Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
29
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£9.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2017
Listened to this while driving.Incredible especially the mixed track of the Gladiators '...if your talk is Jah will strike you down ' and the 'Mr Brown ' by Gregory Isaacs.Love all the tracks.Enjoy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2016
This takes me back to my teens not all memories are good but this takes me back to a happy time nice to have on cd as original vinyl hard to get hold of
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Great dub complication for the price. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
after the recent excellent dub collections credited to trojan and virgin (and a mention to the metro 'dub'), i was unsure that the front line's dub reservoirs were deep enough to compete with, or to maintain the very high standards set. overflowing or not, the selector/compiler(s) have forwarded the 'right' 40 tracks in a collection that denotes the front line sound, and is very accessible and varied, especially considering the limited lifespan of the label. hewn mostly from 7"/12" releases, i can't think offhand of many fl dub specific albums, except for prince far i's 'dubwise' (itself derived from 'cry tough dub encounter vol 2'), and maybe familiarity with this, indicates the tracks from it included here as instant favourites. check the lazy thunderous horns on 'no more war', or the hard and irresistible motif on 'borno dub'.
however, versions of classics from the gladiators, gregory isaacs, mighty diamonds, twinkle brothers (front line's house band?), culture, tapper zukie, etc, abound and ensure the absolute quality of this collection. ironically, there are two (very fine) pieces credited to poet and the roots, and yet no vocal pieces on the 'roots' comp. strange.
all in all, a collection entirely fit to be included in a compelling series of compilations. i rather think that with these, and the 'evolution of dub' boxsets, we appreciators of dub are being completely spoiled currently.
22 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Great comp, and I reckon just as fine as the Island Dub comp from earlier in the year - maybe I'm biased though as it had two tracks from Planet Mars Dub which i have a really soft spot for. The bench mark of any good dub comp is to be able to play through both discs, 40 tracks, without skipping anything and then want to spin the whole thing again... this passes the test with flying cymbals.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
There's some good stuff on this, but most of the better tracks I already have on vinyl or other compilations. There also seems to me to be quite a bit of very average material...I certainly wouldn't put one of the two discs on and just have it play through. Good value for money though, and if you are new to the 'Front Line Sound' I'd certainly reccommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
They too will be rocking in their armchairs.
Beautiful music like I have never heard.
So bassy I have to keep my own bass turned down to prevent my speakers from blowing.

Worth every penny.
Best of my Dub collections.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Not quite as good as the recent Island Presents Dub which was a really spectacular compilation, this new one from the Virgin Front Line label is still extremely enjoyable with many great and rare tracks sprung from the vaults. Some of these are hard to find - especially the non-album 7" and 12" mixes. There's also five previously unreleased tracks plus a great mix of Gregory Isaacs Soon Forward not previously available in the UK. I wish they hadn't printed dark red on dark brown on the back cover and booklet as my eyesight is struggling. Highlights - The Gladiators Pocket Money Version, Tapper Zukie MPLA Version, Two Big Youth versions and Academy Award Version by The Aggrovators (dub version of Johnny Clarke's Crazy Bald Head - itself available on the Front Line Presents Roots comp also just out - in fact the two titles work as companion pieces as many artists and versions crossover).
Like the Roots comp there's too many Twinkles and Mighty Diamonds for me - but still - I can't knock it too hard, it's great.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Certainly good value for money. I would say this is closer to reggae than dub.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
A very good mix of dub tracks. Never get bored of this selection. One of the handful of dub cds that I reach for again and again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)