Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£54.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2014
This profusely illustrated book of more than 800 pages, contains the fruits of a very great deal of research and should be of great interest to anyone interested in what motivates those of humankind who have deliberately placed their own lives in danger for the sake of others. The book covers the history and evolution of British official and unofficial gallantry awards, and then includes the citations for every award-to-date of the Queen's Gallantry Medal together with other interesting material about the awardees, including their other medals and awards. Its Introduction is by Sir Ronnie Flanagan, and its appendices contain descriptions of some of the events that led to acts of bravery that were rewarded with QGMs.

In short a "must have" for the medal enthusiast and student of the better aspects of human nature. The author is to be congratulated on a most remarkable and valuable work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2016
For Exemplary Bravery has the 'WOW' Factor. No serious specialist in medals ~ Auction House, dealer or collector, can practice their craft without Nick Metcalfe's definitive history of 1044 recipients of the QGM; from its inception in 1975 over the 40 years to 2014; including in pretty well equal share both Military and Civilian Awards.. Nor can the extended family of a Queen's Gallantry Medallist, be without this book containing their individual personal tribute, together with the extensive knowledge shared surrounding the background to the awards. Nick sets out some of the advice and guidance to the Gallantry Awards Committee. That to rank for a QGM, there has to be evidence of a 20% to 50% degree of risk of death. The knowledge or awareness of danger, and any injury suffered. That in the 40 years there have been 38 posthumous and at least 19 double awards of the QGM. In its over 850 pages ~ On average every 2 weeks over 40 years, QGM recipients have put their life on the line to arrest an offender or to save the lives of others. Here are 1044 real life stories of their bravery. One of the best books you will ever buy. John A
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
It has always been diffficult to access information on the Queen's Gallantry Medal, in comparison with awards such as the George and Victoria Crosses. In the publication of this book, the author has corrected that, and then some! This is an enormous book, weighing about 3kg(!), of over 800 pages, and is excellent value for money. Far from being a 'dry' list of QGM receipients, this book has many photographs, both black and white and colour, and contains numerous interesting stories behind the award of this medal.

The book is a must for any receipient of the QGM, for which it will be a wonderful memento, for medal afficionado's, and for anyone who has an interest in the many and varied stories that resulted in the award.

The author is to be congratulated on the huge amount of work and research needed for a book of this magnitude, a book that should become a classic in its field.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
Great book, finally got round to buying a copy, much to my shame as I have had much help from Nick regarding some family military history. Interesting that he has quotations from citations; I've never been able to see my citation! This will keep me occupied for ages, so interesting, besides reading about the people I know personally it's great reading between the lines on some of the more sensitive cases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Like many of the recipients I was delighted to be involved in this book and ultimately share my story. I must admit however I was somewhat reticent at first, believing that no one would find my story even remotely interesting, more so after Carnival/Cunard Cruise Lines had successfully managed to bury the truth (and me) some years before. Nick's persona and genuine belief in me, and every 'contributor', quickly enabled me to believe in him and his vision for this book. As the title suggests this book is a tour de force, and one that delivers on so many levels. Filled with striking accounts of courage and self sacrifice, it also serves a superb resource for any military historian or student on the subject. 
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
My book arrived this morning; haven't put it down since.
A true work of art - a great forward by Sir Ronnie, followed by an outstanding and sensational read.
A feat of extraordinary epic proportions; not only to find, locate and corral all holders; but to assemble all their very personal stories into one book.
Something that I will treasure; my kids will treasure; and their kids, and for ever more.
It goes without saying that Nick has delivered a fabulous book, full of real life heroes, past and present - a living encyclopaedia of the 'bravest of the brave'.

Thank you Nick for creating a piece of history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
This is an excellent piece of work and the attention to detail is outstanding. I have found myself dipping into the contents and reflecting on the actions of those who, in many cases, are willing to make the ultimate sacrifice - often for a complete stranger. Although it may appear expensive, real value for money when you consider the contents that can be shared by generations to come, providing evidence of the the sort of people we have amongst us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
A very well researched book and ideal for use as a Reference book as well and Nick has worked hard on getting the full facts for each for this publication . Well Recommended as a Reference publication and for military and police researchers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
The postman knocked on the door first to check someone was in before he was prepared to return to his van and carry the hefty book to the door! An absolute credit to the author and to those included within the pages. This impressive book, full of facts and great photos will take some time to digest and will then be a great reference book for future generations. Well worth the long wait. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
I have the honour to be included in this book. I found the wonderful accounts of the acts of 'exemplary brave' people very moving. The backgrounds to the acts by those awarded the QGM, really gets into the detail. An outstanding book of ordinary life, which when the need is there, produces extraordinary people. Well done Nick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)