Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
9
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2006
Kevin's book is a must have item for beginners, experts and everyone in between. At last someone has gone to great lengths to show what an interesting hobby figure painting can be. If you're a wargamer, role player or collector there's plenty in here. The book clearly describes a series of step by step methods for achieving professional results. The full colour illustrations are enough to justify buying this book alone. The methodical description of the painting process and the advanced hints and tips though make the book. Highly recommended as the only real source book on the subject
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2006
You'd be hard pressed to find a more thorough and detailed guide to the painting and modelling of 28mm miniatures! Kevin's celebrated painting technique is described in easy-to-follow stages that are guaranteed to help anyone, from novice to expert, achieve results they can be proud of. Packed with useful tips and lavishly illustrated throughout with full colour photographs, this book is a must for painters, modellers, gamers and collectors alike... even if you just want to drool over the stunningly painted models!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2006
I have just finished reading Foundry Miniatures Painting and Modelling Guide, brilliant absolutely brilliant.

I have always wanted to 25/28mm myself. However I never had the confidence mainly because I wasn't sure of the techniques to use.

After reading the book so much has become clear, it is like somebody switching on the light bulb!!

My enthusiasm has been rekindled and I have the confidence to embark on painting 28mm armies.

The book is very easy to follow and understand, simply it is the best book on painting techniques that I have read. I am sure it will inspire many wargamers etc, young and old to paint, repaint their armies.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2006
I have read this book from cover to cover and it’s about the most useful book on painting wargames figures I’ve ever seen. If that’s your bag – painting lots of 28mm scale figures - then you should probably buy this book: it covers the author’s three stage painting style in heavy detail with loads and loads of pictures, mostly vastly over size so that you can see all of the detail you need to. It’s not about spending a 48 hour week painting one figure. It’s about spending a week painting 48 figures and making them still look great so that you can play games with them!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2006
to all figure painters if you want to get better at your painting you have absolutley no chance till you buy this book, the tips and just the general way Kevin starts till he finishes a figure is laid out for you in in the best possible way, till I bought this I was wasting my time and money, learn from the best and I mean the best, BUY THIS BOOK TODAY !!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2009
...that's the main aim at the end of the day, Kevin shows you how to do this quickly and neatly.
The step by step guides are clear and concise. If you are a gamer and paintings not your favorite thing, then this book is a must have! Even experienced painters can take something from this book, the 3 stage system is easily adaptable to individual painting styles.
Thoroughly recommended!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2011
I just got back into painting after a 20 year break. I was amazed to see how much has changed in regards to paints, techniques and guides now available. If only this wealth of material was available back then.

I have read through 75% of the book and am totally exhausted since there is just so much in here. I am not overly keen on the cartoon like style the black undercoating gives, but I can see how this can really speed up the painting.

Likewise, the miniatures still look fantastic (way better than my own) and I am excited to put the painting style into practice and try out the techniques given. It will definitely be an improvement and who knows it may grow on me.

There is also a wealth of tips hidden in smaller section of the book like how to paint tartans, horses and fire. plus plus plus...

This book will keep a beginner like me busy for a really long time.

The pictures are really good and although the lessons are repetitive, I actually like this as I am still trying to absorb everything and I am sure that I will appreciate it when I go back to reference a specific section.

Great value for the quality of the book and information inside.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2006
If you only buy one book on the subject, then this is the one.It has become my Bible for painting figures and cannot recommend it highly enough.

It has improved my techniques to an unregognisable degree.Eay to follow text and superb illustrations.

Give me more Kev
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2016
This is an easy book to follow with great painting tips for the beginner and other modellers. Other books can loose the moddeler with confused text or poor illustrations, where this book has the advantage is that it is simple and easy to use with reference to the excellent Wargames foundry layer paint system that uses a three paint system for each colour, shade, base coat and highlight that you can buy from their shop.
Brilliant, easy to use and a must for any modellers library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)