Buy Used
£0.47
+ £3.29 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: A few small marks to the page edges. A slight tan to the page edges. UK Expedited shipping available on this item for 4.99. Fast shipping. Excellent Customer Feedback.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

G. Paperback – 26 Sep 1996

3.0 out of 5 stars 14 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback, 26 Sep 1996
£28.31 £0.47
click to open popover


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



All Amazon Original Books on Sale
Browse a selection of over 160+ Kindle Books currently on sale. Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC; New edition edition (26 Sept. 1996)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0747529086
  • ISBN-13: 978-0747529088
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 2.2 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars 14 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 525,584 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"Fascinating...an extraordinary mixture of historical detail and sexual meditation...G. belongs in the tradition of George Eliot, Tolstoy, D. H. Lawrence and Norman Mailer." -- The New York Times --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap

In this luminous novel -- winner of Britain's prestigious Booker Prize -- John Berger relates the story of "G.," a young man forging an energetic sexual career in Europe during the early years of this century. With profound compassion, Berger explores the hearts and minds of both men and women, and what happens during sex, to reveal the conditions of the Don Juan's success: his essential loneliness, the quiet cumulation in each of his sexual experiences of all of those that precede it, the tenderness that infuses even the briefest of his encounters, and the way women experience their own extraordinariness through their moments with him. All of this Berger sets against the turbulent backdrop of Garibaldi and the failed revolution of Milanese workers in 1898, the Boer War, and the first flight across the Alps, making G. a brilliant novel about the search for intimacy in history's private moments. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

10 February 2015
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
16 August 2009
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
23 February 2012
Format: Paperback
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
10 September 2009
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: john berger

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?