£16.99 + £1.26 delivery
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by KAOZI168 Classical_ ''Dispatch within 1 day to the world ''
+ £1.26 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Gerald Finzi - Intimations of Immortality; Dies natalis

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £16.99
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, CD, 1 Jan 2000
£16.99 £4.01
Only 1 left in stock.
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Product details

  • Orchestra: Corydon Orchestra
  • Conductor: Matthew Best
  • Composer: Gerald Finzi
  • Audio CD (1 Jan. 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Hyperion
  • ASIN: B000002ZXX
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 325,600 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Intrada
  2. Rhapsody
  3. The Rapture
  4. Wonder
  5. The Salutation
  6. Andante Sostenuto
  7. There was a time where meadow, grove and stream
  8. The Rainbow Comes and Goes
  9. Now, while the birds thus sing joyous song
  10. Ye blessed Creatures, I have heard the call
  11. Oh evil day! if I were sullen
  12. But there's a Tree, of many, one
  13. Our Birth Is But a Sleep and a Forgetting
  14. Earth Fills Her Lap With Pleasures of Her Own
  15. O Joy! That in Our Embers
  16. But for those first affections
  17. Then Sing, Ye Birds, Sing, Sing a Joyous Song!
  18. And O, Ye Fountains, Meadows, Hills, and Groves

Product description

Product description

I will ship by EMS or SAL items in stock in Japan. It is approximately 7-14days on delivery date. You wholeheartedly support customers as satisfactory. Thank you for you seeing it.


Wordsworth's "Intimations of Immortality" is said to be one of the great masterpieces of English poetry. Finzi's setting of it has been criticised in the UK as being inappropriate due to the "fact" that "great poetry requires no musical setting." And so, by the same argument, composers should only use less-than-great texts. Now of course many of them do just that, particularly opera composers, but the truth is that when words meet music, it's the music that matters, and Finzi's is wonderful music indeed. Granted he was only a "minor master", but in the careful setting of words his talent was pretty impressive, as this lovely disc so eloquently demonstrates. --David Hurwitz

See all Product description

1 customer review

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

14 September 2002
15 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.6 out of 5 stars 3 reviews
5.0 out of 5 starsFive Stars
12 May 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Henry Slofstra
5.0 out of 5 starsEvokes a pastoral sense of wonder
15 February 2008 - Published on Amazon.com
9 people found this helpful.
B. Marold
4.0 out of 5 starsLight Fare, similar to Contemporary Stage Music
2 March 2007 - Published on Amazon.com
One person found this helpful.