Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2010
This book is the catalogue for the current Tate Modern exhibition that will later go to Washington D.C. In spite of the fact that there has recently been a spate of exhibition (in the U.S., France and even Italy) trying to debunk the myth surrounding the artist (a myth partly originated from his own self-promotional skills), the text is very interesting in that it succeeds in deciphering Gauguin's views of the world he lived in, the effect those views had on his art, his attitude towards other cultures, towards the otherness, whether religious or racial.

There are several essays, tackling such themes as Martinique, the "Primitive", the Exoticism (through Gauguin's missed meeting with French writer and early advocate of cultural diversity Victor Segalen who visited Polynesia in 1903, three months after the painter's death). There is also an interesting article by French critic Philippe Dagen on Gauguin's relationship with politics and the way his political ideas transpire in his art, which, to my knowledge, is the first text that has been written on the subject.

Now the only qualification I would make would be on the quality of the numerous colour illustrations which are sometimes too small or sometimes too dull (not always, though: about a third of the reproductions are of a good quality, strangely enough). Therefore, 4 stars instead of 5...
44 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
goodvalue
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Very well printed~
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2010
Guaguin: Basic Art Album

The is a good quick overview of Guaguin's works. It provides an excellent itroduction to them and at the same gives the reader an understanding of the selected paintings. As the title indicates it is a basic art album. Thus I recommend it to anyone who wants to gain an understading of Gauguin's art before he or she wants to study in detail any of his works. The only drawback is that, by its very nature it is a reductive view with a limited selection of his works.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
A compact and instructive look at the work of one of the great painters. I would like to buy more of the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
I bought this book for my father, who has a large collection of Art books. He recently went to see the Gaugin exhibition so I knew he would appreciate owning the book.
The quality is outstanding, especially the images which really do the original paintings great justice.
I am so impressed with his purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2010
It's a good book with an interesting selection of Gauguin's paintings. The delivery was quick and the book was in excelent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2010
...a great compendiun of G`s paintings . Precise and clear the written layout is valuable to all readers. Excellent reference or background source.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)