Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
51
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 1 March 2004
Like Quentin Tarantino, Robert Rodriguez takes a lot of care when choosing the songs to go on his soundtracks. Unlike QT, Rodriguez gets involved to the point of writing and scoring some of his film music (especially the Mariachi films)
Maybe its all a sneaky plot to make me listen to country music, which normally I would walk a mile to avoid, but if it is I am glad it worked, because the country tracks here are very idiosycratic. The Texas Funeral track for example is one which could tempt me to search out a Jon Wayne album - were it not for the fact that I have already read in a magazine how hard it is to find.
The two Tito & Tarantula tracks are the highlights for me, and I defy anyone to listen to them and not see the relevant scenes from the film in their head - especially After Dark (but to be fair the image of Selma Hayek dancing with a snake often pops into my head even without the music.)
There are a few snippets of dialogue from the film inbetween the songs, but all done as seperate tracks so you can skip them if you want (unlike on the Desperado soundtrack where they are laid over the music).
Everybody I have ever played this to has loved it, whether they had seen the film or not, and I really can't blame them.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Perfect cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
as ever from the tarantino collection this is a must! don't delay buy today!
it was well worth the money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
One of my fave rock albums. Just dont listen to Cheeche's speech if you are easilly offended or sensitive. lol
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2016
It's not often I buy film soundtracks but anything that has Tarantino involved is a must buy for me.
This cd was purchased mainly for the 2 Tito & Tarantula tracks but they are just the highlights in a fantastic selection that upon playing makes me want to watch the film again.

Great price and the included dialogue between tracks adds to the atmosphere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2004
The follows in a similar way to the soundtracks of other Tarantino-related movies records. The big difference with this (up until the Kill Bill films) is that some of these songs have been made to order and not a mix of resurrected oldies and forgotten gems that you normally get. The style of this soundtrack is Tex-Mex-flavored blues-rock and includes certain pasages of dialogue from the film. Like most soundtracks that use soundbites, they only work if you know where they come in the film. To the casual listener or someone who has not seen the film, they do not add anything to the experience. This is a minor gripe however.
There is some good songs. The presence of such names as Stevie Ray Vaughan, the Blasters, and ZZ Top guarantee that but the majority of the album is palatable at best.
Even though this was not a Tarantino directed movie, the soundtrack falls into the same trap. Some great somes intersperced with some filler (except for Kill Bill 2 which is a terrible record). I dare anyone to say that Resevoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction does not include at least a couple of dud tracks on each. The great songs are worth it though as long as Amazon keeps it at the resonable of £7.99
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2011
The movie is mega cool, the music is amazing!!! After Dark from Tito & Tarantula is already a legendary track, the car driving sound from ZZ Top, Stevie Ray Vaughan and other Blues/Rock tubes make that soundtrack to a must have for real music maniacs!!! Buy it without any doubts!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
This soundtrack is awesome and every bit as great as the movie. A fantastic mix of excerpts from the film and heart thumping songs, that will keep you thinking of the movie. A BIG thumbs up from me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2010
After seeing the film I wanted to hear more of the music. This C.D. is one of the better soundtrack albums, especially if you like ZZ Top and Stevie Ray Vaughn
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.38

Need customer service? Click here