Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
14
5.0 out of 5 stars

on 27 May 2005
The main reason I watched this anime is because of the hype it has been recieving all over the internet and the praise from magizines. So, taking their word for it, I decided that I would see what this whole Full Metal Alchemist (A.K.A Hagane no Renkin Jutsushi) was about and I was not in the least dissapointed! The artwork is simple yet stunning and the annimation is flawless, making it possibly the most attractive japanese animation out there today! The characters are likable and react to situations in a belivible manner.
You follow Edward Elric and his younger brother Alphonose on their quest to retrieve the legendary Philosopher's stone, an item which is said to bring unlimited power to the user, so that they can restore themselves to their original bodies (Al's soul is all that remains and he is must 'live' inside a giant suit of armor and Ed's right arm and left leg have been replaced with Auto Mail which basically are mechanical limbs).
The series is surpisingly dark, the opening scene showing us the two Elric brother's failed attempt to bring their mother back from the dead- a bloody, grusome opening to say the least! But the humour makes this anime lovable, the funniest parts are perhaps when someone makes a comment about Ed's height, to which he reacts to halariously (He is rather vertically challenged!).
There is little I can find wrong with this show, although the constant message that is shown at the beginning of each episode is repetitive to say the least but it is really not a problem (I'm just grasping at straws to find something negative about FMA - which is much easier said than done!)
The first DVD left me wanting more and I cannot wait to see it! Full Metal Alchemist is all you've heard and more - a definate must have for any fan of anime or someone who enjoys a great piece of entertainment! I have no doubt in my mind that this will go down as an anime classic and, in most peoples' minds, will be the best ever - it is certainly becoming a quick favourite amoung me and friends!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 February 2007
This DVD kicks off the increasingly popular anime series full metal alchemist. Volume 1 contains 4 episodes. The basic story is that two brothers, Edward and Alphonse Elric fail to resurrect their mother from the dead after using human alchemy. Alchemy is basically the transformation of one thing into something else that has equal value and ingredients. They soon suffer the consequences of performing human alchemy as Alphonses body is destroyed and his soul is fused into a suit of armour and Ed sacrifices an arm and a leg. Ed is then equipped with a metal arm and leg and hoping to get their bodies back to normal, they both set off on an epic quest. What follows is a well made series that can be funny, action packed, scary and emotional. The two brothers are very likeable as Ed is very loud and outgoing and he always hilariously freaks out when someone makes fun of his shortness whereas Al is quite timid and rational, you notice that he has a tough time controlling his brothers rashness and bad temper.

The animation in this DVD is simply superb, most of the scenery is very bright and beautiful and this leads to the viewer wanting to carry on watching. The animation also successfully conveys the atmosphere of a particular scene whether it be tense or happy,etc

This DVD is one of the few instances where I prefer the english dub. Even though the Japanese dub is good I think that sometimes the emotional scenes arn't as effectively portrayed as the english version. The DVD has few special features but the sheer brilliance of the episodes episodes themselves make up for that.

With its fun characters, interesting story and great action scenes, this is an essential purchase. FMA does not contain gratuitous violence, sex or language, therefore this results in an easy watch that you will most probably enjoy over and over again.

If you enjoy this, I suggest getting some of the other volumes as the story and characters develop further.

Full Metal Alchemist is an excellent anime and I would recommend it to any anime fan and even people who are not fans of the genre. If you are looking for an anime series that you have never watched before, why not try this, you may be pleasantly surprised.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2005
If your interested in buying this product you probably already know that people are branding this as the best anime ever made. I'm not sure about the best ever but it would certainly rank in the top three (along with Evangelion and Cowboy bebop). The character design and development is brilliant, all characters are beautifully designed and their interaction with other characters in the plot and the way they play out their own role is perfectly done, also the voice acting is brilliantly portrayed (I haven't actually seen this version yet so I don't know what the English dubbing is like). Also the plot is very involving, if a little convenient (almost all the characters you met in the earlier episodes seem to turn up near the last episodes and completely turn the plot around), in the whole of the 51 episode series I only found 1 episode boring, so a 98% success rate isn't bad at all in my opinion.
That was kind of a review of the whole series, as for this individual DVD you wont really find much in terms of shocking plot twists (just wait till episode 7 in the next volume for that ;) ) its more an introduction for the two main hero's, Edward and Alphonse Elric. The first two episodes (a two parter) are set in the current anime timeline with Al and Ed investigating a corrupt religious leader. The next two episodes are set four years before, and teach you about Al and Ed's past and what set them on their quest to find the philosophers stone. These episodes are well structured and very entertaining with some good comedy (the recurring joke of people making fun of Ed's height and Ed's reaction to it never grows old).
This anime is highly recommended and once you see the whole series you'll understand why people are calling it the best anime ever.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2006
In this world alchemy and somewhat advanced Victorian style technology, the laws of equivilant exchange demand that you cannot gain something without sacrificing something of equal importance.
After a failed attempt in trying to ressurect their deceased mother through alchemy (an illegal and very dangerous process), Edward and Alphonse Elric are lucky to escape with their lives. Alphonse left without a body has his soul transferred into a nearby suit of armour, by his elder brother, Edward, who loses an arm and a leg in the process.
The series takes us on their journey, in recovering their former states. Edward works hard into becoming a State Alchemist and learn more in the arts of Alchemy. A moving tale that shows the brother's admiration and love for each other, overcoming powerful users of alchemy and corruption within the State itself.
A fantastic tale that will make you laugh, cry and shudder as you join the brothers in their adventures. The characters are very well structured, even characters that do not remain in the whole series are written with depth that it is hard not to feel attached to some of them.
Excellent art work and a catchy soundtrack bubblegum pop soundtrack. If there's one anime series you'll want to see this year, make sure that its this one!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2005
Having seen this DVD, I am one to believe the hype that this anime has been recieving. The original Japanese voicing is near perfection, where the English dub is right behind it with the odd hiccup in places. The animation is also superbly done so that also adds to the value. The way it is made makes it easy to familiarise with the characters which makes understanding the story a lot easier. All in all, an essentail purchase for anime fans across the Uk.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2006
This is a brilliant series. Not all the episodes are great (like ep 4, and to be honest you could pretty much skip the third DVD if you wanted to save the money) but the central quest for redemption is so compelling, it pulls you through any minor lulls. The two central characters, Edward and Alphonse Elric, who wrecked their lives in an alchemical attempt to bring their dead mother back, are complex and believable and very engaging, as is the relationship between them. They're joined by a large supporting cast, none of whom are wasted. Even the ones whose main function is comedy seem like real people. The animation is great, and the soundtrack superb, really adding to the tension or emotion as appropriate.

The one thing I'd disagree with some other reviews about is the English dub. Sure, it's probably one of the best English anime dubs around, with Ed and Al's voices being particularly good. BUT most anime dubs are rank, so that's not saying very much. Most minor characters still sound like phoned-in performances by E-list actors, and Wrath and Envy are just plain wrong! I would definitely recommend the Japanese original voices and the subtitles. The Japanese actors convey emotion with so much more subtlety. It's a shame to miss out on the brothers' English voices, but even with them, the originals are just a little bit better.

But whichever voice-track you go with, get it! And read the manga too!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2005
I would give this anime 100 stars if I can. You couldn't possibly find any other anime that can capture your soul right from the start like this one. You will never regret being part of the FMA world!!!The story is very very very good and if you've not seen it, you better buy it now coz...it's just too good...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2006
Speaking as someone who isn't a raving anime fan, I can safely say that this is a fantastic series. Well written, expertly directed and, best of all, it comes with a brilliant English dub that is easily comparable to the original Japanese language track. There is no reason to not buy this; Full Metal Alchemist is a testament to how exhilerating, thought-provoking and mature anime can be.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2005
This anime grabbed me right from the start and immediately shoved all the other out of the way to become my favourite anime.
Beautiful animation. Believable, layered and likeable characters. Brilliant, thrilling, cool villains (Greed!!). A storyline that managed to break my heart on a couple of occasions and had me bawling my eyes out. A delightful lack of filler episodes too. The voice acting in the Japanese language version is superb and the English voice track isn't all that bad either (with a couple of exceptions), it just takes a little getting used to.
All in all, a fantastic, moving wonderful series. Go buy! It's so worth it!
Then you can join the angsty waiting for the movie with the rest of the fans!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
Volume 1 the curse is the first DVD in the original series of Fullmetal Alchemist it contains 4 episodes

Episode 1: Those who challenge the sun
Episode 2: Body of the sanctioned
Episode 3: Mother
Episode 4: A forgers love

Extras:
Text less Openings/ Closing sequences
Production Art
Japanese commercials
and character profiles

its a great watch and I highly recommend it to anybody looking to watch anime but not sure were to start or anybody who has been watching anime for a while but aren't sure what to start watching next
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)