4 used & new from £249.79

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Georg Solti Conducts The Chicago Symphony Orchestra [DVD] [2012]

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Available from these sellers.
2 new from £332.38 2 used from £249.79

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Format: Box set, Classical, Colour, DVD-Video, PAL
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: German, French
  • Region: Region 2 (This DVD may not be viewable outside Europe. Read more about DVD formats.)
  • Aspect Ratio: 4:3
  • Number of discs: 3
  • Classification: Exempt
  • Studio: Sony Classical
  • DVD Release Date: 6 Nov. 2012
  • Run Time: 203 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • ASIN: B008FP980A
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 82,096 in DVD & Blu-ray (See Top 100 in DVD & Blu-ray)

Product Description

Product Description

In celebration of what would have been Sir Georg Solti’s 100th birthday in 2012, Sony Classical presents ‘Sir Georg Solti Conducts the Chicago Symphony Orchestra’, a 3-DVD boxset featuring footage of live concert performances from Tokyo.
One of the greatest conductors of the 20th century and recipient of thirty-one Grammy Awards, Solti was the principle conductor of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra from 1969 to 1991; one of the longest and most successful partnerships in music history.
Their repertoire for these concerts consists exclusively of audience favourites: Mozart’s ‘Haffner’ Symphony, Mahler’s Fifth, Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony and more. A special highlight of this set is Solti’s introduction to Ravel’s orchestration of Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition, which is a rare glimpse of this charismatic conductor’s personality.

Set Contents: DVD 1

  • Mozart: Symphony No. 35 in D major K.385 ‘Haffner’
  • Mahler: Symphony No. 5 in C-sharp minor
    DVD 2
  • Modest Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition
  • Introduction by Sir Georg Solti
    DVD 3
  • Beethoven: Egmont Overture op. 84
  • Beethoven: Symphony No. 5 in C minor op. 67
  • Berlioz: March Hongroise (Rákóczy March)

  • Customer Reviews

    5.0 out of 5 stars
    5 star
    4 star
    3 star
    2 star
    1 star
    See the customer review
    Share your thoughts with other customers

    Top Customer Reviews

    Verified Purchase
    This is splendid! One of my favourite Conductors in a very wide selection of Works

    Bought primarily for the Mahler 5 which did not disappoint. I was at the Festival Hall on 15 Dec 1986 when he led the LPO in a fine performance. Very different Orchestras - the LPO was much more "rounded" and the Chicago so very crisp and clean. Both wonderful outfits! Mozart and Beethoven are excellent, and the Ravel Orchestration of the Mussorgsky was really brilliantly brought out (plus an interesting commentary by Solti)

    A really memorable Set
    Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
    Thank you for your feedback.
    Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
    Report abuse

    Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

    Amazon.com: HASH(0xa3f610d8) out of 5 stars 5 reviews
    16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
    HASH(0xa3e195b8) out of 5 stars Solti Conducts the CSO (box set) 30 Jan. 2013
    By Donald Waits - Published on Amazon.com
    Verified Purchase
    Solti is at his most dynamic in this set of performances from Japan. For "Pictures At an Exhibition" there is a most
    charming extra with Sir Georg rehearsing the players. These performances were produced toward the end of his
    life and it is wonderful to see some of the long-time players still with him, some now with gray hair, etc. That BRASS
    section? A miracle of sonic beauty. Unfortunately, Sony did not see fit to include ANY liner notes or other "extras".
    Also, there are no sound format choices, something I find very helpful.
    As a rabid fan of Solti, I could watch this man eat a bowl of soup and be thrilled. Granted, some people object to his
    flamboyant way of conducting, but I prefer his methods to the dry and boring fuddy-duddies out there.
    8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
    HASH(0xa3e1bfb4) out of 5 stars Solti and Chicago captured in their prime 13 Jan. 2013
    By Dan Rincon - Published on Amazon.com
    Verified Purchase
    This collection captures the magic of the Solti/Chicago partnership in its prime. The purchase of this set will not disapoint. As a bonus on the Mussorgsky disc you have Solti discussing the work as well as his personal insights and musical decisions in conducting this work.
    5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    HASH(0xa3e19fa8) out of 5 stars Wonderful DVD set. 24 Jan. 2014
    By DA - Published on Amazon.com
    Verified Purchase
    As a professional trumpeter I have grown up idolizing the Chicago Symphony brass section. The performances on this DVD are no exception to the rule that the CSO brass will astonish you with their sound. Pictures At An Exhibition is the stand-out performance in this set and is one of my favorite recordings of the piece. Great sound quality; average picture quality. You will not be disappointed with this set.
    7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
    By Horn Blower - Published on Amazon.com
    Verified Purchase
    This set is really a must-have for CSO fans. The picture and sound quality are terrific considering they are standard definition. A bonus to this set is that Adolph "Bud" Herseth, principal trumpet, is featured on several pieces. Bud played principal trumpet in that great CSO brass section for well over 50 years and there are some great shots of him playing. One of his trade marks of turning beet red while playing is well documented here. Mr. Herseth passed away earlier this year (2013) making this set of DVDs really special. His playing will be missed but his legacy as a player lives on through recorded media like this DVD set.
    8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
    HASH(0xa3e253f0) out of 5 stars Brings several long awaited performances to dvd in fine style. 10 Dec. 2012
    By Jim Schmitz - Published on Amazon.com
    Verified Purchase
    While familiar with the Mussorgsky, Mozart, and Mahler, which I've loved, I was delighted by the new Beethoven selections included here. They are excellent.
    Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

    Customer Discussions

    Look for similar items by category