Buy Used
£8.45
+ £0.00 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by ThriftBooks-USA
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All items ship from the USA.  Arrival time is usually 2-3 weeks. Book has appearance of light use with no easily noticeable wear. Spend Less. Read More. Your satisfaction is guaranteed.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Forgiven Hardcover – 25 Sep 2012

4.3 out of 5 stars 40 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£3.72
Hardcover, 25 Sep 2012
£4.95
click to open popover


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Hogarth (25 Sept. 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0307889033
  • ISBN-13: 978-0307889034
  • Product Dimensions: 15 x 2.9 x 21.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 40 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,213,155 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"Compelling…Engrossing…Gripping" (Sunday Times)

"Surprising and dark and excellent" (New York Times)

"A sinister story about guilt, atonement and restitution, fashioned from lean, prowling prose" (Herald)

"More than a stylish thriller… The central plot has parallels with The Bonfire of the Vanities, while the socialites could be straight out of The Great Gatsby" (Stylist)

"A gripping read" (Kirkus)

"A superbly compelling novel... As menacing and engrossing as the best McEwan" (Robert Collins Sunday Times)

"Osborne brings together all his authorial talents in this gripping and sophisticated thriller" (Emma Hagestadt Independent)

"Stylish, somehow both lavish and muscular at the same time" (David Evans Independent on Sunday)

"Utterly compelling; at the risk of trotting out a cliché, I couldn't put the book down" (Justin Cartwright Observer)

"No mere imitation but a contribution to the shelf on which The Sheltering Sky and The Bonfire of the Vanities also sit, The Forgiven explores the clash of two cultures, each of which feels superior to the other. Osborne's writing is uncomfortably well observed; his story is sickeningly, addictively headlong." (Lionel Shriver)

"A sinister and streamlined entertainment in the tradition of Paul Bowles, Evelyn Waugh and the early Ian McEwan… This is a lean book that moves like a panther. Osborne has a keen and sometimes cruel eye for humans and their manners and morals, and for the natural world. Surprising and dark and excellent." (New York Times)

"Brooding, compelling... an engrossing and elegantly handled drama. One of the most appealing aspects of Osborne’s novel is the way in which, from this gripping starting point, he begins to wrongfoot the reader." (Robert Collins Sunday Times)

"Alarming and liberating in equal measure. Here is a tale as hot, claustrophobic and gritty as being rolled in the sand after a sweat bath. But it's also a novel with a vast moral horizon, which recedes and advances disorientatingly, leaving the reader with a thrilling sense of vertigo. Written with an untimely elegance more 1930s than 2010s, the book proceeds at thriller pace or, at least, it would if almost every page didn't cause you to fixate on a clinical insight into human nature or a snatch of dream-like description." (Adrian Turpin Literary Review)

"

Osborne writes mercilessly, savagely well. He excavates his characters, and the centuries-long cultural rift between the desert people and the Western infidels with a pathologist’s precision, wrapping fear, boredom, forgiveness, judgment, honour and sexual attraction into a novel that plunges with sinister pace towards its denouement.


" (Victoria Moore Daily Mail)

"The Forgiven shines darkly with a rich and mordant fatalism. Obsorne's characters emerge like people in a dream -- diamond-sharp but fascinatingly askew. His prose is gorgeous and precise; the story slices keenly through the exotic haze of its setting… an absolutely brilliant novel." (Kate Christensen, author of The Epicure's Lament and The Astral)

"With nods to Paul Bowles and Evelyn Waugh, Osborne portrays the vacuity of high society as gorgeously and incisively as he does the unease of cultures thrust together in the unforgiving desert" (US Publishers Weekly, starred review)

"A gripping read" (Kirkus, starred review)

"The prose has a very particular, knowing luminosity, much like the tarnished world it describes. A beautiful, compelling book to savour line by line" (Nikita Lalwani, author of Gifted)

"A genuinely exciting thriller that maintains its hold until the final horrifying twist" (Reader's Digest)

"More than a stylish thriller… The central plot has parallels with The Bonfire of the Vanities, while the socialites could be straight out of The Great Gatsby" (Mollie McGuigan Stylist)

"A sinister story about guilt, atonement and restitution, fashioned from lean, prowling prose" (Siobhan Murphy Herald)

"Both thought provoking and thoroughly absorbing" (Susan Osborne Nudge) --This text refers to an alternate Hardcover edition.

Book Description

East meets West with shattering conclusions in this stylish, taut and brilliant piece of cinematic storytelling from Lawrence Osborne --This text refers to an alternate Hardcover edition.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 15 June 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
Format: Paperback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: travel handbags

Look for similar items by category

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?