Buying Options

Kindle Price: £3.48

Save £16.51 (83%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for £0.00
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a group.

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Choose delivery method and buy eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

These eBooks can only be redeemed by recipients in your country. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Forgotten Hours by [Schumann, Katrin]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Forgotten Hours Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 95 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£3.48

Length: 350 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £3.47 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

Kindle Monthly Deal
Browse a new selection of discounted Kindle Books each month. Shop now


From the Editor

Memory is a tricky thing. I’ve always considered myself someone with total recall, but this luminous and heart-wrenching novel made me question the reliability of my memories. Author Katrin Schumann deftly shows how easily we can revise history and overwrite complexities in order to stay loyal to the ones we love. Like me, Katie Gregory, the heroine of The Forgotten Hours, is confident in her memory—especially her memory of the summer her father was accused of a terrible crime. But now she wonders whether she put on blinders in order to stay true to her charismatic father. How much can she trust what she’s always believed to be true?

It’s eerie how timely this novel is. Schumann wrote it over a year ago, and here we are today, in the midst of a worldwide outpouring from victims of harassment and assault. With grace and candor, The Forgotten Hours looks at memory, the reality of abuse, and the great lengths we’ll go to in order to insulate ourselves from painful truths.

- Jodi Warshaw, Editor


Product description

Review

A BookRiot Must-Read Debut

“Schumann’s is a carefully constructed novel that skillfully weaves past and present, slowly planting clues that help unlock the narrative’s central mystery while ratcheting up tension…The fast-moving plot and compelling, layered characters make for an addictive and incredibly timely read. A page-turner that also speaks to broader questions of sexual abuse, family loyalty, and the mutability of memory.” Kirkus Reviews

“Schumann’s debut novel brings a new perspective to sexual assault and how it affects families…Flashbacks to the past are intertwined with the narrative, and the slow reveal of detail will leave readers wanting more. With a surprise twist, this work is sure to please. For fans of Jodi Picoult.” Library Journal

“…Schumann crafts a powerfully compelling story of family loyalties, teenage friendships, and the fickleness of memory. Timely and provocative, this first novel will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Jenna Blum.” Booklist

“A riveting story…Schumann has an eye for detail, an ear for the rhythmical sentence, and a voice that is clear and resonant.” —New York Journal of Books

The Forgotten Hours is a consummate and nuanced read about the nature of human relationships, the conflict of loyalties, and the evasive nature of truth.” —Authorlink

“If you enjoy the twists and turn of a good family drama, you’ll love this…” —POPSUGAR

“This story is a page-turner that also speaks to broader questions of sexual abuse, family loyalty, and the uncertainty of memory.” CrimeSpree Magazine

“…A compelling mystery that was perfectly timed for the #metoo movement…This story is timely and a promising debut of good things to come from Schumann.” —MomAdvice

“A deeply moving story about friendship and love, yearning and passion, memory and loss. The Forgotten Hours is a brilliant debut from a writer of uncommon grace.” —William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob

“As fictional characters go, Katie Gregory seems not so much imagined as compelled into being by the unique forces of the times—the perfect envoy to accompany you into the red-hot cauldron of accused and accuser. That Katie is neither of these but bound by love to both makes her conflict more gut wrenching and the possibilities more terrifying. Add to this Schumann’s gift for knowing—and conjuring—her character’s heart, and you have a story that makes you feel it’s your heart at risk, your life on the line. You may lose track of these hours, but you won’t forget them.” —Tim Johnston, New York Times bestselling author of Descent

“With an elegance of style surprising in a first novel, Schumann shows how, when we seek truth about the past, the most treacherous secrets are those we keep from ourselves.” —Carol Anshaw, New York Times bestselling author of Carry the One

The Forgotten Hours is a wise reminder that coming-of-age stories aren’t only for the very young. Katie Gregory’s need to confront her own youthful beliefs and desires is something familiar—and compelling— to us all. There is so much insight in these pages, so much compassion, all woven into a mystery I couldn't put down.” —Robin Black, author of Life Drawing and If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This

The Forgotten Hours asks important questions about memory, adolescent understanding, the age of consent, and what men have gotten away with since time immemorial. Katrin Schumann has crafted a powerful tale for the #MeToo era which should resonate far beyond this cultural moment.” —Miranda Beverly-Whittemore, New York Times bestselling author of Bittersweet and June

The Forgotten Hours is a stunning novel about trauma and shame, loyalty and truth. Ten years after an alleged crime destroyed her family, Katie Gregory returns to an abandoned cabin she prefers to forget. As memories of her last evening there bring conflicting emotions, she struggles to rediscover her ability to trust and her faith in love. Was her father guilty of the assault for which he was convicted? What part did she play in events of that night, and can she move beyond her own guilt? Trying to unravel the answers before the heart-pounding finish will keep readers up way past bedtime. A must-read for book clubs.” —Barbara Claypole White, bestselling author of The Perfect Son and The Promise Between Us

“For me, the best indicator of a good book is when you're thinking about the characters even when you aren't reading, and wondering what’s going to happen to them. This was definitely the case with The Forgotten Hours. I thoroughly enjoyed this well-written, compelling story.” —Marybeth Mayhew Whalen, bestselling author of When We Were Worthy and cofounder of She Reads

About the Author

Katrin Schumann studied languages at Oxford and journalism at Stanford, and she is the author of several nonfiction books. She has been awarded fiction residencies from the Vermont Studio Center, the Norman Mailer Writers Colony, and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts. Schumann teaches writing at GrubStreet in Boston and was an instructor in PEN’s Prison Writing Program. She lives in Boston and Key West. For more information, visit www.katrinschumann.com.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3815 KB
  • Print Length: 350 pages
  • Publisher: Lake Union Publishing (1 Feb. 2019)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07D6R3FQ6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 95 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #2,148 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


95 customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

5 January 2019
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
9 January 2019
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
8 January 2019
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

click to open popover