FREE Delivery in the UK.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Gentleman's Guide to ... has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
+ £0.00 UK delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by Wordery
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Receive this fine as new book in 7-10 working days. Shipped from our US supplier, via Airmail. We do not ship to Denmark.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue Hardcover – 10 Aug 2017

4.9 out of 5 stars 15 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£12.99
£8.80 £8.79
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£12.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
  • +
  • Eliza and Her Monsters
Total price: £22.08
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 528 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (10 Aug. 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062382802
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062382801
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 4 x 21 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars 15 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 10,023 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

★ “Tongue-in-cheek, wildly entertaining, and anachronistic in only the most delightful ways, this is a gleeful romp through history. Monty is a hero worthy of Oscar Wilde.” (Booklist (starred review))

★ “This is a witty, romantic, and exceedingly smart look at discovering one’s place in the world. A stunning powerhouse of a story for every collection.” (School Library Journal (starred review))

★ “A gloriously swashbuckling affair.” (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

★Mackenzi Lee (This Monstrous Thing) combines her knowledge of European history with a contemporary, comic sensibility to create an over-the-top romantic adventure complete with cliff-hanging chapter endings and sometimes outrageous narration. Monty is a licentious, flawed and engaging 18th-century hero. (Shelf Awareness (starred review))

“Monty is pitch-perfect as a yearning, self-destructive, oblivious jerk of a hero who inspires equal parts sympathy, frustration, and adoration from reader. A genre tribute, satire, and exemplar in one.” (The Horn Book)

Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is the queer teen historical you didn’t know was missing from your life.” (“Best Queer Books to Celebrate Pride 2017”) (Teen Vogue)

“A rollicking ride that also turns a keen eye to issues like class, racism, homosexuality, and identity.” (Brightly.com)

“Careening from fete to fiasco on a Grand Tour of 18th century Europe, THE GENTLEMEN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE is a dizzying, dazzling, and roguishly romantic romp. This book makes me want to unrequite my own love so I can requite him all over again.” (Heidi Heilig, author of THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE)

“Don’t read this book unless you like adventure, hijinks, and forbidden romance, and if you do, then read it twice.” (Stacey Lee, author of THE SECRET OF A HEART NOTE and UNDER A PAINTED SKY)

“An outrageously fun, witty, fascinating, and romantic adventure, starring a memorable trio I’d happily travel with for ages. Lee is a definite force in diverse historical YA.” (Dahlia Adler, founder of LGBTQ Reads and author of UNDER THE LIGHTS)

“The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a Grand Tour all its own. Hilarious and romantic, adventurous and scandalous, Monty’s adventures are just as delightful as Monty himself. I adored this book!” (Rachel Hawkins, author of the Rebel Belle series)

“Sweet, smart, and powerful, Gentleman’s Guide tackles timely topics that will resonate profoundly with readers--all wrapped up in a truly epic road trip. Prepare to laugh, gasp, swoon, and cheer.” (Claire Legrand, author of the Winterspell series)

“A delightful romp of a road-trip through eighteenth century Europe, packed with witty dialog, razor-sharp pacing, and the perfect amount of swoon. You should abso-bloody-lutely read this book.” (Erin Bowman, author of VENGEANCE ROAD)

“Vice has never been more charming and virtue never more daring than in Mackenzie Lee’s superbly written globetrotting adventure. Not since Hamilton the musical has the 18th century been this much fun.” (Amy Cherrix, Malaprop's Bookstore)

“An incomparably delightful historical romp. I was swept away by Monty’s incorrigible voice from the very first page, and the rest of this confident adventure tale did not disappoint. Lee’s sophomore novel has heart, depth, and an abundance of wisecracks from a protagonist you can’t help but adore.” (Rebecca Wells, Porter Square Books)

“Simultaneously harrowing and hilarious, everything about this book from the serious questions posed about sexuality, chronic illness, and social inequality to the extraordinary journey Monty, his best friend, and his sister find themselves on make Mackenzi Lee’s latest the kind of book you’d be a fool to miss.” (Gaby Salpeter, Books of Wonder)

“Monty and Percy are insanely shippable from page one, and quickly became one of my favorite YA couples of all time.” (Rachel Strolle, Anderson's Bookshop)

“The John Hughes of queer 18th century adventure novels with an alchemical heart at its center. Lee perfectly captures teen humor and angst. I can’t wait to see what she writes next!” (Alsace Walentine, Tombolo Books)

“I can’t wait to get this book in my store—I know my customers looking for historical fiction and LGBTQ stories will adore GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE as much as I have!” (Clarissa Hadge, Trident Booksellers)

“Filled with highwaymen, pirates, and heart pounding exploits of a romantic nature, this is the summer road-trip adventure you’ve been waiting for.” (Marika McCoola, Porter Square Books)

“With roguish charm, sly wit, and tender heart, THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE is a shameless flirt of a novel. If Monty and Percy hadn’t already stolen my heart, I would surrender it to them gladly.” (Wendy Darling, The Midnight Garden)

“Wonderfully refreshing. A delightful, thoughtful, hilarious read.” (Maggie Kane, Between the Covers)

“An adventurous romp through 18th-century Europe with a trio of unforgettable characters. Lee weaves together the fun and the fantastical with a conversation on historical privilege that will resonate with modern readers. Perfect for fans of LA Meyer’s Bloody Jack series. Expect to fall in love with this book!” (Nicole Brinkley, Oblong Books)

An elegant, colorful, swashbuckling good time of a read and a beautiful addition to the LGBTQ+ genre. This is a great novel for upper YA readers and a great adult cross-over title. I definitely have a book hangover after finishing this gem. (Amanda Zirn, Bethany Beach Books)

“A Marauder’s Map of the heart, full of pirates, highwaymen, humor and romance. Mischief managed brilliantly!” (Chris Abouzeid, Co-Owner, Belmont Books)

“Lee’s rip-roaring, genre-trampling, beautifully affirmative novel absolutely lives up to the hype, whisking readers off on a breathless and refreshingly unique adventure.” (RT Book Reviews)

From the Back Cover

Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men.

But as Monty embarks on his Grand Tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

Still, it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?


Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 15 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 17 July 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: odi grips, scooter grips

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?