Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
42
4.4 out of 5 stars
Galapagos [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 May 2017
Every aspect of the documentary is first class. The history of the Galapagos, and how Darwin came to his conclusions based on his observations are fascinating. The amazing photography, Tilda Swinton's narration and highly evocative music by Paul Leonard-Morgan makes this BBC DVD a joy to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
Love it will get more thank you sam
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Top quality asalways
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 March 2007
This series used spectacular Hi-Definition cinematography from land, sea and air, and blended dramatic landscapes with intimate animal behaviour, drama reconstruction and stunning satellite imagery.

This is a stunning BBC documentary - if you like BBC wildlife stuff then this is for you. The islands are like nowhere on earth - hence the documentary.

All the usual BBC values are present so buy with confidence.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2009
We've just watched this having just returned from a life-changing two weeks cruising and visiting these beautiful, humbling islands.

The DVD is amazing with fabulous narration, gorgeous music and breathtaking camera work. Some may think that aspects are over the top and "fairy-tale" like but this is exactly what the islands are like. Yes there is some repetition but some of the points are so central to understanding this unique place that they warrant reinforcement.

Many people have asked us to describe what the Galapagos are REALLY like. Words and photos dont do them justice. This DVD does a pretty good job. Go buy, sit back, marvel and start planning. Brilliant.

(If you can, buy in BLU-RAY)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 December 2011
For as long as I can remember, the BBC and natural history programmes have been a safe recipe for success and this is not exception. The filming is stunning, commentary informative, music evocative and the DVD quality excellent. This is a fascinating insight into these famous islands and it will make fascinating viewing for anyone interested in the islands or natural history.

Recommended
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
A fascinating viewing of some of the most unusual creatures in the world,many of which are found nowhere else on earth. The high quality filming shows many of the islands spectacular volcanoes and the formation of the islands over the centuries. The landscapes are positively dangerous in many parts and it is a miracle that some of the species have survived the constant upheavals and battles against the elements. A most informative and educational film which I would recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
The pictures are beautiful, but unfortunately the same pictures are repeated over and over again. Same for the commentary, which is extremely repetitive. The islands slowly shift Eastward. Darwin was there, catching finches. Every island is different. Etc. Etc. Interesting, but I don't need to hear that repeated every 5 minutes. As said, overall it is great to watch, but slowly but surely seeing and hearing the same thing again and again spoils much of the fun of it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
We are planning a trip to The Galapagos Islands, so I bought this to see what we might expect to see.
This DVD is full off spectacular photography and has really fired us up for our trip.
If we see a quarter of what this DVD shows on our trip, I will be very happy.
Absolutely stunning!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)