Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 8 April 2013
This is a truly wonderful book, by one of the most acclaimed and accomplished English master craftsmen working today. The book is a beautiful dive into the incredible creative minds which make this artisan industry one of the most important art forms today IMHO. David is a wonderful curator of his fellow woodworkers, and handles each and every one of their works of art with a deep reverence for the unique talents and vision of its creator. Truly a feast for the senses, and a delight to spend time with this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
This is a super book to read if you are interested in furniture but also if you love interiors. It's useful to understand what goes on in the minds of these very talented craftspeople. I am passionate about supporting designer-makers and enjoyed it so much I wrote a review on my blog: http://www.selectamaker.com/a-passion-for-furniture-making/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2011
I think that the book is inspirational and portrays some fantastic wood artisans from around the world.
I shall not start another piece unless I think that my design passes the "does it have soul test?!"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
An excellent book. Very inspirational. For me, all the work shown in the book had the 'wow' factor. Well done David
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
I am really very impressed with it having read it all cover to cover. He's really got under the skin of each of them and asked questions which no-one has before about the birth of a design and what does it feel like while doing it, and the answers are really frank from Judy and Tom and Rupert; I really appreciated that as it is something I can relate to, as will many I'm sure. So it was that openness from them and then his rendering of their character that was very skilfull too; I felt like I was in the room with them both, eavesdropping on the conversation. He's a skilled writer anyway but interviewing is a completely different kettle of fish, and I think he's delivered a very important book.
He included all my favourites and surprised me with others, which is what you are supposed to do, and made me look and appreciate them where I had passed them over before. Its because of him and his experience and background will make people sit up and take note of what he's written here that makes it all the more acceptable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
The author begins by saying language can't deal with the issues that the book addresses. He then demonstrates that his writing skills certainly aren't up to the challenge, as he drags us through 231 dreary pages of pretentious philosophies and worn out cliches.

Still, it's not a complete disaster. There's a section at the end on rising young talent which is sparky and refreshing.

However, all in all you'd be better off buying "Speaking Of Furniture", which covers many of the same makers but has more and better photographs of their work...plus it's witty and readable rather than turgid and pompous.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book is NOT a superficial 'coffee table' publication dominated by lavish photography with a lacing of ambiguous 'artist statements'.

Furniture with Soul, as the title implies, shares the personal journeys of a small number of dedicated and very talented furniture designers from both sides of the Atlantic, serious enough about their artistic passions to have devoted most of their lives, come what may, to the creation and making of forms that both project and absorb the inner self.

The text is very personal and honest, more akin to an intimate conversation over lunch with a soul mate, equally appealing to tradesman and patron alike. The artists reveal their upbringing, education, influences, ambitions, successes and failures, personal and professional fragilities, inner struggles, core strengths, and the sheer single mindedness that has taken them through relationships, business and financial turmoil, and out the other end, resulting in some time-stopping creations to enrich the lives and homes of appreciative and thinking individuals.

Yes, the standard of photography is excellent, and yes, this could be described as a 'coffee table' book, but a book that belongs on your own coffee table (made by one of these designers of course!)picked up, cradled in your arms and read from cover to cover, before passing it on, ear marked and slightly worn at the edges, to a like minded friend to look at before buying their own copy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2011
There's a book for all who think that real craftsmanship is a thing of the past! The furniture still can be an art-form , even today , and David Savage presents to the reader some of the best artists today ,and how did they make it to the top.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
I bought this for my brothers birthday, as he has just started furniture making. However, everyone loved the book: Girlfriend, mother, father, grandpa, and friends, it seemed to have universal appeal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
Super quality, super content a must have book for anyone who makes furniture or appreciates furniture.

After spending 12 months at David's school at Rowden Farm this book is a must have to all, very inspirational and full of David's charm and enthusiasm.

Well Done David.

Antony Godden
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)