5 used & new from £14.99

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Gavin Bryars: A Portrait

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Available from these sellers.
1 new from £39.71 4 used from £14.99

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (10 Feb. 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Decca (UMO)
  • ASIN: B00007J4WD
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 205,324 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Cello Concerto (Farewell to Philosophy)
  2. One Last Bar, Then Joe Can Sing (for percussion ensemble)
  3. Les Fiançailles
  4. Jesus’ Blood Never Failed Me Yet – Single(with Tom Waits)

Disc: 2

  1. The Green Ray
  2. Adnan Songbook
  3. Titanic Lament (radio edit)
  4. The North Shore
  5. Jesus’ Blood Never Failed Me Yet (Single remix) (with Tom Waits)

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
The variety and scope of the different works presented here defy detailed analysis in a review of this scope. If you are not familiar with Bryars' work, give it a go! It is complex, varied and fascinating, and the pieces here are a very good selection. The soundworld is unusual and may 'stretch' your ear, but it is all accessible and most interesting.
Comment 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x99e77ac8) out of 5 stars 1 review
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x99e7dc84) out of 5 stars Adnan Songbook is hauntingly beautiful 10 April 2009
By Amy Knight - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I bought this CD primarily for tracks 2 - 9 on disc two, a collection of pieces called the Adnan Songbook. These songs are the poems of Etel Adnan, a poet born and raised in Beirut Lebanon, born to a Muslim Syrian father and a Christian Greek mother. British composer and musician Gavin Bryars set these 9 poems of hers to music. The words are sung by British lyric soprano Valerie Anderson. I heard these tracks in February 2009 on WGBH, Boston public radio and I was immediately mesmerized by the beauty of the music and the wonderfully clear, pure voice of Valerie Anderson. The works are haunting, beautiful, otherworldly and powerful. I recommend this disc, purely for those tracks, alone, with the highest praise I can give. Buy it!
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category