& FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox co uk
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: From Europe's No.1 in used books & media articles.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Formula 1 Review: 1978 [DVD]

4.0 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

Additional DVD options
Amazon Price
New from Used from
DVD
"Please retry"
1-Disc Version
£19.99
£7.02 £4.54
Promotion Message Promotion Available 1 Promotion(s)

Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£19.99 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special offers and product promotions

  • Enjoy £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase a DVD or Blu-ray offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 GMT on Wednesday, December 20, 2017 Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently bought together

  • Formula 1 Review: 1978 [DVD]
  • +
  • Formula 1 Review: 1979 [DVD]
  • +
  • Formula 1 Review: 1977 [DVD]
Total price: £49.97
Buy the selected items together

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?


Product details

  • Format: Colour, DVD-Video, PAL
  • Language: English
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 4:3 - 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Classification: Exempt
  • Studio: Duke Video
  • DVD Release Date: 20 Sept. 2004
  • Run Time: 52 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • ASIN: B0002W1AZA
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 123,323 in DVD & Blu-ray (See Top 100 in DVD & Blu-ray)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Product Description

Relive the first year of the Williams Grand Prix Engineering team, led by Frank Williams and Patrick Head.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By @GeekZilla9000 TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 19 Oct. 2009
Format: DVD
With world champion Niki Lauda moving to Brabham and new young upstart Gilles Villeneuve taking his place at Ferrari - this was a season where both drivers were to be watched with interest to see how they performed. Villeneuve went on to win his first Grand Prix right at the end of the season at his home race in Canada. '78 also saw the introduction of a new team - Arrows, and it was an encouraging debut season.

The glamour and fame that the sport now commanded is evident when we are shown video of Rod Stewart chatting with a topless James Hunt. This is an example of the 'off-track' footage common with all the of the DVDs in the collection, and although the 1976 DVD had a good amount of good quality TV footage, it never really seemed to happen again and this volume does lack a bit with large chunks of action being quickly described but never actually shown.

Again we are reminded about the improvements in safety and the narration tells us how developments had been made in many areas including fire retardant racing suits and underwear.

The cars also underwent significant developments, the JPS Lotus 'Wing Car' revolutionised the thinking behind how airflow should be utilised to keep the cars on the tarmac, and Brabham head the press and other teams alike scratching their heads at the large round area at the rear of the car which was covered by a bin lid. The DVD shows us how the strange car was something of an attraction before the race as everyone tried to figure out what the massive fan at the back was for. Lips were kept tight and it wasn't until the car hit the track that is became clear that the Brabham was a massive vacuum cleaner on wheels and the fan was there to blow out air and suck the car onto the road.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: DVD
I own several of the DVD'S in this series and find them all intersting viewing. If you're looking for fever pitch excitement look elsewhere. Buy them for nostalgic footage of great drivers and innovative developments in car design. The narration at first seems droll but after a while you may appreciate this as it doesn't intrude and allows you to digest the information and statistics better. The very dry sense of humour occasionally may bring a smile to your face! This particular year was intersting from a car/technological point of view as well as the driver line up of that year. Worth collecting at marketplace prices. Only 4 stars as the excitement level could be higher.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
Great
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 3.3 out of 5 stars 6 reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Lotus 79-only the prettiest thing on wheels. 14 Sept. 2013
By Frederico E. Pinto - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD
Get this super-short 50 min film just to gaze upon Andretti's black beauty-Lotus Ford 79! Worth the price alone.

I love Formula One. Sadly today's version of it is a far cry from the truly great eras and drivers that graced the sport throughout the years. Through the cleanly painted rear engined racing cigars of the 1960s, through the wingy "pack of cigarettes" monsters of the 1970s, and through the super-fat 1,000 HP turbo beasts of the 1980s the sport always seemed to know no bounds as cars got faster and faster and things more out of control in terms of cost going forward into the future. That is why those who love this sport and its history do so. The sheer madness of it all coupled with the competition spanning the globe vying for the title of Driver's Championship as country against country fight to produce the greatest chassis, the greatest engine, and the greatest driver all culminating in the epic soap opera of testosterone and oil. Sadly we are not all in the same boat when it comes to fandom of F1 in this country and the scarcity of F1 titles available on DVD is a direct result. So, we must be happy with the few options thrown our way and that is why I give 5 stars to this series of short 50 minute films covering the F1 seasons from 1970-1980. The picture quality is great as is the rare ability to see these classic cars we cherish at different angles. Quite a treat for F1 nuts. I've rewatched each film several times and they NEVER get old.
1.0 out of 5 stars If you are a USA F1 fan, don't risk ... 14 Aug. 2015
By Jim in Pennsylvania - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD
If you are a USA F1 fan, don't risk your money. I have several of the year specific Duke films and they just mention the outcome of the US Grand Prix at Watkins Glen, as the video moves on to the Canadian GP. I guess the English makers of these videos didn't consider the USGP to be important enough.
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent color footage of the cars and pilots of the ... 9 Aug. 2015
By Ran Prince - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
Excellent color footage of the cars and pilots of the era,but sadly very little in the way of race action,usually just the start and finish of most races.Focused mostly on the Lotus Team, Andretti,Peterson and Colin Chapman.
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars 26 Oct. 2015
By manta - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
Very nicely produced - I'm glads I purchased it!
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 19 Feb. 2016
By Paul Ling - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
All good, I am happy customer : )
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Look for similar items by category