Franck; Debussy; Ravel: F... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Franck; Debussy; Ravel: French Violin Sonatas CD

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £6.16 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
4 new from £6.16 1 used from £15.99
£6.16 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Amazon's Schlomo Mintz Store

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Composer: Cesar Franck, Claude Debussy, Maurice Ravel
  • Audio CD (24 Jan. 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Brilliant Classics
  • ASIN: B004FFBM4O
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 257,583 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Allegretto Ben Moderato
  2. Allegro - Quasi Lento - Tempo I, (Allegro)
  3. Recitativo - Fantasia, (Ben Moderato - Largamente - Molto Vivace)
  4. Allegretto Poco Mosso
  5. Allegro Vivo
  6. Intermede, (Fantasque Et Leger)
  7. Finale, (Tres Anime)
  8. Allegretto
  9. Blues. Moderato
  10. Perpetuum Mobile. Allegro

Product Description

Shlomo Mintz, violon - Yefim Bronfman, piano

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
This disc, very well recorded in 1985, was well regarded upon its original release and at the reduced re-issue price it makes for a wonderfully tempting purchase.

The three works make a very attractive and logical coupling, as they bring together the three outstanding French sonatas of their time. The Franck, the work of a mature composer towards the end of his composing life is dated 1886, the Debussy sonata from 1917 was his last completed work and Ravel's sonata of 1927, while not being his last work, is still one of his mature years.

Beyond those considerations the three works inhabit very different worlds from each other. The Ravel piece is by far the most 'abstract' in its musical considerations while the Franck offers a deeply Romantic vision. The Debussy sonata inhabits a world somewhere in between with its impressionist form of expression.

The performances given by Mintz and Bronfman are exquisitely drawn with clearer lines and less heaviness than is often heard with other artists. Those who are familiar with Mintz's equally exquisite and finely drawn disc of the Prokofiev violin concertos recorded with Abbado will immediately know what is meant by that description. Nothing is overstated but every detail is there to be heard and makes full impact. Rather like make use of a sabre rather than a two-handed double edged sword to make an analogy.

Of the various performances heard of these three works over many years it is to this disc that I would most return for the most perceptive and rewarding musical experiences.

As such I would strongly suggest that this disc deserves serious consideration from both those looking for a single disc survey and for collectors interested in alternative interpretations.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?