Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
204
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2009
There's no denying it, really: Fringe treads precisely the same ground as The X Files. Except, where X-Files was almost uniformly supernatural or alien-y, Fringe approaches it all with science. Or, rather, "fringe science". So while it deals with the same topics, (such as telekinesis, telepathy, ghosts, "alien" parasites, spontaneous combustion and even vampires) each is given an entirely earthly scientific explanation. The explanations are, of course, as fanciful as any explanation given in the X-Files, and that's a part of its charm.

It has 3 leads, really: Anna Torv as Olivia Dunn, an FBI agent, Joshua Jackson as Peter Bishop and John Noble (the unmitigated gem and joy of the entire series) as mad scientific genius, Walter Bishop. Walter is Peter's estranged father, and watching their relationship gradually develop is really very lovely.

Fringe is a complex and wildy twisty series, so describing any one part of it is immensely tricky as it's a little like a knotted ball of string, so everything is connected to everything else.

Each episode is stand alone in terms of topic, ie, telepathy, but arcing throughout the series are multiple threads and you need to watch every episode to keep a handle on them. There's the mysterious, unseen William Bell, Walter Bishop's former lab partner; there's a shadowy, seemingly emotionless, hairless man who seems to be everywhere you look; Nina Sharp, the secretive face of "Massive Dynamic", a huge science and technology conglomerate started by William Bell; Olivia Dunn's past: the tests she went through as a child, and Bell and Bishop's involvement; the big mystery about Peter's childhood and "death"... on and on it goes, everything inextricably linked with everything else, and everything revolving around Walter.

Some of the episodes are phenomenally good and some are terribly lacklustre, making the series so far quite hit and miss. Without John Noble as Walter Bishop, Fringe would be mediocre - he is absolutely its heart and soul - so everything combined, so far so watchable.

However. The final episode is breath-taking. Actually, that needs to be condensed even further: the final scene is breath-taking. I can't possibly overstate how powerful it is. The entire episode is hugely intriguing, and asks as many questions as it hints the answers to. Plus there's a lovely cameo from a sci-fi legend, so it was already rubbing the elbow of greatness. Then the final scene came, and I watched it blithely and contentedly, thinking nothing of it. The camera pulled back slowlyslowly for the big reveal and when realisation sunk in, my skin literally prickled. It was eerie, and it made my head fuzzy for about an hour.

I find myself thinking of it, and wondering, "What if?" The entire series is almost worth watching for that one scene alone. Luckily, the entire series is, overall, really very good, so it won't be a big ole waste of your time. Yes, Fringe is most certainly an homage to X-Files. But it's done well, so no harm done. I Can't Believe It's Not Butter is an homage to butter... but it's still lovely on toast.
88 comments| 114 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 20 December 2015
Sci-if series directed by J.J. Abrams that is like the X-Files on steroids with dollops of the Twilight Zone thrown in to the mix.

This series has some great characters - especially Walter Bishop.

Unrestrained paranormal events comes thick and fast. And the genius of Walter always provides the rational and scientific explanations for them.

Once you get drawn in to the chatacters and events here you just have to see what happens in the next episode.

A rare and unusual series. But quite brilliant too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
Just finished watching Season 1 after a recommendation from a friend who's a bit of a Sci-fi addict! WOW, easily the best Sci-fi series I've seen for years. Not that it doesn't have the occasional flaw but nothings perfect! I think people tend to forget it is science FICTION not science, so of course we're expected to suspend disbelief.

As per the Amazon description there are some similarities to the 'X files' but the series has a faster pace and the characters are warmer and more likeable. Walter Bishop, the scientist emerging after 17 years spent in a secure mental institution is the 'archetypal' mad but inspired scientist, who is very endearing yet clueless on a social level. The part is played quite brilliantly and injects a much needed element of humour which really sets the show apart from the intensity of the 'X files' The rest of the cast are also convincing, no wooden acting here as so often found in Sci-fi.

Unlike the 'X files' where the underlying narrative is often obscured by episode after episode focussing on the particular investigation to hand, the characters, the individual cases and the central precept are developed hand in hand so by every third episode or so you move closer to an understanding of the bigger picture. This is quite ingenuously linked to the gradual recovery of memories long since buried as Walter Bishop recovers from his long incarceration and comes to terms with his past.

A highly recommended series for all Sci-fi buffs, can't wait to see how the story develops in Series 2!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2010
Being a massive fan of the sci-fi genre, I picked up this boxset just last week (good decision too as it has now gone back up in price!). However, I had already watched the first season. In fact, I am currently watching season two, which will be coming to an end soon.

Firstly, the show is just great. It's refreshing to see a show perfect the sci-fi genre so well. The explanations for each scenario are complete nonsense but when you're watching, it just passes you by and you forget to care about it. The cast is fantastic, a great ensemble of characters that you would never think to see working together yet are thrust into the same team.

The show focuses on a team of investigators (an FBI agent, genius scientist who spent 17 years in a mental institution and his wayward son) working on mysterious, odd cases which are all part of "The Pattern". These include mind control, teleportation, alternate universes, astral projection, mutation and many other situations that are simply out of this world. Some of the episodes are genuinely gory and creepy, so this is probably not something to let the young ones watch! The show also has a very interesting story arc that continues through each episode and also into season two.

The stories are great, the writing is great, the cast are great. To put it simply, if you like sci-fi and enjoyed watching the x files when that was on television, then Fringe is certainly for you. It's modern, funny at times and genius at the same time.

However, there is one thing I must bring up that is not a positive. It is not regarding the show itself, but again, the packaging it comes in. My packaging might simply be a one off but the first time I opened each DVD case, a handful of small pieces of black plastic came tumbling out. These pieces of plastic are what holds each disc in place. The prongs are very loose and although it may be simply a case of bad luck, I fear that if any more fall out, the discs will be unable to remain still and slip about inside the case. On a more positive note, the front cover of the DVD set is great. It is that material that changes picture depending on how you tilt it, which is a nice touch.

P.S. Look out for a mysterious bald man in each episode. Buy this DVD and you'll know what I mean ;)
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2010
Great series, I think, and friends I've passed it on to / watched episodes with agree.
Yes, you're a bit more likely to enjoy it if you like sf-type shows, but the acting is good and the ever-building narrative is terrific - always enough momentum to get over the sporadic holes in the plot!
Plus if you like this, you will certainly want to get Season 2 ...
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Fringe is an unusual but brilliant Sci-Fi show.
It tells the story of a small unit within the F.B.I called Fringe division.
Here they deal with very rare unexplainable events that stretch the imagination.
Olivia Dunham played by Anna Torv decides to seek help in the form of a disgraced scientist, Walter Bishop who resides in an insane asylum. She can only get his help with the assistance of his son, Peter Bishop and so the team comes together.
They reopen Walter’s old basement laboratory, complete with a cow in the corner.
Fringe has a story running throughout the series as well as individual episodes. The series concludes in the final episode of the last series and completes the show perfectly.
It is weird, with dark comedy, exciting action, and it has a few frightening moments as well.
Great, innovative writing, wonderful acting and a different approach to Sci-fi make this an unbeatable combination.
I doubt you’ll be disappointed.
Fantastic show!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
I have recently tried several new [ to me ] sci-fi series which have scored well in star ratings . I have been very disappointed by 4 series and approached Fringe with some trepidation . However I find that I am enjoying this series . Other reviews furnish you with greater detail of characters , plots etc., I will just say that I find the series to be thoughtful,well paced ,well acted and sufficiently interesting to keep me coming back for more . There are inevitably some areas where one has to be a little critical . Why do so many series have to have one super intelligent scientist who has , seemingly , infinite knowledge and multiple skills that save the day in [ record ] time but at least Walter Bishop is very well acted and entertaining to boot! And to think that I have another 4 series to go , that should keep me going for some while.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
I`m desperately looking for a new series to watch whilst warming up on my exercise bike. This looked like it might fit the bill, but the unrelenting silliness and predictability was a complete turn off, and in the end I couldn`t get past episode one. Nearly all reviewers have compared it to the X-Files, of which it is a fairly direct copy, but I was left with a nagging sense of familiarity to another series. Eventually it came to me that that series was Scooby Doo, but Fringe completely lacks the wit, style and economy of the cartoon. Not to mention character development.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2010
This show has real promise! A must for anyone who likes a good conspiracy/mystery, this show rockets along with a self sustaining momentum. The set up is simple enough, FBI agent Olivia Dunham goes about her job, falls in love with her all american partner and is a damned good cop. But everything is not as it appears. Her partner John Scott is injured in an explosion triggered by a man he's chasing in relation to a very unusual plane crash. Then his skin goes see through. This calls for a scientist! But not any scientist will do, the only one who seems like he could possibly help worked for the government doing very unusual, top secret and morally dubious experiments in the seventies in a field called fringe science (basically anything weird like hypnosis, ESP, teleportation, etc). The only problem is that he's properly mental, and has been in an asylum since that time!

This scientist is Walter Bishop, a quixotic and capricious character, who can only be released under the supervision of his only living relative, his estranged but equally brilliant son Peter Bishop. Olivia convinces Peter to get Walter released so he can save John. We find that Walter's ex lab partner, William Bell, is the founder of the biggest company in the world, Massive Dynamic, which is at the forefront of scientific development, and Massive Dynamic seem to have a hand in John Scott's transparent skin. A shan't ruin the end of the episode, but this is the basic template for the rest of the show. We have the triumvirate of Olivia, the passionate, but by the book police officer, with a knack of spotting things others miss, Peter, a snarky and cynical boy genius with temper issues, and Walter, often distracted, always inappropriate, but invariably on the nose with his analysis of whatever pseudo-science in on show that week. The interplay between them starts off ok and gets better and better as time goes on. Every week there is a new case of seemingly impossible things happening, normally involving dangerous or gruesome crimes, all of which we learn are linked in something called "The Pattern", and Olivia is recruited to a top secret FBI division tasked with getting to the bottom of it. She enlists Walter as a consulting scientist, and Peter as the only person who "speaks Walter" who help explain how the strange things happen, and suggest novel ways in which she can find out who is doing them.

The reason this show doesn't get 5 stars is due to Peter. For about half the episodes, he feels a little bit superfluous, as if the producers thought it would be a good idea for there to be someone to be dubious about some of the more ridiculous ideas Walter comes up with, and someone to punch someone every so often, but decided to make these minor roles a major character. However, towards the back end of the series he becomes more useful, and his sarcastic comments (which were annoying, to be frank) become less frequent, and more pertinent.

As you should expect from a J.J.Abrams production, it's very well acted (especially John Noble as Walter and Anna Torv as Olivia), slickly produced, and the intrigue and plot twists come thick and fast (though it's not quite so unanswering as Lost, which is a definite boon). However, many of the episodes, as well as the overarching story are genuinely exciting, as opposed to just intriguing. This program has a lot of potential, and I have already preordered the second series for September. And after the double whammy reveal at the end of the last episode, I can't wait!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
'Fringe' is a slick up-grade of 'X-Files,'with maybe a dash of 'Lost' along with a hint of the paranoia of 'X-files' Chris Carter's 'Millennium.' Fast-paced, well-scripted and compelling, with rather less gloom and angst than the 'X-Files'. It features John Noble, as the mad-scientist (really!) Peter Bishop, with some deadpan humour played out between Bishops father and son. Season One sets up the story, the back-story and a conspiracy theory involving an international network of rogue scientists preparing for an end-of-the-world scenario. Anna Torv features Olivia Dunham, an FBI agent investigating the spread of unexplained phenomena. a Scully clone with a personal link to the unexplained as she is hooked in to her dead lover's memories. As Season One progresses, we know that the going is getting weirder - so look forward to Season Two!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse