Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2017
Some great stories through the years, delivered with warmth, and sincerity.
Some I've read elsewhere, some were new to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
This is a selection of the writing of the former Times golf correspondent, neatly divided into the months of the year in which they were written, each month being prefaced by an introduction by the author. You don't have to be a golfing enthusiast or particularly knowledgeable about golf to enjoy this collection. Much of it is, naturally, about the personalities of golf but the emphasis is on their human traits rather than their play. All in all, a thoroughly entertaining read.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
I read this book more or less straight through. I have read his articles in The Times for many years and always found them interesting. My only complaint is that a number of stories were repeated in various places. Any golfer with an interest in golf's history will enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
John Hopkins is one of the greatest golf writers ever known. His passion for the game, be it at the amateur or professional level is unparalleled. This collection of his Times articles is a fascinating read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this great collection of excellent articles. From Rye in January, to a bookshop in Bracknell in December, Hopkins' work illuminates the world of golf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Hopkins writes wonderfully. Just really discovering golf writing and this is a really excellent overview of the past 30 years or so. Wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
enjoying the book loads of different short stories , lads who play golf with me waiting to borrow it, great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
a gift, so I am sure the recipient will like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)