Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
30
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£160.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2012
First of all, I have to say I am the owner of the "lower end" of Fuji X series cameras: The Fuji X10. Although I must say it is the most fun camera I've ever had.
The EF-X20 flash works incredibly well. I must say I was worried for some comments I read on the web, regarding adaptation of the flash. I dont know if there have been some units that were faulty, but not mine from Amazon: It fits perfectly. And it works great. It is "small", but very powerful.
Also, the "wireless" feature works incredibly well, and it is much fun to use for creative photography.
I really recommend this flash unit, even of its high cost. It is very well built, it comes with a great leather case where you can fit both the flash, and the tripod adaptor.
It is a very high quality flash unit. You get what you pay for. Perfect companion for your X camera.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
This is the first flash I've had which wasn't made of cheap plastic as it has a metal housing and it really looks subtle on the Fuji X series of cameras. When I first tried this flash on the hotshoe, however I was totally crestfallen at the harsh quality of the light. What's worse, although there's a flippy lever on the side, this only diffuses the light slightly and the reflector cannot be aimed anywhere except dead ahead. The Xpro is also a bit of a strange camera in terms of the settings you need to be sure the camera works with the flash. Even then, despite ttl, you can have variable results. The flash has a slider underneath which needs to be on the X setting if you are firing from the camera. Incredibly for such a small flash, it has an inbuilt slave so you can trigger it remotely, by moving this slider. I've used the flash this way as a highlighting flash on a light stand under studio lighting, and as long as the batteries charge up quickly, it actually works amazingly well at this role. The flash also works amazingly well when off camera and bounced! It's manual controls are easily accessible via the dial on top and it is a refreshing change from the elaborate menus you find on Nikon flashes. It takes AAA batteries. I experimented with several and found the NiZn to be the best, but you need a special charger for them.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
Five stars all the way, well build quality, powerful yet small, fitting the design of the camera, the long "charge time" between firing the flash other people seem to experience are not so excessive as stated on mine , and for my use not important either. I use the flash together with my X100, predominately as a slave unit to ad to the built-in flash works flawlessly in the flash units P-mode setting. The easy to change settings using the dial are a big plus, not having to flip through menus on a small LCD screen..all in all, recommended!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
They say that 'great things come in small packages' and in this case it's very true!

It is perfectly suited to the Fuji Mirrorless cameras - I am using it with the X-M1.

It's very compact - much better than the big flashes on SLRs and surprising powerful.

It also has very useful adjustable settings and it relatively well priced
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
Quite expensive but excellent standard of manufacture. It fits the style and size of the X Pro 1 beautifully and comes with a good quality small case. The performance on TTL and also on manual is faultless.It does not offer bounce or swivel features however this may be of less importance on a small portable unit of this type.If the power is adequate for your needs it represents a useful and stylish accessory.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
This flash is perfectly matched to the Fuji X-E1 camera and despite its relatively low guide number of only 20, gives excellent results for general photography when set to TTL, without the usual harsh exposure expected from flash. Manual control and the facility to use as a remote slave extends the opportunities beyond what might be expected from a small hot-shoe flash. Highly recommended for pairing with the Fuji X series cameras.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
Got the EF-X20 as I needed a small manual flash to go with my Leica M8 and there are very few flashes this small.
It has a useful power dial offering 7 power levels of 1/1,1/2,1/4,1/8,1/16,1/32 & 1/64 which is much better than a menu based flash.
The main annoyance is the way the flash turns itself off after 15 minutes of inactivity - it's probably a battery saving measure but carrying a couple of sets of AAA eneloops is hardly a burden and I have been caught out a couple of times when the flash has not gone off and the thing had turned itself off!
The on off switch is annoyingly just a button rather than a switch so not so easy to check if it's on, off (or has turned itself off!)
People have complained it has no "bounce" facility but I can't say this would bother me particularly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
This is a great little flash. Its build quality is superb and it works both on the camera and remotely. It comes in a neat pouch and fits into any pocket. It also has a foot attachment so that you can stand it on a shelf. These factors mean that the flash's lack of tilt or swivel is not crucial as you can move the flash itself around.. You can also get a Canon connector which works perfectly with the Fuji X series cameras. This means that you can position the camera in one hand and the flash in the other.
It was seeing "That Nikon Guy" demonstrating and reviewing the various options for a Fuji flash that decided me to get this one rather than the much bulkier but more plasticky one on offer.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
Brilliant flashgun. I use it wirelessly in manual mode out on the street with a Ricoh GRii. It's simplicity personified and has just enough power for added some flair to your work. The perfect Street Ninja combo! It's extremely well made and tiny and yes, it's pretty expensive for what it is but I think it's worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2012
I have bought it for the x100. Works fine and I like the design too...
because of the batteries the re-charge of the flash is a bit slow...
wireless control works with x100 but just in manual mode... (no TTL at all with wireless)
For the Fuji X series this is the 'best' flash but the features of it are very 'far' from the Nikon or Canon flashes...
small, nice, well designed but expensive...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)