy, you buy a comedy to laugh at it. And this supplies the laughs, some subtle, some more extrovert. Steve Carell delivers and oddly amusing dead-pan style of comedy which seems to suit well. I'm usually not a fan of this type of humour but he made me laugh out loud. The supporting cast are good, not all that well defined as characters, but pretty well delivered. But again this isn't a period drama so you can look past it. The action is also very good for a comedy, better than I expected. Sometimes the pace can get bogged down, but it picks up nicely generally in the tail of a subtle joke.

If you are looking for a no-brained comedy spoof for a light evening in this is as good a buy as any. What it delivers it delivers well, it doesn't redefine or try to be anything it's not, it's silly, it's slapstick, it's worth watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
Maxwell Smart works for a Government spy agency in an administrative capacity. When the agency's head office is attacked, the Chief decides to assign Maxwell as a spy and partners him with Agent 99, much to her chagrin.

The pair set off to combat their attackers by first parachuting off an aeroplane and landing in Russian territory - followed closely by a seven foot tall, 400 pound, known simply as Dalip.

The duo, handicapped by Maxwell's antics, will eventually have their identities compromised, and may be chalked up as casualties while back in America their attackers have already planted a bomb that is set-up to explode in a concert....

What should have been a complete failure is one of the surprises of 2008, thanks to Carrell and a simply brilliant performance by Hathaway. The chemistry between the couple is brilliant, and Carrell never really goes over the top in the way Ferrall may have in this role.

Some of the jokes do fall flat and linger for far too long, but this is just a minor niggle for a film that is very funny and has a very good story too.

The support is fantastic, especially from Johnson and Stamp, and the whole thing looks really slick, almost too slick at times.

It goes to show that you don't have to be over the top to be funny, and the two leads prove that.

A lot of fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2008
"Get Smart" is a silly and smart update of the original 1960s hit television series, offering as slapstick humor, the untold story as to how Maxwell Smart became CONTROL Agent 86. Steve Carell is absolutely dead on as the nerdy nebbish Maxwell Smart (Agent 86) in "Get Smart". However, unlike the original actor, Don Adams, from the television series, Carell's bumbling Smart is actually a brilliant technical analyst in disguise, who happens to use his encyclopedic knowledge to help get himself and Agent 99 (Anne Hathaway in yet another brilliant performance) after one deadly serious - but also funny - situation after another. Alan Arkin is also perfect as CONTROL's Chief, while Terence Stamp is fine too as KAOS' sinister head Siegfried, and Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson shows he is a master of both physical comedy and action adventure stunts as CONTROL Agent 23. Long-time fans of the original television series will recognize a lot of homages to the original series, including a surprise cameo by Bernie Kopel as a befuddled German tourist. Yes "Get Smart" may seem a bit long, with too many car crashes and chase scenes, but it is still the funniest film I have seen so far this year. So fellow moviegoers, your mission is clear: "Get Smart" and enjoy every minute of the splendid chemistry between Carell and Hathaway.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
Just when you thought you couldn't watch one more slick spy spoof, a really good one comes along. Steve Carell is a genius and Anne Hathaway is almost as funny, as well as convincingly playing a "serious" agent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
Ok so you look at this film and you see that it has The Rock in it and Anne Hathaway, it does have Steve Carell, but is that enough to save this god awful looking comedy? Let me tell you one thing, this is the film that made me think that next time I see that Dwayne Johnson is in a movie I might not automatically refuse to watch it. At face value this should be a throw away spy spoof, but Get Smart Works!

The reason Get Smart succeeds as a spy comedy is because, unlike the main character, newly minted field spy Maxwell Smart (Steve Carell), every other character performed their job competently.

This is not minor praise. The director makes both the comedy and the action pop with energy. He knows when to cut to a joke, and when to trust his actors to get the point home with their interactions. He's as comfortable staging a humorous ballroom dance competition as he is constructing a kinetic beat down administered by Agent 99 (Anne Hathaway) to a couple of bad guys. The action scenes, particularly the hand-to-hand fight scenes, aren't treated as comedy, but as tense and exciting set pieces.

The cinematography balances the brightness required for comedy and the darkness needed to add tension with unobtrusive professionalism.

Quite simply this is on par with films like Mr & Mrs Smith and True Lies . Every one of the actors understands that playing it "straight" will get a bigger laugh than if they emphasized the comedy, and that allows the cast to play off each other like real people and not comedy constructs.

Even the throwaway bits of silliness usually have a second and sometimes a third layer to them, evidence that the screenwriters actually thought through the material instead of just bashing together a bunch of outrageous moments.

Get Smart isn't exactly memorable, and it isn't particularly deep, although it has a fair amount of fun taking the Mick out of the processes of gathering and analyzing intelligence in the age of George W Bush.

Get Smart is an action comedy about an inept spy, it's not a serious Oscar contender, or for that matter a trend-setting summer blockbuster, but what it is, is a thoroughly enjoyable piece of Hollywood product.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
Now i'll be the first to admit that i didn't have the highest of hopes for this film, but with a fairly sar-studded cast i purchased it when it was only £4 on the marketplace & boy was i suprised.

Steve Carell was superb in it, playing a character very similar to that in the US Office, anne hathaway played a very good part as the love interest of Carell's character.

A very good transfer to blu ray as well and well worth the money, i would have to give it a 4/5
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
My wife mentioned one day that this was one of her favourite films, so I looked on amazon and ordered it. The film arrived so quickly, and my wife was gob-smacked to receive it as a 'no-special-reason-except-I-love- you' present. It is hilarious, and suitable for all ages ! Thank you, Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)