FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Fuse has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Fuse Paperback – 18 Jul 2013

4.3 out of 5 stars 32 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.99
£1.49 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£7.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 6 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

  • Fuse
  • +
  • Burn (Pure Trilogy 3)
  • +
  • Pure
Total price: £24.97
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 560 pages
  • Publisher: Headline (2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1472201426
  • ISBN-13: 978-1472201423
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 3.5 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (32 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 158,532 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

'A great, gorgeous novel, boundless in its imagination. You will be swept away' (Justin Cronin, New York Times bestselling author of The Passage)

'Discomfiting and unforgettable' ( The New York Times )

'This novel sizzles with invention and viscerally disturbs with its portraits of catastrophe' ( The Sunday Times )

'She has a flair for keeping the pages turning with a combination of short, sharp action beats and drip-fed revelations. Strong stuff, and gripping to boot' ( SFX magazine )

Book Description

The second book in the PURE trilogy for fans of THE PASSAGE, THE ROAD and THE HUNGER GAMES.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Related Media

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Quicksilver TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 18 Feb. 2013
Format: Hardcover
It's often hard to review second books in a series. World building is normally done in book one and plot resolution is yet to come. With no beginning or end, we have only middle, so how to judge? 'Fuse' has this problem in abundance. It adds little to book one, remains readable throughout, but leaves the reader only with more questions.

That I feel so discomfited signals a degree of disappointment with the book. I really liked Pure. It is dark and dirty; a dystopian vision that works, that goes deeper than just another Hunger Games clone. 'Fuse' however ploughs the furrow left by Kantiss Everdeen. Pure explores some interesting areas, such as the role of technology in human advancement and the futility of hankering for a better time. The concept of being fused to your past was fascinating. Best of all 'Pure' wasn't all about an oppressed group sticking it to their overlords. Which is exactly what 'Fuse' is.

The fragmented heroes in this book are trying to destroy the Dome and bring down its leader, Ellery Willux. The book starts slowly. The bleak existence of those outside the Dome makes for heavy reading, but things do eventually get going. The narrative becomes exciting and there are some great set pieces, but I felt the story became a string of events, with characters arbitrarily being pushed in one direction or another. It's plot development as practised by the writers of Lost.

Too often characters would suddenly acquire significant pieces of information, important landmarks would not be guarded, characters who had been useless, suddenly acquired value. Worse still, Willux, the central villain becomes a caricature of himself.
Read more ›
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Paul Tapner TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 26 Nov. 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Second in the Pure trilogy, a series of post apocalyptic science fiction novels for young adult readers.

Recommended reading age is thirteen and up. Due to some language, adult moments, and a rather grim setting and situation.

It follows on from Pure (Pure Trilogy). There is no exposition or recap in here at the start. So new readers shouldn't use this as a jumping on point.

Those who have read Pure, read on. Although the lack of a recap or early exposition in this does mean it might take you a short while to get into it, depending on how long it is since you read the first book.

This volume runs for five hundred and fifty pages. It has a prologue, then three parts. Those are divided into chapters, none of which are very long. Each has a different viewpoint character, out of a small group of them. Everything is told in third person present tense.

The prologue is one of those openings that seems a little strange at first read, since it's written in italics and brings in a new character in a strange setting. But hang on in there, as it will all make sense.

Then we're back with Pressia and Partridge and their associates. As they struggle to survive in the world outside the Dome. To find answers. To see what can be done about the Dome. And most importantly, about the Dome leadership's efforts to get Partridge back.

The opening part is one of those where it feels as if you're waiting for something big to happen, but pages do turn rapidly as the writing does keep you going qutie nicely while you wait for big events. The world of the story remains a very convincing and very nightmarish setting.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Bex TOP 500 REVIEWER on 3 Aug. 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Oh you guys, I'm so disappointed. I loved Pure. Honestly, it was such an original, well imagined idea that I just devoured it. So I can't even tell you how much I was looking forward to Fuse. But it was more of a fizzle for me.

Fuse is the second book in what is set to be a trilogy within the Pure world. Essentially this second installement takes us back to Pressia and Partridge as they try to fix what is inextricably broken - The Dome. Remember that place? Where only the perfect, not the imperfect marked by their scars and fused to various bits and bobs, can live. The Dome where Partridge came from.

My major problem with this book was not the concept. As I've said, I loved Pure and the ideas are phenomenal - some of the questions raised about the meaning of being Pure are riveting. But Fuse was slow and bleak. It took such a long time for me to start getting into the book that, I'm ashamed to admit this, I almost gave up. I'm one of those people that NEVER quits on a book, you just never know if it's going to suddenly surprise you and then you'd just be gutted you never found out how good it really was. But seriously, I had to bribe myself to continue with chocolates and tea. This book has made me fat.

Fortunately, as the story progressed the storytelling did improve and I remembered why I fell in love with this world so much. But I just don't know if I can go through the torture of re-reading Pure and Fuse again for when the final installment comes out...

I really think a lot of readers will be disappointed by this, the real question is whether or not this is just a typical middle book syndrome problem or whether the third one is going to be any better. Look, I've just talked myself into reading the final installment just to make sure haven't I? Guess it wasn't that bad; a shame it took such a long time to take off, but I still have hope.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback