Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2017
A very average book. Not impressed at all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
I loved this short story by the brilliant Lesley Downer.
As always she writes with such knowledge I was engrossed and living the story after just a few words.
A beautiful story which I was willing to not end!
I wanted more for Okichi and Townsend but knew that that could never be.
I already want to re-read it!
Thank you so much to the author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
This is the first time I have read a short story and just when I wanted more, it was the end. That was the only disappointing part.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
A beautiful short story that gently leads the reader into the curious life of the Geisha during an extraordinary time in Japan's history. This story touched me deeply and left me wondering what would become of both Okichi and the Consul after their affair.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
Enjoyable short read, interesting. Interesting story line very enjoyable though I do enjoy this era of history, am going to look into other titles by this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
.... great short story - I am intrigued by the world of geisha's and this story didn't disappoint. If you like Lesley Downer you will love this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
Very interesting and enlightening, look for another follow on book to read, Lesley Downer is a very good author, Thanks for this lovely read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Lovely historical novel of Japanese culture and the influence and pressures on geishas. Also a story of true love. Well worth reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Great read for free! Well written and a page turner, didnt want it to end! Different take on the world of the Geisha to similar titles
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Love Lesley downers books full of intrigue and wonder, adore the Japanese culture she uses and the history of geisha- magnificent!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)